Report on engine watchdog / scanguage
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 14:48
Member - Peter S (NSW)
I thought I would give a report on the engine watchdog and scanguage fitted to my vehicle, firstly vehicle details, 2003 Toyota Landcruiser 100 series V8 petrol, 285/75/16 BFG AT tyres, storage draws full with recovery gear etc I do not have a roof rack, when towing we have a 1997 Regent Legend poptop duel axle caravan, ATM1960Kg.
I fitted the engine watchdog first to the bolt on the thermostat housing, non towing temps are around the 60 to 65c, towing showed around 70 to 80c, I adjusted the scanguage 5% to compensate for the larger tyres and this corresponds exactly to the reading on the GPS, the guages showing on the scanguage are lhk (litres per hundred klm),
water temp, kph and volts, there are another 20 guages that can be shown.
Water temps for the scanguage show, non towing 90c, and towing not much more to around 95c
The interesting guage is the lhk, non towing yesterday going shopping in
Grafton NSW which is a round trip of 100ks showed 14.8lhk, not bad with the larger tyres and 2 weeks of shopping, that figure is about normal for non towing, when towing the best I have recorded is 19lhk and the worst 22.5lhk over 18.000 klm of towing and this has been backed up using the mileage and fuel fill up independent of the scanguage to see how close the guage is, and its pretty close.
So the scanguage does work on my vehicle but I am not sure if it works in the diesel model, I am now looking and changing the watchdog from the thermostat housing to the auto box to see how the temp goes on that for towing, any ideas on where to fit the sensor would be appreciated.
I hope the info may be of some use to anyone thinking of fitting either the engine watchdog or scanguage. Pete.
Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 16:07
Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 16:07
I fitted my Scanguage last weekend. Plugged it straight into Mr Toyota's plug (between the radio and steering coloum just behind the bottom of the dash) on a 2008 78 series turbo V8 diesel. I selected
water temp, volts, rpm and some other thing that I can't remember for the moment. Works okay for me.
Reply By: DOEY- Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 16:37
Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 16:37
hi peter
have you looked into wether or not you can get an xguage code to display trans temp on your scanguage?
i have a scanguage and it is great. very accurate, unfortunately my ecu doesnt\cant spit out trans temp on my rodeo, model after does tho. you can also programme kw, hpr, boost (if you have a turbo) into it aswell.
doey
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 17:05
Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 17:05
I have an oil temp gauge fitted to my 2005 TD 100 auto and it really isnt needed.
Usually runs at abot 70 - 75 on the flat when towing
Hottest it ever got in 50,000k was on the Willunga
hill near
Adelaide.
It got up to 95 but was a really hot day and van weighs 2900kg
Exhaust temp was 510 so I had backed off and changed down and feathered it over the top.
When not towing it barely gets up to 70 ever. Probe is in the out pipe to the oil cooler just behind the radiator.
Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 17:07
Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 17:07
I've had a Scangauge II installed in my Navara D40 for 50000km now and I can attest, at least for my vehicle, that the fuel measurements of the Scangauge are accurate to within 1-1.5ltrs. ie every fill-up since fitting the Scangauge has been + or - 1ltr approx. I usually fill up at the same servo when in town and at the same pump - and for local fills (until I can just see the diesel in the filler) this is even more accurate - usually within 0.5 ltrs.
Vehicle is a 2008 auto 2.5CRDI D40 Navara - aftermarket fitout includes steel bar, warn xd9000 winch, TJM underbody bash plates, 160ltr Opposite Lock fuel
tank, Ride Pro
suspension (50mm lift). BFG AT tyres, HD tow hitch,
water watch, ARB canopy and racks, ORS storage system, 70ltr ss
water tank, 2x105AH aux batteries, Evakool fridge....so all in all even when not hooked up to my Kangacamper trailer there is still a bit of extra weight on board.
Reply By: Muntoo - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 19:10
Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 19:10
Yeap, scangauge is accurate as. Had it fitted for 30,000kms now and its never been more then one litre out over 150 litres. All my figures add up, both from monitoring LHK gauge, estimated fill and my actuall fill total. I know that i can get 100km easy with fuel light on, although not good practice it is possible and i have done it.
I love my scangauge.
Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 21:48
Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 21:48
i dont know a lot about the "scanguage" but have a "watchdog" fitted to
mine, what i have done is buy two sensors and have a switch to flick it to the other sensor, i have the sensor on the transfer case as they do give problems on the 75's and when it is working hard the temp comes up, it is a good indicator that it is on the way out as it runs really hot when it is about to cark it.... it sits on the engine temp until i press the switch and allows me to just look at the trans temp to see of it is heating up.....
The same place that supplied the watchdog will supply the extra temp pickup and switch with wiring and diagram.....
Reply By: Member - Peter S (NSW) - Friday, Nov 12, 2010 at 07:20
Friday, Nov 12, 2010 at 07:20
Thanks for the reply's, seems that both units work
well,
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DOEY replied:
hi peter
have you looked into wether or not you can get an xguage code to display trans temp on your scanguage?
Thanks for this DOEY, I am not sure about the xguage but will see if I can find out, it would be good, have to have another read up to see if I can make it out.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ replied:
i dont know a lot about the "scanguage" but have a "watchdog" fitted to
mine, what i have done is buy two sensors and have a switch to flick it to the other sensor, i have the sensor on the transfer case as they do give problems on the 75's and when it is working hard the temp comes up, it is a good indicator that it is on the way out as it runs really hot when it is about to cark it.... it sits on the engine temp until i press the switch and allows me to just look at the trans temp to see of it is heating up.....
The same place that supplied the watchdog will supply the extra temp pickup and switch with wiring and diagram.....
Thanks Joe I did not know that you could fit another sensor to the watchdog, I will see if I can find out more.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks Pete
Follow Up By: DOEY- Friday, Nov 12, 2010 at 09:28
Friday, Nov 12, 2010 at 09:28
no worries Pete.
try this link for the xguage codes
xguage codes
i love playing with these things.
Reply By: Member - Peter S (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 14:19
Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 14:19
Well I bought the 2nd sensor and switch for the engine watchdog (thanks Joe) I did not know I could do that, had a short test run and it works fine, I fitted the sensor to a bolt holding the auto box sump, will see how it goes on longer trip to town.
Doey thanks for the link, it seems that the Landcruiser codes are very hard to come by to put into the scanguage, may find them one day.
Pete in rainy
Wooli, where is the sun????????