Tyres from the US are cheaper including freight

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 08:42
ThreadID: 82459 Views:5871 Replies:11 FollowUps:28
We had a thread recently about tyres and prices in the US and I tried to get some BFG KM2 255/85 16 and posted a request for a source over east. Tried to order there, got told none available in Australia. - Pathetic - so I decided to do something about it and have ordered in the US.

I will have a container coming in Feb but I have decided to have them shipped now and by themselves and all up including shipping they end up $120 cheaper each then what I was quoted here in Perth. When you need 8 this is a saving of almost $1000.

Wholesalers and retailers here in OZ have to get their act together. In Europe you can buy food through ebay, here in OZ its is not allowed. What a joke .. this is protecting the big guys.

have fun
gmd

Reply By: The Explorer - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 09:08

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 09:08

Correct me if Im wrong but wont you have to pay tax/duty on your items when they get assessed by customs? May still be cheaper but just wondering.

AnswerID: 435845

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 09:24

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 09:24
Yep anything over about $400 attracts GST at least.

I bought a car stereo and a GPS from USA and got charged on both.
They were still cheaper than buying here but cost a lot more than one tyre.

It is rather unfair to slag Aussie distributors who have to pay these costs, provide storage for their stock etc AND provide a warranty.

What will you do if several tyres are faulty.

Unlikely I know but a long way to send them back to the seller.

Have been the victim of this some years ago when I was in the USA and wanted to buy an item that "was out of stock" When I said I was only on a holiday from overseas I suddenly was able to buy what I wanted.

Wasnt till I got home I discovered it had a problem and was possibly a returned item for a warranty issue.
Was fixable but still cost extra and took a year to get the parts.

FollowupID: 707054

Follow Up By: braggy - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 09:26

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 09:26
I read a post on another site , and a tyre place in the USA sent them singular via FedEx and no duty or gst
Cheers Ken
FollowupID: 707055

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 09:34

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 09:34
I get around 3-5 parcels a weeks of private stuff from Europe, US and Hong Kong. Everything under $1000 sent by USPS usually goes through no problem. If you send Fedex or UPS they will do a more strict import handling.

All car/truck stuff runs through the business so GST or Duty does not bother me and truck parts have no duty anyway.

Warranty: If you are afraid of a manufacturing fault and rely on warranty, well then keep paying inflated retail prices. You win and you loose. So far I am way ahead .. just got a large mobile antenna (huge package) from the US via USPS, no GST no duty (declared value was US$2000 ) ..

Why do you people who obviously have no idea always comment on something you know nothing about from experience.

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 707056

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 09:44

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 09:44
and by the way ... $400 ? where did you get that figure ???

The current regulations are that every item which would attract duty/gst over $50 will be processed by customs. So there is NO $400 or fixed sum for that matter. If you buy from the US at 1:1 the Item can be $499 - shipping cost (because shipping is part of the value when customs calculates duty and GST) without any fees. Above $50 you also pay a $50+ customs handling fee and the couriers charge an additional fee... But still ... way ahead of local prices..

A few weeks ago I brought in $3000 worth of ham gear and just now got the Fedex invoice for GST .. no duty anyway on that stuff .. who cares about $300 when you save more than 50% .. in this case roughly 60% of local prices.

Warranty: ?? With the savings I can buy 2 and still be ahead ... I calculate my own warranty cost. I drive a US truck with no warranty and could not care less. Sure when you buy Toyota or Nissan you NEED warranty with they way they are going.

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 707058

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 10:57

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 10:57
Hi _gmd_pps

It is probably a rare thing, but I agree with Graham on this. We are buying overseas stuff specifically on price, and bagging Aussie wholesalers/manufacturers.

I just did a quick google check on salaries for mechanical engineers in the USA... they range from $52k to $72k per annum. I know semi skilled workers earing more than that here! No wonder things are 'cheaper'. I know we shouldn't assume, but I WILL assume, that process/ factory workers get paid less than the engineers, so it's no wonder at all that things are priced cheaper.

So much for our wholesalers being a joke, if we want our wages to be 'decent' the end cost has to be passed on. Or perhaps we should all work for $10 per hour.

Still cant see why there is so much arguing on this forum, if you disagree with someone, don't point out their faults, (or what we believe to be their faults), just state what you DO know. No need to be nasty, in words or tone.

