Sat Phone question?

Just purchased a second hand Iridium 9555 Sat Phone, and I'm not sure if you need to put the Country code (61) in front of the numbers I want to store/use ?

eg: If I want to store the RFDS number for WA do I store it as 61 08 9417 6389 or just 08 9417 6389 ?

On there web site it just has Satellite phone calls 08 etc no mention of the country code of 61.

But the phone literature seems to indicate placing the +61 in front of any number?

The phone is not yet connected to any network so I can't just try it and see.

Cheers......Browny

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 18:57

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 18:57
Dont know about a 9555 but on my 9505 I just dialed the number, like when

on the Nullabor I had to ring Ceduna so just put the number in and got

connected. Cant remember if I put area code or not but wouldnt hurt.

A S/H 9555 already they've only been out since about June.

AnswerID: 436169

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:30

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:30
Graham,

Cheers Mate,

You had me second guessing, but I just checked the web site and it's definately the 9555, but I was under the impression it was at least 12 months old, but maybe not?

Browny
FollowupID: 707359

Reply By: Member - RobnJane(VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 18:57

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 18:57
Hi Browny,

This is an easy one, - yes, you need to include country code. At least that's the way we get ours to work!

Rob.
RobnJane

AnswerID: 436170

Follow Up By: OzTroopie - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:23

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:23
Hi Rob,

Unfortunately it isn't an easy one. It depends on the Sim/Network you're using.

On an Iridium plan we were using, it was not necessary to use country code. Some other plans do require it.

Best bet is to wait until you have a SIM/ plan before you start programming in numbers - not as if your going to be able to use it int he meantime.
FollowupID: 707355

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:45

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:45
Thanks Oz and Rob,

I'm thinking of going with TR Telecom, thats who the mob I bought it from suggested I go with.

(Telsat in seaford)
FollowupID: 707367

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 22:54

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 22:54
Hi Browny

I will go with TR Telecom when we activate ours next time; more flexibility to cancel and reactivate without penalty fees than with Telstra, with plan and call costs the same. My phone says 9505A on the brochure. We purchased it new in 2008 and had it on Iridium with Telstra. I never put international codes in - I just dialled the numbers eg 08976xxxxx.

FollowupID: 707381

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:46

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:46
Thanks MH,

It may well be a carrier thing, as someone mentioned, maybe with TR Telecom the +61 is required, I was put off Satphones a couple years back because of the rediculouse monthly rates but the TR rates seem much better!

Cheers.......Browny
FollowupID: 707454

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:03

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:03
Hi Browny

No doubt you have read here of the success people have with using the SIM card from their mobile phone (when on a plan so they can activate international roaming)?

We only have pre-paid phones which get very little use anyway so couldn't activate international roaming, so we purchased the sat phone (full price UGH) and went on the Telstra $30 per month plan which includes $10 worth of calls per month. As it was for emergencies only we took the cheapest monthly charge which has the dearest call rates. When i compared, TR Telecom prices were identical, but no penalty for cancellation or reactivation - you just get a new number with the new connection, or can pay $15 per month with no service to retain the number. TRT have a minimum connection period of four months. As we haven't needed the phone - not gone on holidays :( since last year - i haven't tried TRT yet, so will remember about the numbers as i wasn't aware of that until your thread.

Mh

FollowupID: 707459

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 19:03

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 19:03
Mh,

Thanks , certainly some food for thought and some options at least

Browny
FollowupID: 707594

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:08

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:08
BrownyGU

It depends on the plan / SIM you are using.

If you use a Telstra SIM then no you don't need the country code but you will need the area code.

If you use a differnet SIM, like a TR telecom one then yes you will need the county code except for 000.
AnswerID: 436173

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:30

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:30
Was a thread the other day that said you cant use a Telstra sim in one of these

Dont shoot me merely repeating what was posted.

If you could thats the way to try it.

FollowupID: 707358

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 23:15

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 23:15
Graham

There is a link (in that thread?) to a Youtube video of a young guy actually loading a Telstra sim into a 9555 and using the phone. Watched part of it (3 parts from memory). Probably posted after you read it.

FollowupID: 707384

Follow Up By: Member - baffle (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 23:23

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 23:23
I also just bought a secondhand Iridium 9505A with all the accessories on ebay for $715. I thought it was a good deal!
The thread you saw earlier definately did show that you can use your Telstra NextG sim card to operate the phone. That's what I plan to do on the infrequent occasions when I will need it.
Apparently calls cost about $4.00 per minute that way - no contract or other fees I understand. Hope this is correct as it is only for emergencies.
FollowupID: 707387

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 07:59

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 07:59
Yes we know you can in a 9505A as dozens of us have that model but the new 9555 is different.

This has been hashed about unendingly on here however you a Telsta Sim ON A PLAN and internationally roamed to be able to do that and my calls cost $3.77 a minute some have had different charges.

I didnt see the Utube clip as I have lost interest in the subject.

