Heading off to Tasmania

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 11:34
ThreadID: 82430 Views:3304 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
On the 27th November we leave Melbourne for Tasmania and will return Jan or Feb 2011.
We look forward to catching up with anyone who happens to be there at the time. Just look out for the green 4WD motorhome, Registration: HUGO 1
Rob
The outback calls

Reply By: BrownyGU - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 11:49

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 11:49
Great Stuff Nav 1,

We're booked on the spirit for the 19th of Dec, back about late jan or early feb, GU Patrol towing a Goldstream Storm, we will keep a look out for you, you'll be pretty easy to spot!

Cheers......Browny
AnswerID: 435646

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 18:04

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 18:04
G'day Browny, can you tell us what the fees are for transporting your rig over on the spirit please mate.

Cheers and have a great time whilst overseas :-))

Fred
FollowupID: 706878

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 19:54

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 19:54
Fred,

Can't remember exactly, but approximately $560, for the wagon (over height, 2.1 is there standard height) and 3 recliners with the edition of camper at approx 6mtrs (with bike rack)if you go to there site, there's a pretty simple booking calculator that gives you the exact pricing before you book, they have peak and off peak pricing

http://www.spiritoftasmania.com.au/

Cheers.....Browny
FollowupID: 706897

Follow Up By: SDG - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 22:09

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 22:09
Fred.
For me, 1 child and a motorcycle with trailer a little over $500 return, early January.
FollowupID: 706919

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Nov 12, 2010 at 09:21

Friday, Nov 12, 2010 at 09:21
G'day Fred, to take the Jackaroo & 3.8m C/t plus a twin cabin with porthole
set me back just under $1200 return. The cabin being the exy bit. Much
cheaper on day sailings, no cabin, but we can do Melbourne in a day, board
that evening without need to camp, & arrive early with all day untouched. Child
bride is a poor sailor & would not contemplate being publicly crook all day.
As Browny says..the site will cost everything for you......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 706958

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 15:22

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 15:22
Good Thinking. We dont go till Feb 5...you may be still around....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 435674

Reply By: Not so grey nomads - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 17:29

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 17:29
Just the vehicle to cope with some of our Tassie drivers! Enjoy your visit.
AnswerID: 435703

Follow Up By: Holiday Maker - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 17:52

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 17:52
Nothing wrong with our Tasmanian drivers, it's those terrible mainlanders.

Have a great time here and maybe we will see you out there, we hope to be touring up the East Coast over that period of the year.

Mostly long stop in The Bay of Fires camping area. (its free)

Dusty
FollowupID: 706872

Reply By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 18:48

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 18:48
Nobody will see Navigator 1 in Tassie. The green machine will blend in too much except in the cities where all the Green votes are.
AnswerID: 435714