Cheers, Dave

FollowupID: 707063

Follow Up By: Ol' Bunky - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 11:07

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 11:07
Warranty???? HA!
FollowupID: 707064

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 11:10

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 11:10
Hi Dave,

Yeah, but the cost of living in the USA is SO much cheaper than in AUS - I should know, I have been over in the USA since July on a work transfer. That ~$70K USA salary is probably equivalent to $120-$140K in AUS. Try fuel at about half price, much lower tax rates, food about 3/4 of AUS, housing less than 1/2 the cost, a brand new 4x4 F150 for <<$50K and you get the idea. Mind you, being paid an Aussie salary while living in the USA, plus an exchange rate that only keeps going down and its a good time to be an expat :)

FollowupID: 707065

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 11:21

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 11:21
G'day Captain,

The way I read it, what you have just said confirms what I was saying. Cost of living in USA is cheaper, as per your examples, certainly no argument there, so those lower wages are acceptable... over there.

Thing is, we live here, and with our costs, (partly due to our isolation and living standards), we need to get higher wages to maintain the status quo. This in turn means we have to charge higher for whatever we sell.

I owned a manufacturing business up until May this year, and that is how I found things to be.

I'm not suggesting that all wholesalers/manufacturers are totally honest, or benevolent in their pricing, but even those that are honest, still have Australian costs to contend with, not USA costs.

Cheers, Dave

FollowupID: 707066

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 11:39

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 11:39
"Australian costs to contend with, not USA costs "

Well well ... some maybe many buy from China and still charge "Australian" prices.
We have two factories in Jakarta and wholesale here in Australia for "competitive" prices not inflated prices. And what do the retailers do ? Inflate the prices. Our stuff sells online (international) for half and Australians buy our stuff from international websites for half of what it is here.

It is the consumer mentality here that drives prices up. Only sell a house with a real estate agent because your too stupid or lazy to do it yourself. A whole nation depends on it .. drives prices up. Where I come from real estate agents were the absolute exception and then the buyer pays the fee .. not the vendor... that keeps the fees down.

Australian consumers are ignorant and because most cannot handle money and still get paid weekly or fortnightly they cannot plan in advance and stock up and manage a budget. So they have to buy spontaneously and pay what is asked.
I have many many more examples of inefficient time wasting work practices here which just drive the price up for no good reason.

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 707068

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 12:02

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 12:02
Well, well, still cranky I see....

The items I manufactured were SOLD to China, made from Aussie steel, machined by Aussie tradesmen.

It appears your company has decided to manufacture offshore (two factories in Jakarta), to keep their manufacturing costs down, rather than paying Aussie wages and associated costs, at the expense of jobs here.

Your choice, I guess.

Going on your opinion of Aussie consumers, "(Australian consumers are ignorant and because most cannot handle money and still get paid weekly or fortnightly they cannot plan in advance and stock up and manage a budget.)" I can only suggest that you must be an exceptionally clever person, maybe you should run for parliament... you have the solution to all our fiscal problems. By the way, my electricity bill is due, any advice on how I should budget for that:)) ?

Have a nice day, Dave

FollowupID: 707069

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 12:56

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 12:56
Hi Dave,

Yeah, the standard of living in both countries works out about the same. Basically we are taxed much more but we do get more benefits (if you think our medicare is bad, try the USA with no private insurance!).

While I agree that buying Aussie is better for the nation, its hard to do so when say airbags are $75 here and $330 in AUS. Thats just price gouging and I have no hesitation in buying overseas. But when the dfference is <25% and you factor in GST the company has to pay plus local warranty, better to keep the money in AUS. Just my 2c worth.

FollowupID: 707073

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 11:39

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 11:39
Firstly i said ABOUT $400.

Secondly it happened to me even tough the link says $1000 I got charged on items under that. TWICE.

Thirdly there is no call to be derisive of posters.

None of us including you are correct all the time.

Lastly the reason that so many Aussie businesses including tyre factories have closed down is because people like you enjoy the fruits of a good life without supporting local industry.

Normally I only import gear that I cant buy in Australia.

Here is a link to a page that sets out what is what

http://www.customs.gov.au/webdata/resources/files/importinggoodsbypostfaq.pdf .

AnswerID: 435850

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 12:22

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 12:22
""""""Wholesalers and retailers here in OZ have to get their act together. In Europe you can buy food through ebay, here in OZ its is not allowed. What a joke .. this is protecting the big guys. """""""

ever wonder why America is BROKE ????? yes you can get things cheaper over there and other places but after you have sent your money over to some other country for them to play war games with then go out and look for a well paid job for you or one of ya kids..............
So what if it does cost a bit more here, at least we all have GOOD jobs and our kids look like having a job when they leave school ............. and thank god we have heavy restrictions on imports of desiease infested, chemical soaked foods, at least or FARMERS have some chance for a future .... our exports will suffer badly from a high dollar and that is not a good thing ..........

When we give up on the "SMALL" guys that will struggle in times like this they will fold and close down and guess what, in move the big guys and screw us ...

