Gold Detectors and Gold Detecting...Seeking Advice from Forumites.

Submitted: Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 18:11
ThreadID: 82321 Views:4577 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
I know a lot of you good folk out there are experienced in the field of Gold fossicking.

I am less than a novice, in fact i haven't even started fossicking at this stage, but the prospect (no pun intended) of starting a prospecting hobby has been uppermost in my plans for some time, and I am reading all I can get hold of on the subject, including whch detector/coil combo to start out with.

I don't want to spend a fortune on a detector, and seek advice on a cheaper machine that others may have had some sort of results with, until I want to upgrade, if the itch to continue remains. Magazines and the internet make a lot of claims about the suitability of cheaper models, but are they actually any good? Shoot from the hip my friends.

Just as I am starting to get my head around the Internet language, it looks like I have to start learning a whole new one associated with fossicking.....e.g. Sensitivity, discrimination, coils, ground balance, rejection etc etc.

I'm not on a mission to find the "Mother Lode" (I learnt that expression already :-) ) but if I do, sensational. Just want to broaden my travel horizons with a bit of fun along the way.

Fred.

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 18:36

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 18:36
Fred

I bought a mine lab xterra70 a couple of years ago. I had visions of walking onto a gold field and getting a big nugget on the first day.

I was later told most people did't pick up anything for the first 12 months.

Me,,,, I still haven't got any.

I still go out when the opportunity arises, but i mainly do beaches and have a great time.

If you want to be a serious prospector you may need to spend about $5k on a detector.

Mine cost around $1300 and I reckon I have got miy money back on the beaches.

I've picked up rings, bracelets old coins and plenty of loose change. A couple of days ago I found 60 golf balls while I was out detecting.

Finally there are a couple of forums on detecting that will be useful to you. I would also suggest you spend a few dollars and get some professional guidance.

AnswerID: 435136

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 18:46

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 18:46
G'day Boo Boo.

As I said, I don't want to be that serious to just become a dedicated gold prospector, but mainly to do what you're doing, having fun along the way.

I can get the new Minelab Exterra 705 from the U S of A for under $800.00
From what I can understand (and that's not much) it's claimed to be a good all rounder.

Don't hurry home mate, it's still pretty wet here :-((

Fred.
FollowupID: 706282

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 16:50

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 16:50
Fred,

Minelab is made in Australia or was anyway. The Xterra is not really a fossicking machine, it is more for coins and relics.

I suggest you try to get hold of a second hand 3500. They are noisy compared to the newer 4000, 4500 and 5000 Minelabs, but they can still find plenty of gold. If you like it, have success and catch the gold bug badly, you can upgrade to a newer machine.

I started detecting for the same reason you are going to - another interest when I am out in the scrub. Unfortunately it has bitten me pretty hard and now it is the reason I go bush.

Good luck,

Willie.

FollowupID: 706353

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 02:07

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 02:07
Thanks Willie, I knew were into it, and I appreciate the info.

Fred.
FollowupID: 706379

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 19:01

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 19:01
Suggest you consider going on a tag-a-long gold prospecting tour to start with and that will not only allow you to "hit the ground running" so to speak but will also allow you the opportunity to see if the interest/urge remains to get more serious.

In that way you get to use the best equipment (they hire them out) , get good sound advice and experience....half the battle in detecting is knowing where to go and getting permission to detect on gold bearing country........there is much more time spent in research and sourcing ground long before you leave home than there is actually out there detecting in many cases

The old adage is you get what you pay for and with the advent of the new model minelabs around the 4500 is obtainable for around the $4k mark....if that is off your budget limits then look to the earlier models

Seriously..... long before you start outlaying for equipment that you may not use.....or may grow out of.....consider the tag a long and move on or out from there.

suggestion www.goldprospecting australia.com.au

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 435138

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 19:01

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 19:01
link again www.goldprospectingaustralia.com.au
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 706283

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 16:53

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 16:53
Mr Bung,
Are you doing a tour this winter ? I am doing the second Leonora and both Sandstone tours.
Willie.
FollowupID: 706354

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 20:30

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 20:30
yes Willie. 2 tours

will send email tonight

VKS 1341

FollowupID: 706365

Reply By: Goldfind (Dunsborough) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 20:26

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 20:26
Fred,
Try this site
http://golddetecting.4umer.net/forum.htm
Has a lot of good info on detectors and detecting

Name is" Gold detecting and prospecting forum"

Cheers WH
AnswerID: 435147

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 09:40

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 09:40
Thanks for that link WH....good stuff there.

Fred
FollowupID: 706326

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 21:16

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 21:16
Hi Fred, it's not anything I'm into but I would reckon the Gold and Ghosts digital maps could come in useful if you're into OziEx and digital maps.

http://www.exploroz.com/Shop/Maps/Digital_Mapping/Default.aspx?pn=2

AnswerID: 435155

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 22:18

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 22:18
Fred,

I looked into this a while ago and spoke to many experienced fossikers. The consensus from those in the know was that knowing how to fossick is more important than the detector.

Much the same as a $5000 camera will not make you a good photographer, you need to know how to takes photos first.

AnswerID: 435162

Follow Up By: Member - Lyndon.TAS. - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 14:55

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 14:55
Fred,
If you are still entertaining thoughts of picking up a nugget or two, here are some websites to get you started and also a magazine. - www.minelab.com.au
www.minersden.com.au
www.goldgemtreasure.com.au (Also the mag. Australian Gold,Gem & Treasure)
There are detectors ranging from the Minelab detectors made in South Australia - ( considered the best in the world - at last count, well in excess of twenty five different models ), through to Garrett Detectors and White's detectors made in the U.S.A., to Tesoro Detectors, then the First Texas Bounty Hunter range, which are a cheap option. ( Having not used the Bounty Hunter Range, I can't vouch for them.) There are also cheap models such as Jack Lange's Supersnoop, which is okay for the price.
It also depends how serious you want to be with this hobby, and also whether you would like to detect on beaches, parks, goldfields, creeks/streams in water, etc,etc, as different detectors are made especially for each form of detecting, also coils to go with the detector. It can get confusing Fred, but some detectors will perform most of these functions reasonably well, in a manner of speaking, but for under water you will probably need something like a Garrett Infinium.
There is so much to learn before you take the first sweep with your new/secondhand detector, but once learned it is not forgotten and your hobby can be a blessing in a number of ways. Firstly healthwise, it keeps you active, and the feeling of despair you get when after searching sometimes for days, even weeks in 50C heat for no return, and all of a sudden that strong deep mellow signal appears in your headphones. Within one split second you are all of a sudden alive and feeling like a ten year old kid with so much energy, and you dig and find this tiny little spec of gold, weighing no more than .3grams - not even a gram of gold, but, you are so overjoyed. (probably overdoing it a bit here) But you are now feeling alive again and renewed. Ask any prospector/detectorist, and I'm sure they will agree. Gotta go Fred, the Gold Fever has set in. Maybe see you out there mate, Lyndon.
FollowupID: 706530