Satphone Iridium 9555

'Satellite Phone Sales'

http://www.satellitephonesales.com.au/products/Satellite-Phone/Iridium-9555-Essentials-Pack

are offering new current model Iridiums with some of the kit unbundled at a very reasonable price of $1290 and with a reasonable 12 mth plan. They resell directly off Iridium's satellite network.

Before I shell out, is anyone out there who has purchased from this onseller and if so what are your experiences please. They tell me they supply heaps to the mining industry.

Any other info welcome as well.

Reply By: Member - Greg H (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 17:38

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 17:38
It gives me the irites when people or business advertise there products plus GST. Isn't there a law saying that the advertised price should be GST inclusive?
Sh...y day today, wingeing Wednesday, I'll go and have a drink!

Tomorrow is here!

AnswerID: 434993

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 18:19

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 18:19
"It gives me the irites when people or business advertise there products plus GST. Isn't there a law saying that the advertised price should be GST inclusive?"

Me too Greg

FollowupID: 706090

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 20:04

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 20:04
Whoops. Thanks Greg, I'd missed that bit. That might change things.

FollowupID: 706104

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 17:45

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 17:45
Would suggest the pack with the magnetic aerial and the leather case is well worthwhile.

When travelling we used the aerial on the car and it was extra good as the phone didnt always face the satellite when in the car.

Not so cheap when you read the tiny + Gst though.

AnswerID: 434994

Reply By: Member - Aaron L (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 18:13

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 18:13
I just bought a 9555 couple of months ago, cheaper than that - do some shopping around ;) on the web and take those prices to a shop - cheers Aaron
AnswerID: 434997

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 20:05

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 20:05
Thanks Aaron, I might just do that now I've been alerted to the GST gap.

FollowupID: 706105

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 18:53

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 18:53
G`day John,
Not quite what you asked, but why not buy a used Iridium 9505A which is the model superseded by the 9555 ?

You can use your sim card from your mobile in the 9505A provided it is on the Next G system and enabled for International Roaming. I used this method on an outback this year.

There were several posts about this on this forum back about May - June this year.

The new 9555 won`t let you do this. ( I stand to be corrected but I believe this is correct )

The 9505A model with all extras can be bought for less than half the price you mention for the 9555.

Scrubby.

AnswerID: 435001

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 18:56

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 18:56
OOPS,

........ on an outback trip this year.
FollowupID: 706092

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 20:03

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 20:03
Thanks Scrubby, I'll follow that up.

FollowupID: 706103

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 21:11

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 21:11
Agree Just sold mine for $960 a few weeks ago. Worked fine with my sim card.

FollowupID: 706114

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 21:32

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 21:32
Only problem going second hand, unless it's from a registered dealer, is you can't get the Fed. Gov't subsidy if you're eligible, which I think I am. I've just put in the Application.

Even with the GST it's still the cheapest price for a new model unit I've found; by $200. And if you get the subsidy that takes the handset cost down to $700.

FollowupID: 706117

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 21:50

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 21:50
Dont think you can get it for s/hand as you have to apply before buying and nominate phone and type etc.

Also to get it you have to be out of ALL phone communication for at least 120 days a year.
Unless you live in the desert or well away from indigenous communities may be a hard thing to do.

We found we got signal in the strangest places and then would see a sign to a community hidden from the road

Best of luck.
FollowupID: 706121

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 21:59

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 21:59
G`day again John,
Yep you will need to work out all costs with the new 9555 less Gov`t subsidy against the cost of buying a 9505A.

The only additional cost using your mobile sim card is the call charges, approximately $4.00 per min.

I don`t know what calls using plans etc cost, ........ not using them so not interested.

It may well be still cheaper to forget about the subsidy.

I bet you will get it sorted out eventually. LOL

Scrubby
FollowupID: 706123

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 22:01

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 22:01
Yes Graham. The criteria do make it hard.

But it's actually 180 days over 2 years and based on my last two years, I should qualify. There were plenty of places in the remote areas where we occasionally had coverage (as per near the Communities) but by and large we were without signals far more than not.

I'll post how I get on.

FollowupID: 706125

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 22:33

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 22:33
Agree with Scrubby on this one I got what I paid for my phone after 2 1/2 years and call costs were exactly $3.77 for th one call I had to make.

It was only used as an emergency phone and no one would be ringing it so didnt get any charges that way.

I believe there is now a $10 a month casual plan with Telstra so that may be the way to keep costs down.

Depends whether you intend using it a lot or just when absolutely needed.

If a lot I think Motherhen had a good reasonable providor TR Telecom??????

