Anyone know any more about trapped 4wders near
Talbotville - I gather they crossed river to
camp last weekened - then river rose after heavy rain and have been there ever since.
This follows on from the disaster of the ute rollover there also last weekend.
Guess message is that some of the recent conditions have been pretty bad , so take extra care in the hills this weekend.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 08:05
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 08:05
Gday Robin,
Yeah, 100mm of rain which seemed to be localised.
Craig (crackles) posted this 2 days ago on thread 82244:
......................................................................................
Yep, I was one of the 50+ trapped in the valley over the last few days & what a circus it was. Dozens of cars swept away, 4 blown engines that I know of & many others swamped. We even rescued one guy at the big crossing of the Wonangatta River (southern end) about to be washed down stream in a metre of fast flowing
water. He was damm lucky we just arrived or the next stop for him would have been
Eaglevale 10km down stream!
As for solo travelling into the valley it's like any remote area without phone service. There will plenty of people around to lend a hand but you do need to have some plan to let others know where you are in case you are overdue plus work out how you will be recovered in case of breakdown.
While the rain this weekend may have been above average, really the last 10 years have been exceptionally dry and the vast majority of people have never experienced the High Country when it's really wet & yes it can get very wet all year round.
Take your time Paddy, check conditions & go
well prepared.
Cheers Craig.............
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 08:14
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 08:14
Hi Phil
This is another group of eight - I know they were debating food drops this morning - been pretty bad lately.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 19:28
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 19:28
Ther have been at least two bad floods in that area in the last 5 years!
Reply By: Paul G K (vic) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 08:41
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 08:41
Why would you go on a trip into that area when the weather reports were for heavy rain in the area.
Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 09:21
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 09:21
People may not have been aware that the access roads out to
Mansfield etc are also closed ...
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 12:47
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 12:47
I agree Paul, the weather forecasts were clear a long way out, it was always going to flood. Some people don't mind doing it on the edge as long as no harm is done. Nowadays being not aware is not an excuse that holds up to
well in my opinion, in this case I'm sure they are ok, no harm done.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 13:06
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 13:06
I know we went out saturday specifically to find bad conditions in which to test out the downhill braking of a new car.
But we got good weather when we expected bad as change came in a day late - fortunately for us the weather turned seriously wet , so I guess with this being the first time some tracks were open for months others may have had builds they have been longing to check out and perhaps took the risk.
Now that it seems over , it is recorded as the wettest period we have had for 20 years so its understandable.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 19:12
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 19:12
"Why would you go on a trip into that area when the weather reports were for heavy rain....?" ".....it was always going to flood."
No it was not always going to flood, in fact the vast majority of the High Country didn't. Even then in most areas there are alternate tracks so when the rivers do rise you can still get out. We were in Wonnangatta all weekend & could have left on any day. Many with vehicles not quite as prepared just waited a couple of days before leaving.
Having said that with the extended dry over the past 10 years many drivers have become complacent about river crossings or simply haven't experienced these types of conditions. There were quite a few about this weekend who arguably chose poor
places to
camp or at least should have stayed put a while longer instead of drowning their cars.
Cheers Craig..........
Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 07:13
Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 07:13
Craig, referring to your earlier post (listed by Phil above), how were the 4 motors blown?
Water getting in to cars without a
snorkel was all I could think of. Cheers
Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 16:56
Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 16:56
Correct JD. No snorkels & from what I saw/heard, no wading sheets either.
This car for example had neither & then chose not walk it. Pity as 2m to his right it was far shallower.
Cheers Craig..............
Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 17:15
Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 17:15
Thanks Craig, that's a bummer.
Well it's good you've mentioned because hopefully all the people reading the 2 posts will now know if they didnt already know. Cheers
Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 12:12
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 12:12
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/11/04/3056877.htm
Police organise food drops for stranded campers
Posted 1 hour 34 minutes ago
Map:
Dargo 3862 Police are organising food drops for two groups of campers trapped by floodwaters in the Gippsland high country.
One group in the Wonnangatta Valley, north of
Licola, is stranded because their four wheel drives were swamped when they tried to cross the river.
Another group of seven men are cut off by flood
water in the Crooked River near
Dargo.
The mother of one of the men, Helen Beggs from Warragul, says they have been stuck in the area since Saturday.
"They've actually run out of food," she said.
"The police are really good. They're going to assess the river today. If there's no improvement in the river, they'll arrange for food to be dropped in."
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 18:00
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 18:00
Who's in charge of the beer drops ?.....lol.
Cheers....Lionel.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 18:26
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 18:26
Yep was just below
Talbotville - CH7 chopper dropped in supplies and did a story on it in 6pm news.
I could recognize the crossing.
Also showed an exciting bit of footage of a old Cruiser crossing the river which was running hard and a meter deep.
Wouldn't have tried it myself - as film was of car crossing the river on way to
camp , I would assume it was taken before they knew they were stranded.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 20:41
Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 20:41
Lovely TV news segment showing the chopper dropping in some food and a laugh with the stranded gang, Aussie TV at its best..!
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 08:44
Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 08:44
The reporter was dressed for the occasion LOL
Reply By: OzTroopie - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 03:27
Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 03:27
There's a good video about this story available on the Seven Victoria Website (see link below).
Channel Seven Victoria
Once the page loads, look for a video called "drivers stranded"
Doesn't look like they got any beer - had to settle for some snags, 2 minute noodles and some cans of baked beans.
cheers,
Nick
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 08:28
Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 08:28
I'm working on getting the real story Nick !