Nissan Patrol 3Lt Improvement

Submitted: Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 19:03
ThreadID: 82323 Views:9633 Replies:5 FollowUps:16
Considering a Patrol 3Lt diesel manual to tow our 2400 ATM Jayco van.
Can anyone share thier opinion about this vehicle, Are the later series - III or IV cars ok and less subject to engine failure.Are these cars an improvement over the earlier models.
A keen Nissan man but a bit worried about the 3Lt.
Thanks to all who respond to my Thread.
Peter.

Reply By: hallmark1 - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 19:27

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 19:27
Hi Peter,we have a 2003 Patrol that tows a 21.6 van that weighs 2100.The vehicle has now done 198.000ks with not a problem apart from replacing a
vacuum controller thingy at a cost of $298.

At 102.000ks I had diesel/gas fitted much to some friends horror,but it is the best thing I have done.

I also have a 3" exhaust which also made a huge difference to the power,at the time of these mods I had a chip fitted but I have now had it disconnected.

My servicing mechanic is a toyota freak but he reckons this Patrol is the best he has had to service,so maybe I am one of the lucky ones.

Good luck in choosing your purchase.

Cheers Bazza
AnswerID: 435140

Follow Up By: Nutta - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 23:26

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 23:26
Do you mind if I ask why you removed the chip?
FollowupID: 706312

Follow Up By: hallmark1 - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 14:05

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 14:05
Hi Nutta After I fitted the diesel/gas the power increase was unbelievable,so i tried
towing the van without the chip and I could not notice any difference in power.I have just returned from around Aust,did 22,900ks and averaged
15.74/100 and i reckon that is pretty good.
cheers bazza
FollowupID: 706343

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 22:50

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 22:50
Thanks, I'd be interested to know the real horsepower gains as towing and passing can be a concern at times.

How do you feel about the towing/passing power side of things?

Cheers Wayne
FollowupID: 706570

Reply By: Not so grey nomads - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 20:53

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 20:53
Peter, I have a 2010 manual 3.0l and tow a 2700kg van. I am confident the engine woes have been rectified. I also have a 3"exhaust and chip and am extremely happy with the performance.

Anthony
AnswerID: 435150

Reply By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 21:09

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 21:09
a big exhaust system is a must and an Exhaust Gas Temperature Gauge .
and drive by the EGT
mechpete
AnswerID: 435153

Follow Up By: OzTroopie - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 00:15

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 00:15
Hi Peter,

Not familiar with Exhaust Gas Temperature Gauges, what are they used for?

cheers,

Nick
FollowupID: 706317

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 06:36

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 06:36
Nick,

Have a read of this site for info on EGT guages.

Patrick

FollowupID: 706322

Reply By: Member - Lyndon C (TAS) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 01:03

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 01:03
G'day Peter,
Patrol man myself, GU 4500ST 1999, fuel injection petrol engine. Was looking at all manner of Patrols/Toyotas before I purchased my present vehicle. Looked, and cross checked all of 4x4's for over 6 months, on things such as power plants and associated problems that arise, also gear boxes and transmissions, diffs and diff housings, before deciding on the one I have now. It had 224,000 klms on the speedo, but was not in the least worried, as I contacted the mechanic who serviced it from new and he had every little detail of servicing on his computer. As far as your enquiry about the diesel 3.0Lt engines go, I have also looked at this problem before deciding on the petrol engine model, as it also gave me a great deal of concern, as I did really want the diesel powered Patrol. From memory,(it was a while ago that I looked at this) quite a few of the engines from 2.8Lt , 3.0Lt, from around 1998 through to 2003/2004 seemed to have problems. Most gave up the ghost at around 70-80,000 Klms, although some didn't make it to 50,000 klms, while others are still going. There was a definite problem with these power plants, as they were recalled overseas and replaced, but not in Australia. As far as we were concerned, Nissan denied that there was ever a problem, and yet the same engines were fitted to Australian vehicles as were fitted to the overseas Patrols. The new model engine which came out in the late 2003/early 2004, was supposed to have fixed the previous problems, but after learning about all this, I was not going to take a chance, Hence the petrol engined model I have. It has heaps of power, 870klms range on the main and sub tanks (105lts total) towing a Jayco Finch Outback 2001. More info can be gained about your Preferred engine model on the Nissan Patrol Website, as they also have forums on there, and you will learn a lot. Cheers, and hope you find what you are looking for, LyndonC (Tas)
AnswerID: 435167

