Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 09:02
Member - Stephen L (Clare SA)
I would like to hear from others that have purchased the Gall Brothers DVD's. I was given one to watch by a friend the other day and found it a great watch and was wondering if the others are of the same quality before I go out and buy the set for myself for a Christmas present.
Thanks for your time.
Reply By: Ozrover - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 09:17
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 09:17
Stephen,
I've been collecting the Gall boys DVDs for the last four years & they are very interesting!
The
places that these guys take their caravans has to be seen to be believed.
Some dodgy 4wd practices, but they seem to be learning as they go, watch them in order & have a laugh, shake your head & occasionally cringe!
On the same topic, have you seen Croc' Lumleys DVDs? (How Much bull can you Take etc...)?
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 13:04
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 13:04
Hi Jeff
I was very impressed with the DVD on their Fraser Island adventure. There is no way that I would drive my Prado through the salt
water like they did. It was very interesting to see them brake 2 snatch straps and rip the tow bar off.
As they say it is amazing where you can take Company Vehicles..I can read the
sign in the window at the car yard when traded in..."One owner and never been off road"
I have not seen the Croc' Lumley DVD's so I will have to keep an eye out.
You will have to contact the Gall Boys to test one of their vans out in the Simpson, as they now have their
Canning Stock Route DVD as part of the collection.
Reply By: Member - jay D (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 11:28
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 11:28
Hi Stephen
I also have the full set and find them very entertaining to watch. i will continue to collect them as they come out.
I would recommend them to you for xmas.
jay
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 12:55
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 12:55
Hi Jay
What I did see was very interesting with no punches pulled. They have the complete 8 set for $99. I will have to be a good boy and hope Father Christmas gets me what I want.
Reply By: PeterInSa - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 12:15
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 12:15
Have 6 of their DVD's enjoy what they get up to but also gives you some ideas re the
places they go to and stop offs along the way.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 12:52
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 12:52
Hi Peter
They now have 8 DVD's out @ $20 each or the complete set for $99. The one that I watched was on
Rainbow Beach and Fraser Island. You sure can take a Company Vehicles in far mare
places they your own pride and joy.
Reply By: westozal - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 13:23
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 13:23
I too have their DVDs and enjoy them.
Have watched them all numerous times and the only complaint I have is they take too long to bring out new ones.
Can recommend watching them if you like
camping,4wding and caravanning.
Regards Alan
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 13:27
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 13:27
Hi Alan
Thanks for that. What I did watch was great and just wanted to hear from others that have them all if they were all the same good fun and adventures as they complete their journey.
Thanks for your reply.
Follow Up By: newbies - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 23:51
Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 23:51
You might find the Gall Boys' 'Across the Top' and 'Far North Queensland' DVDs very compelling viewing. Agree that having Mr Toyota sponsor the trips, plus 2-4
well equipped back-up vehicles and up to 15 people in the group does give a degree of confidence most mere mortals would lack! And being able to write off damage to the caravan as R & D expenses probably helps, when you actually build the vans. Still, they have had some fantastic adventures and have gone
places many of us will never see. They genuinely seem to have fun - apart from 'Dad', who seems forever frustrated that his sons don't take his sage advice. I'm guessing, but Dad must be
well into his seventies, but he still is a mean 4WDriver! Treat the DVDs as entertainment and you wont be disappointed.
Mike and Helen
Reply By: Members Pa & Ma. - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 13:30
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 13:30
Hi Stephen,
Yes, we have one of the journey to
Cape York.
It was good, Apparently these people are just as pleasant in the flesh when you do business with them.
I'd like to see the C.S.R. one. Some of those sand hills with that caravan????????????? Father & son would be a great laugh.
I can just see it, " I told him! but he wouldn't listen!"
We were talking to some one who'd bought one of their vans, spoke very highly of them but said that the van that they take on these jaunts isn't the same.
Without being awful she said that the jaunt van is very modified!
At present we're buying these 4by maggos.
You get 2 for the price 1, plus a free D.VD. It's called Action 4 wheel drive.
They come in a sealed bag. $9.95 I think, Hubby buys them.
It has Roothy's tips. Some of the reading is Rev head stuff. Otherwise both book & videos are great. Great sense of humor the bloke doing the video talking.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye, Ma.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:36
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:36
Hi Ma
Thanks for that. Like most things like you have mentioned, there is no way of telling if there vans are beefed up for their test runs or stock standard from their showroom.
Yes we have watched many of Roothy's DVD's and they are a good watch most of the time.
Follow Up By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 05:54
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 05:54
I've enjoyed most of the 4WD Action DVD's.
Until the last one when the lads ripped the
Hay River Track to shreds after some very heavy rain.....
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 07:59
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 07:59
Hi Michael
Not just the
Hay River Track. When you have a good look at most of the 4WD Action DVD's, they do not promote responsible four wheel driving, driving on tracks that are closed due to rain damage, eg
Cape York tracks, tracks around
Coffs Harbour and when they took the camper trailers on one of their tests when it was as wet as hell just to say that they could get from point A to Point B.
