roberttbruce
something is happenning in the powdered milk aisle at your local
supermarket...
at coles lismore they are discontinuing the "Sunshine" brand which is the tinned one that comes with the plastic lid...
usually when they do this they shift the prices of other products up...
the only product they can shift up is thier own brand...
i will feel outraged and gutted if they shift the price of the blue and white brand of powdered milk up...
it was bad enough what they did with pink salmon...
What can we do to make sure they dont ripp us off??
Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 19:38
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 19:38
Don't
shop there
Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 19:51
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 19:51
yerrr, i dont, but good luck lismore, looks like they are starting the gouge there...
Follow Up By: lancie49 - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 19:54
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 19:54
Yep, buy your powdered milk somewhere else, along with the bulk of your other weekly shopping.
Make sure you tell at least 2 of the store managers that you will be doing that.
P'raps even drop head office a note if you feel that strongly about it.
Follow Up By: Ol' Bunky - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 22:30
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 22:30
Love to
shop elsewhere, but that's 400k's away!!
Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 20:25
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 20:25
Coles and Woolworths are both working towards selling principally their own brands, eliminating alternative brands from their stores. Bad news for local producers and primary production across Australia as much of store brand products include ingredients sourced overseas.
When i worked at an
IGA, our best competitive advantage was that we would try and get in the products the customers requested. We couldn't compete with some of Coles and Woolworths special prices as they were below what we could buy the products from the warehouse.
Follow Up By: MrsMolly - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 08:20
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 08:20
and then there are the other brands like Macro Wholefoods on the Woolworths shelves. Macro used to be an independant brand until Woolworths bought it out. Now they carry on like their progressive and meeting the market. All they did was buy out the competition leaving us with less choice !!
Reply By: old mate - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 08:04
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 08:04
Life must be pretty good if the price of powdered milk is the only thing you have to worry about.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 12:26
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 12:26
too true!
maybe buy real milk (if you can call it that) instead
Reply By: petengail - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 10:56
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 10:56
What can you do to make sure they dont ripp us off?? Sadly in your case not a damm thing. They have you by the short and curlies and will screw you as hard as they can while simultaneously advertising themselves and the friend and saviour of the poor consumer. IMHO, the best thing that has happened to the retail grocery market is ALDI, however this is probably not an option for you in Lismore. Coles and Woolworths have the market cornered in Food, Booze and Petrol, to say nothing of owning Big W and the Hypermarket chain here in
Brisbane... it just goes on and on...
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 14:57
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 14:57
Let's not forget that Woolies is the biggest operator of poker machines in Australia too.
For all of Bob Katter's "quirkiness" one of his platforms was to reduce the Coles/Woolies monopoly.
More power to Bob.
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 13:15
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 13:15
Hi roberttbruce,
I own an
IGA store. Sunshine instant full cream milk powder (complete with a re-sealable plastic lid) is on our shelves and not tagged for deletion.
How many cases would you like???
Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 13:17
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 13:17
Forgot to add, we have some good pink salmon too;)))
Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 14:33
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 14:33
Do ya have any "Orstralian made" powdered milk ???
;-)))
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 15:01
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 15:01
We have Coles, Wollies and Aldi in out shopping centre. Next year we will have a Chrisco Store opening. The first in NSW. This is going to be a BIG wake up call for the competition. $60
Membership and they sell everything under the same roof.
I would appreciate any comments on Chrisco Good or bad..........
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 16:43
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 16:43
G'day Ed,
Sure do, Diploma milk powder is entirely Orstralian...B & G is also a 'product of Australia'
Michael
Follow Up By: smithy_1 - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 18:53
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 18:53
The great powerded milk fiasco of 2010, milk-
gate.
The next thing would be our
water charges in Qld, with the
water-
grid & all. I suppose we should call that --->
water-
gate. :)
Follow Up By: Jude&theboys - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 12:27
Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 12:27
esarby would that be chrisco or Costco? Costco have a store here in
melbourne. I like it but I would say to anyone go
check it out before you
sign up as it depends what sort of things you buy. The other thing is that since it opened some products in woolies and coles have come down in price and similar products offered in woolies now for similar prices so I'd say that even if you don't
shop there the extra competition in the market helps.
Jude
Reply By: roberttbruce - Friday, Nov 12, 2010 at 00:01
Friday, Nov 12, 2010 at 00:01
I've really want to thanks everyone for thier posts to this thread...
If the
home-brand powdered milk moves up a cent in price or drops a gram in weight, ill mention it too every reply set and we will start banging some reality into the insidious creature which thinks it decides the product lineage
Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Nov 12, 2010 at 11:44
Friday, Nov 12, 2010 at 11:44
Our very own Don Quixote LOL
Go for it and good luck.
Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 22:45
Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 22:45
I wonder how many of the
supermarket bashers dutifully line up with their 4c per litre fuel discount vouchers?
All this is doing is helping them to get rid of the independent operators.