Follow Up By: Member - Lyndon C (TAS) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 01:23

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 01:23
Just a quick short note to follow on with Peter, If towing, whatever you do, DON'T tow in 5th or overdrive, because as sure as night is not day, you will at some stage blow up your gearbox as 5th or overdrive was not built for towing and is a weak gear. Fourth gear is on the straight through drive train and is therefore built strong as it turns all the time even when lower gears are engaged. This applies to all motor vehicles. Some will say they have been doing it for years without any trouble as it is easier on the fuel tanks, but I can guarantee you they are driving a ticking time bomb as far as their gearbox is concerned when they do this. Consider this, $250.00 extra in fuel by having to drive in fourth or $4,500.00 in replacement of a gearbox and transmission housing if the gearbox goes while towing in 5th/overdrive. The choice is quickly evident, but the choice is yours, Cheers again, Lyndon.
FollowupID: 706319

Follow Up By: hallmark1 - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 14:25

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 14:25
Hi Lyndon C,Gee mate you are getting fantastic consumption out of 4500 Patrol,that is the best I have ever heard of:

8.29ks per litre
23.42mpg
12.07/100

I reckon a lot of us wish we were getting those figures. Cheers Bazza
FollowupID: 706345

Follow Up By: Member - Lyndon C (TAS) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:16

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:16
G'day Hallmark1,
Yes, I inadvertantly did mislead you, and so apologise. One tank (the main) is 80lt, and the other (the Sub-tank) is 35lt, giving a total of 115lts. As to how I got the mileage, this was simple. I filled both main tank and sub tanks choc a bloc and headed West. I drove without stopping until the vehicle started popping and farting and jerking, which told me the main tank was bone dry. At that stage the secondary trip meter told me that I had covered 601 klms and then I hit the sub-tank button to transfer the 35lt of fuel in that tank across to the main. With this fuel I drove again until the vehicle packed it in and the trip meter told me I had covered 870klms total. The reason I did this was because I was not sure of the range that the vehicle could cover on full tanks, as I had only just bought it one week prior to setting off. I know what you are thinking now, if I had used all my fuel, how was I to continue my journey? The answer to that is I carry two spare 20lt jerry cans of fuel with me which I used to get me to the next fuel stop, where I refilled both tanks and jerry cans. As for mileage, I hadn't really thought about it other than the fact that I have worked out that if I drive at a speed of 87-90klms per hour, then I don't need to refill as often, so that's good enough for me. The old girl, can really get up and go when needed, but that fuel needle heads south real quick, so I make a compromise, and go sort of slow, bearing in mind she has gone past 270,000 klms now. She gets serviced every 10,000klms to keep her in good health.This could be the secret, but am not sure,(the serviceing I mean) and the driving sort of slow. I have worked out that on a long run I get 7.56 klms per litre which is from my trip log and fuel expenditure sheets. I thought this was rather heavy until I heard what other people were getting. If you drive with cruise control you will definitely use much more fuel, but if it is not a problem to you ( the fuel cost) go for your life. I have experimented with a number of cars with this issue and found all use more fuel on cruise mode. I hope this helps somewhat with your questions Hallmark1, so happy and safe driving, Cheers, Lyndon.
FollowupID: 706360

Follow Up By: hallmark1 - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:30

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:30
Hi Lyndon,thanks for that,you are still getting great MPG for that vehicle,I am not having a go at you,I just think you are doing well and good luck to yourself,I had better take my foot of the pedal a bit.
Hope to see you on the road one of these days,you never know.