Sure they have had some very good productions in the past but lately they seem to be scraping the barrel and it is about time that they had a good look at what they are promoting. After all, once you stuff up access to any good area it is always put down to "The Hoon 4X4 Tag" and that is what they promote.
Just my thoughts.
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 08:06
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 08:06
Amen Stephen. 4x4 Action has also up'd it's annual issue quota from 12 to 15 meaning they have to stretch it to another three issues. I've already noticed a drop in quality within the Mag and more of the "Roothy gives you 10
recipes for soy sausages" type articles rather than the quality comparo's we've come to expect. Latest mag had in bold headlines on the cover "Travel - The remote Gibson and Great Sandy Deserts". I got all excited only to find it was a wander up the
Gary Junction Road and onto the Wapet up to 80 mile towing the kids and a camper. Sigh. No good will come of it as far as Mag quality is concerned.
Follow Up By: Dazmit - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 11:28
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 11:28
I've had a good look at a few of the trip vans when they return and they don't look beefed up to their standard vans. They usually try out new products or ideas however they are often smaller than what most people order ie 16' long and 7' wide rather than 19'6" X 7'6" which a lot of their customers seem to order.
The DVD's are very entertaining viewing and are cheap for what they are.
Darryl
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 13:08
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 13:08
Hi Darryl
Great to see you are seen them after the ventures and good to know that they are standard.
Yes for $99 including postage for the 8 DVD's I personally that they are very good value and looking forward to watching them all on those real hot days when it is too hot to go outside.
Thanks for your reply.
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:44
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:44
Hi Stephen,
We've not seen the
Hay River one and have commented on the way they must make a hell of a mess but we love the scenery and didn't realize that they were traveling on closed roads in the few we've seen.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye, Ma.
Reply By: westozal - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 13:38
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 13:38
Hi Stephen,
Look I should add that the DVD,s start in 1998 from memory so will be a bit out of date but still entertaining to watch and you will see an evolution in their equipment.
I would buy the whole set, start watching the earlier ones then move to the later dvd,s.
From memory 1998 earliest then 2000, 2003...dont quote me lol.
Regards alan
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:38
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:38
Hi Alan
When Father Christmas gives them to me, I will make sure that I watch them in order.
Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 14:14
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 14:14
Stephen Hi,
When I was in the market for a new van about 4 years ago (still at tyre kicking stage) as an incentive to get me back was given the then set of 6. Didn't convince me to buy a Kedron though.
Mike.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:41
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:41
Hi Michael
I am not in the market for a new van, I just liked watching the DVD and it was good to compare what they did to when we went to Fraser. How they did not get caught out on the rocks at
Rainbow Beach even had their dad cross on the DVD.
Thanks for your reply.
Reply By: Member - Robbo (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 15:14
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 15:14
Some of the early ones( ie
Kimberley) were a bit dodgy in quality and a touch amateurish but the later HD ones are really interesting and entertaining.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:45
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:45
Hi Robbo
It will be good to see how they have changed over the years and the scenery on them all should be great.
Reply By: Cruisevessel - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 17:34
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 17:34
I've got the full set of dvd's.
Me and my missus watch them all the time, we love em. have also got there t shirts,stubbie coolers and hats. We make an effort to catch up with them at the
Brisbane caravan show every year. They are a lovely family and are a very down to earth bunch.I guess they remind me very much of my own family and the antics we get up to when we go away together.
Now just working away to being able to afford a Topender to complete the package...........
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:44
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:44
Hi Cruisevessel
It was good to see that it was a real family affair when they were out testing even including their uncle as part of the group.
Thanks for your reply.
Reply By: BrownyGU - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 18:55
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 18:55
Stephen,
Mate get'em all you'll love'em, as has been mentioned, the quality of the later ones gets better and more professional, but they don't lose that knockabout way of filming and taking the pi55 out of each other, maybe not the most environmentally consciouse DVD's or safety first, but very relatable I reckon!
Browny
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:50
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:50
Hi Browny
We really enjoyed the Fraser DVD and I like the way that they did not take any notice of their dad. I bet dad gave them a good telling off when he saw what they did when watching the film footage himself.
They were very lucky when the snatch straps broke and lucky no one was hurt.
Thanks for your reply.
Reply By: i'machocoholic - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 17:16
Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 17:16
Hi Stephen,
I actually bought the set for my other half, but I love it just as much as him....I must also say I'm a bit of a sucker for "Hollywood" (David Gall)....the antics between him and his Dad are a hoot!
Our set also came with a couple of CDs - one of Tania Kernaghan and the other Matt James. As a result, I've now bought another 3 Matt James CDs as his music IMO is brilliant. A great Aussie talent and I can't wait to see him next year when we're in QLD.
So, the question is...have you been good for Santa???
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 22:18
Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 22:18
Love your screen name.
I have been a good boy,
well that's what I am sticking with and will be getting a set.
Thanks for your reply.