FollowupID: 706131

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 22:42

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 22:42
I'm like you Graham, emergency use only. I'll still be making most (if not all) of my comms via the HF.

'struth it's a dilemma! At least no one's questioning as to whether Iridium is the go.

FollowupID: 706133

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 23:50

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2010 at 23:50
Also re:

"You can use your sim card from your mobile in the 9505A provided it is on the Next G system and enabled for International Roaming. I used this method on an outback this year.The new 9555 won`t let you do this. ( I stand to be corrected but I believe this is correct )"

Does anyone know what the sim situation with the 9555 actually is. When I suggested this option to the dealer he didn't say it wouldn't work but gave me some mumbo jumbo as to why the networks would prefer it if people didn't do this. In any case he won't sell the unit at the advertised price without the Plan, but as it's only a 12 mth Plan, I could go the sim route after then. I am also attracted by the warranty that comes with new as well as the more compact unit.

Swings and roundabouts.

FollowupID: 706140

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 10:39

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 10:39
John.

Like I said above I don`t think the 9555 will work with your mobile sim card.
Some travellers we met on the Canning Stock Route had a very good communications set up but they told me that they couldn`t use their sim card because their sat phone was a new Iridium 9555.

Also regarding info from sales people, in particular Telstra, they will not tell you about using the sim card because they either don`t know or have been instructed not to know.
I did get one Telstra bloke to say that Telstra won`t offer any info about it because of possible litigation if something was to go pear shaped outback and the system failed. True or not I don`t know.

Mate........ " Keep Calm and Carry On "

Scrubby
FollowupID: 706153

Follow Up By: Member - Bongo Fury- Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 11:44

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 11:44
Fair dinkum Graham, you got 960 for your 9505A.Mine is nearly 6 years old now and I paid 495 with the original subsidy format, not bad.
Dont know if its ever been mentioned but TRT are a good mob who Ive been with since I got the phone. The best place for a plan if thats what youre after.
BF
FollowupID: 706160

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 12:30

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 12:30
They have been going fo more on Ebay and mine was reasonably new with low usage time.

Was another one on trader for $200 more and it seems to have sold.

I didnt qualify for subsidy and suspect it could be rorted as they ask for an address out of range yet the subsidy is for THE NEXT TWO YEARS of no access

Who knows where you will be by then.

FollowupID: 706165

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 12:48

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 12:48
Thks BF.

I chkd with TRT but their purchase price for the handset is the most expensive of the lot at more than $1900.

FollowupID: 706167

Follow Up By: Member - Bongo Fury- Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 15:16

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 15:16
At the time TRT were also the dearest but they did match the cheapest, which by the way was Telstra then, about $300 from memory. Having said that they were the only two selling iridium stuff back from then.
Could be different now as the sat phone market has grown somewhat and there is no need to do deals.
BF
FollowupID: 706177

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 18:10

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 18:10
Hi all, re the difficulty of getting the subsidy as discussed above, my dealer has just rung me to say he'd received notification from the Feds that I've been successful.

You ripper.

FollowupID: 706280

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 00:28

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 00:28
Hi John Baas

I have a Thuraya 2520 Satellite phone, through Activ8 rural, though I did not apply for the subsidy, and my Internet is through Activ8 Rural as well, with the satellite dish on my roof.

I can only say that any satellite phone is well worth the investment, and I am not saying that just because I am 300 km's from any mobile coverage. I have only ever used my sat phone, to date, for a couple of serious emergencies, generally I use HF, UHF or Skype for communications.

UHF is okay for close communication (unless there is excellent skip of course), HF is also good for long distance, but often you can't raise anyone, and sta phones are reliable all the time, unless the battery goes flat of course.

From others I know that have Iridium phones, they have had no problem to date, but can get expensive once too many calls have been made.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 435031

Reply By: Member - John R (cQld) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 21:15

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 21:15
Hi John

In answer to your query as to whether a Telstra sim can be used, this U-Tube video (it's in 2 parts) suggests you can:

Part 1
Part 2

Have no experience myself with this (unfortunately :-( ).

Cheers, John

AnswerID: 435088

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 21:33

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 21:33
That's fantastic, thanks. I was concerned whether the 9555 would work but, too easy.

FollowupID: 706212

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 21:41

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 21:41
before you buy why not check these out ?

I purchased an older 2nd hand sat phone from them about 4 years ago - great unit - no plan and never misses a beat

Landwide 2nd hand sat phone link
AnswerID: 435092

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 21:49

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 21:49
Thanks KA; I'll do that.

FollowupID: 706216

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 23:02

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 23:02
Mind you, it would have been more persuasive if he'd been at well 23 or similar.

FollowupID: 706233