Cheers Bazza
FollowupID: 706361

Follow Up By: Shaver - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 10:44

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 10:44
It may be also of interest to you that 200 Series Landcruiser Petrol does about 12.6 to 12.9lph on the H'way. This is the figure I am currently getting at the moment.
FollowupID: 706394

Follow Up By: Shaver - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 10:47

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 10:47
Sorry Lyndon ! The followup was meant for Peteraw.
FollowupID: 706395

Follow Up By: hallmark1 - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 18:37

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 18:37
Hi Shaver when towing a caravan????
FollowupID: 706452

Follow Up By: Shaver - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 08:48

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 08:48
hallmark 1,

Probably a bit savage, but I don't tow. There are a few members on LCOOL that are towing 3 ton vans with the petrol 200 & I believe they are happy with their consumption figures. Naturally you can't compare it to the diesel, but with the problems that are occuring with the diesel, the petrol is a bullit proof alternative especially when there can be a variation of 12cents a litre & more in fuel prices at times.
FollowupID: 706507

Follow Up By: Member - Lyndon.TAS. - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 11:59

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 11:59
G'day again fella's,
It's good to hear others' opinions, but I think we are getting off the track a bit as the original thread refers to the 3.0Lt diesel engined vehicle. Have any of you had issues with this engine, as that is what Peteraw was worried about? Thanks guys, Cheers Lyndon... P.S. - Probably my fault for running off track in the first place, sorry Peteraw.
FollowupID: 706516

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 16:48

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 16:48
I have a 2003 GU111 manual which I tow a Jayco Outback Freedom with an ATM of 2159kg. I have had no problems mechanically except for a blown turbo at 50,000klms which was replaced under warrenty. I now have a tad over 112K's on the clock and the Patrol runs beatifully.

The only thing that I don't like is the clutch. You have to let it out a long way before it takes up which does cause some frustrating moments. I have to be aware of the grade that I am on as the Patrol does not like to take off on anything that may be steep.

I have had a chip fitted and it works well but I would love the motor to rev a bit quicker so that the turbo comes in. Once that happens the fulling power is there but not before.

If I bought another 3 litre I would get an auto so that the take off is better managed.

Patrick

FollowupID: 706538

Reply By: Nutta - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 22:47

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 22:47
Hi Pete.

I've got the 3.0l auto, 2003 with 143k on the clock, i installed egr block, dawes/needle valve and catch can at 80k, and its got a dtronic chip which does make a difference in power. And a converter lock, just remembered.

Atm im running 315s, the speedo at 100kays is 5% out, roof rack, spottys, bullbar, draws choc o block, winch, dual batts etc, so plenty of weight.

Around town or on the highway i average 6 - 6.5 ks per 100 no matter how i drive and allowing for tyres.

Towing 1.7t i average 5 kays per 100, travelling anywhere between 85 and 110 kph.

Without caravan cruising and passing is not a problem, with caravan cruising is ok
but passing can be a bit worrying, i have to make sure the road is clear well ahead!

These things can be extremely underpowered under these circumstances!
I'm not really to bothered on others opinions, this is mine.

I have the boost at 15 psi but am going to wind it up to its maximum safe boost, which im not sure of yet.

The intercooler has recently got a couple of small holes in it which im about to replace with an aftermarket one which is twice the size with a built in electric fan, im hoping this will also improve power, and im also dropping the tyre size back to 285s, 315s are a bit big in fairness to this motor!

It gets a service every 10k and i havent put a spanner to it to my surprise (bought it new), to be honest ive been waiting for it to grenade, but its still fairly quiet and seems to be running well.

Overall my only concern is it is a little underpowered.
If it did blow it would be a toss up between a new 3.0 (if i can increase the power a bit more) or the 6.0l holden v8.
But that may come down to bucks, if it ever lets go that is, and keeping my auto which by the way is the only way to go.

Hope this helps, cheers Wayne.

AnswerID: 435413

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 22:55

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 22:55
That was meant to be kays per litre not 100, cheers
FollowupID: 706572