Vicar QLD
Newby to the
forum but have been following for years. Am interested if anyone owns a GU Ute with the leaf rear. I have an 03 TDI with the drum rear, leaf sprung. Has anyone upgraded the
suspension 2 inch or over and if so, any good or bad experiences. As the shocks are gone and the spring pack is setup for towing 48 tonne, I feel like my kidneys are bruised everytime I get out.
Look forward to any feedback.
Cheers...
Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 10:03
Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 10:03
G'day Vicar
My work 4x4 is a 009 GU cab chassis with a Telstra style box on the back so similar to your cab chassis. Had the
suspension uprated with spring kit front and rear so the GVM is now 3700 kgs. Rides a bit hard but the Stratos seats help in that regard.
Typo in your post I think - "towing 48 tonne" - even the 4.2TDI is only rated to tow 3500 kgs LOL
| John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Vicar QLD - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 10:06
Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 10:06
I should have said, feels like it could tow 48t, but you know how firm it is!
Cheers mate...
Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 10:58
Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 10:58
G'day, I had a 2001TD GU ute with the leaf rear, had rear auxillary coils fitted here in
Melbourne, so so much better. Have a look at
Freds Suspension he does the fitting in Qld. Maybe just what you need. John
Reply By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 17:36
Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 17:36
Hi Vicar, I have had my gu wagon raised by John at Zordos 4x4
suspension components and would highly recommend you give him a call on 33512692. He is very helpful and knows his stuff.