AnswerID: 435852

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 14:44

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 14:44
I have to say , i like the way the USA businesses operate. Almost every site, even if the business doesnt have online sales, you almost always get a price of the product and a good description of the product, if you look up say, ARB here in OZ, you get a vague description and no prices, you have to ring them,,,,, Its nice to know you can compare products of different companies in the states without having to ring around. You can do your homework on line.

Michael
AnswerID: 435864

Reply By: Muntoo - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 17:42

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 17:42
Hey gmd pms, mate just interested i have about $1750 worth of goods coming in a few weeks, thats including frieght. All i could work out from the customs sight was that i would be paying import/customs tax which should be no more then $300.

But i didnt know about the GST. Whats that going to cost ya reckon?
AnswerID: 435876

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 18:39

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 18:39
GST is 10% so $175 but i didnt think it was paid as its not purchased in OZ.. If you have a business, you can claim the GST back... Michael
FollowupID: 707093

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 01:04

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 01:04
If the goods you are importing come from the USA there is NO IMPORT DUTY as Oz and USA have a free trade agreement. You will have to pay GST (10%) on the cost of the goods PLUS the cost of freight.

Of course you can claim GST back if you are a registered business.

Bruce.

Coming over to Oz on Tuesday if Qantas can find a plane with four engines that work.

FollowupID: 707110

Reply By: Muntoo - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 17:44

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 17:44
Also a mate got himself 4x Hella lights, from overseas, and paid $600 bucks.

Firstly though he went and checked 2 local stores and guess what they wanted $1200. So you saying he should of paid that?

What a joke.
AnswerID: 435877

Reply By: Ruffy-Dan - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 20:12

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 20:12
"It is the consumer mentality here that drives prices up. Only sell a house with a real estate agent because your too stupid or lazy to do it yourself. A whole nation depends on it .. drives prices up. Where I come from real estate agents were the absolute exception and then the buyer pays the fee .. not the vendor... that keeps the fees down. "

Where do You come from gmd? And if it's so much more "sensible" there why are you here?

Is you ideal world one where everybody works for them selves and imports everytrhingt from overseas because it's cheaper?

I personally don't think you have any understanding of business principles or consumer economics from what you have said, how i digress

As the dollar is so close to 1:1 it's a good time to buy from the states, but it wont last. Just as importers/retailers had to endure bad prices 12/18 months ago they are now enjoying good pricing.

That's how trhe world revovles!

AnswerID: 435887

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 21:19

Saturday, Nov 13, 2010 at 21:19
Hi gmd pps
You state; "Where I come from real estate agents were the absolute exception and then the buyer pays the fee. not the vendor... that keeps the fees down"
Where in the world does the purchaser pay the fee?
Not being sarcastic - I am genuinely interested
Regards Dennis
AnswerID: 435890

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 00:28

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 00:28
There is no doubt that some pofiteering occurs from time to time, and the greatest deterrent to this is competition, coupled with consumer savvy, good consumer laws, and a vigilant media.

However the 'I'll buy everything overseas if I can save a buck attitude' is both insular and not at all economically sound for any nation. Thankfully many of the 'ignorant' consumers referred to above actually understand the importance of local business, industry and skills to local communities and national economies.

Somewhat ironic though that many businesses have started up precisely because individuals couldn't get what they wanted from local manufacturers or importers. Having satisfied their own needs they then saw an opportunity to provide the goods, with local services attached, to others. Their importing business grew, so they started employing office staff, accountants, cleaners, salesmen...... You know the rest of the story I'm sure.
FollowupID: 707108

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 00:30

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 00:30
Woops, sorry for invading your post Dennis.
FollowupID: 707109

Reply By: cycadcenter - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 03:33

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 03:33
I really find it amusing reading posts like this regarding buying australian yet everyone who has posted is driving their big IMPORTED 4WD,

Firstly Australia does not have the capacity or population to support the manufacture of everything, we are a country who exports raw material and imports back manufactured goods and quite frankly do it pretty well.

As someone who has lived about 50/50 in Oz and the USA for the past 10 years both places have their advantages and disadvantages. I like both places but I still call Australia home and will be moving back permanently next year.

What I cannot understand is the markup on goods in Oz. If i buy something in the USA for say $20,000 it is about $30,000 in Oz (Currency considered) when the both are identical and come off the same production line in Japan.

Also Oz Tents are cheaper here in the USA than in Oz where they are made.

Knock Australia all you want but it is envied around the world as having the strongest economy and best standard of living.

Go figure.

Bruce

AnswerID: 435905

Follow Up By: mullyman - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 07:51

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 07:51
We had a thriving manufacturing industry in this country when our population was a third of what it is today. Oztents are made in China,like just about everything else these days. Phil.
FollowupID: 707117

Follow Up By: Witi Repartee - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 14:20

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 14:20
I've been following this thread with interest. Australia is my adopted country. However I have lived and worked in other countries.
Pricing in Australia equates to the fact it is an affluent, isolated country, dominated by duopolys, (Coles/Woolies) unofficial cartels (Oil Companies and the Banks) supported by naive politicians who are keen to promote business, but don't have a clue about maintaining competition. The effect of these collaborations is to drive prices up.

I can buy Aussie grocery products cheaper in NZ....how come the competition between Coles/Woolies isn't strong enough to overcome this discrepancy?..It's simple..they don't need to!!!
Hopefully, as this thread indicates..the internet is cracking these artificial pricing levels and will force the Australian market off it's protected status.
From my observations it is also hard to buy real Australian Made products. I have worked in manufacturing and Packaging industries, where ranges of Agricultural Chemicals and Automotive products were imported in bulk from China, India and the USA and repacked and labelled as "Proudly made in Australia."
I won't even begin to mention service standards over here in WA!!
Cheers Gerard
FollowupID: 707145

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 21:48

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 21:48
That's why ALDI is rapidly opening new stores - SO much cheaper than Coles/Woolies.
FollowupID: 707919

Reply By: OREJAP - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 09:28

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 09:28
Can you PM me regarding contact in USA for tyres I am after BFG 265 60 18's
AnswerID: 435916

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 12:00

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 12:00
Here is a link to some:

BFG Tyres
FollowupID: 707135

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 19:05

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 19:05
One thing to be aware of when buying tyres in the usa. They have a different road camber (spelling??). A mate got caught with some cooper tyres a while ago. Couldn't get his cruiser to drive straight no matter what he did. Finally got onto someone from cooper who said a batch was sent to Australia by mistake that were meant for the us road camber not Aust. Cooper replaced them free of charge and he had no more problems.

Josh
AnswerID: 435980

Follow Up By: Member - John B2 (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 19:30

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 19:30
Another fairy tale

Suspension geometry and road affects camber not tyres.

FollowupID: 707177

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 19:42

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 19:42
So my mate didn't get his tyres replaced. Is that what you are saying.
FollowupID: 707178

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 19:43

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 19:43
By the way, I get my tyres from the same tyre shop that replaced them for him for the reason he stated approved by cooper.
FollowupID: 707179

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 19:45

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 19:45
Josh - let's hope the Coopers chap got his terminology wrong. Otherwise he must think they slope/bank roads in the opposite direction to the curve in the good ole USA (might explain the number of crashes over there). Or perhaps he thinks the roads are convex to better collect the rainfall?
FollowupID: 707181

Follow Up By: Member - John B2 (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 20:02

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 20:02
Hey Josh

I did not say your mate did not get his tyre replaced.

Tyres can be directional and should only be shifted front to rear on the same side.

But the story they were made for USA not Oz is a load of crap.

In my younger days I specialised in front ends and steering problems and have done this in both right hand and left hand drive countries.

Tyre manufacturers did not make left hand or right hand drive tyres then, I will stand corrected if this now occurs.

I run USA made BFG on my cruiser no steering problems.

FollowupID: 707183

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 20:37

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 20:37
I was just relaying what I was told by my mate and the tyre guy who replaced them free of charge approved by cooper tyres. They told the tyre guy to return the tyres as they were made for the us. It's not that they were made in the us, it was they were made for the us. As I didn't talk to cooper myself I don't know that exact conversation. I bought Mickey Thompsons (made in the same place as coopers) so made in the us is not the problem.

Josh
FollowupID: 707191

Follow Up By: bigbilly - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 21:37

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 21:37
I had a similar thing happen few yrs ago. Went to buy cooper STT tyres for our 4X4 from a dealer in Melbourne. Was told they are having trouble with some tyres not running true in Australia. Not sure of reason why but decided on different tyres. He told me it was limited to the STT tyres only and he didn't have any in stock because they had been returned because of problems with them not running true. As I said they didn't say the reason for the problem.

FollowupID: 707203

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 22:11

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 22:11
So Bill,
Did the dealer return the STT tyres to cooper??? Wonder why they would return the tyres if there was no problem with them ???.

Josh

FollowupID: 707210

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 21:57

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 21:57
In 2006 from memory and there was a compound issue with STT's originating from Malaysia. It was limited to the STT's and to be on the safe side, they recalled a lot and replaced them. The side walls were slashed by the tyre businesses rather than ship them back and the tyres recycled locally. I saw more than one large pile at dealers about the mining towns like Kalgoolie and Karatha.

There is always something mentioned about the extra camber on roads in the west and top end to allow run off from the heavy rains. Makes the conditions in Oz different to most other places!!! I've heard it many a time. Almost an urban myth by now I'd reckon. ;-)

Mick

FollowupID: 707921