FollowupID: 707395

Follow Up By: Member - baffle (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 10:17

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 10:17
Graham H, is it necessary to be sarcastic in responding to a remark by a relatively new member. If you had bothered to look at the Utube post you would know that it is possible to use a Telstra NextG sim in the 9555 phone even though it is different to the 9505. If you have, as you say, lost interest in the subject, why say anything? Maybe the moderators should censor responses from negative migrants such as yourself. Have a nice day.
FollowupID: 707409

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 10:35

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 10:35
I wasnt actually intending to be sarcastic but the subject has been posted about once a week for ages so is not new.

I said that I was the messenger and had only read it couldnt.

I did offer some correct advice about how to use the phone

I misspelled I meant I HAD lost interest before the Utube pic was posted.

What has being a migrant got to do with anything.

Being a bit nasty there I thought. At least I entered the country legally unlike a lot of others who are here.

FollowupID: 707414

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 10:38

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 10:38
Graham, I can't recall ever saying you can't use a Tesltra SIM in a 9555. I have never seen a 9555 so I wouldn't know if it actually works or not, though my guess would be that it would work.

Can you please point me to the thread where you say I claimed that. What I would have said is that a Telstra Mobile SIM in an Iridium phone is false economy unless you never leave the Sat phone on, even though it does work. If I said anything else then it must have been a typo
FollowupID: 707415

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 11:03

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 11:03
I didnt say you did. Did I.

I said there was a thread a while ago that someone said they didnt think you could use one in a 9555.

As per above Quote:-

"Was a thread the other day that said you cant use a Telstra sim in one of these

Dont shoot me merely repeating what was posted." Unquote

Where does that infer I was referring to you????????

I dont have one and in fact have sold my 9505A.

Must be the heat or something today.

FollowupID: 707416

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 11:27

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 11:27
Sorry Graham I though you were implying that I said that.
FollowupID: 707423

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 11:36

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 11:36

Dont worry its amazing how many dont read what is written and see what they think is there

Me included sometimes

FollowupID: 707425

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:54

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 17:54
DING DING DING,

Now take a deep breath and go back to ya corners, I don't want this thread to disapear without knowing the truth.!!!!!!

lol

Cheers.......Browny
FollowupID: 707456

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:26

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:26
G'day Browny,

I am not sure about a SAT Phone but I fly all over the world in my job & have a mobile with international roaming so I have a + & country codes in front of ALL my numbers. Even the Aussie ones.

This is the correct format for the number you gave in your post.
+61 8 9417 6389. Note that the + dials the IDD code for the country your travelling in & you have to drop the leading zero including the leading zero off a mobile number as well.

For example mobile number for say NZ would be
+64 447 123 456.

Stuart
AnswerID: 436175

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:38

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:38
Cheers, Bushy,

So Just drop the 0's and wack in the +61, I must admit each time I went to store a number the phone all ready had the + sign.

Cheers.....Browny
FollowupID: 707364

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:53

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 19:53
Thats it. You got it.
FollowupID: 707370

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:51

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:51
If you're using a Telstra SIMcard in an Iridium phone only in Australia you just dial numbers exactly as you would on a mobile phone within Australia - "02 9123 xxxx", "0412 xxxx xxxx".
FollowupID: 707902

Reply By: Member - Robbo (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 22:39

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 22:39
I have just got a second hand Iridium9505. The information that came from Iridium suggests that to dial out to a landline it is as an international call ie 00 61 8... then your WA number as desired - international assess code ( 00) then country code ( 61 for Australia ) then area code minus the zero - then actual number.
AnswerID: 436190

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:02

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:02
Robbo,

Thats the impression I got from my phone also, I also think you can substitute the 00 with the + symbol, but the flying doctors website makes no mention of adding any international numbers for satphones just the area code !

Cheers.......Browny
FollowupID: 707458

Follow Up By: Member - Barry P (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 20:50

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 20:50
i also have a 9505 you are right on with the numbers you are dialling to make a call
FollowupID: 707610

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:46

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:46
The info provided by Iridium is totally useless if you're using a Telstra SIMcard - you just dila numbers exactly as you would on a mobile phone within Australia.
FollowupID: 707901

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 22:56

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 22:56
I'm not that familiar with the 61 format

"If I want to store the RFDS number for WA do I store it as 61 08 9417 6389 or just 08 9417 6389"

but wouldn't it be 618 9417 6389?

Mh

AnswerID: 436193

Follow Up By: Member - Robbo (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 23:09

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2010 at 23:09
Through the Iridium satellite system the number would have to be prefixed by the international access code either+ or 00 then 61 for Australia then 894176389 ( dropping the zero of area code)
FollowupID: 707383

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 22:39

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 22:39
Muvver, +618.............. for Western Australia, just so Telstra knows you are phoning Australia
FollowupID: 707926

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 22:57

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 22:57
Hi John

Yes, that was what i was saying. On our Telstra plan I just dialled normal numbers. It seems it will be different when we go with TRT. What about Robbo's answer about putting 00 before the 61?

Interesting that when we were in Bali i wasn't going to take my mobile as i can't get international roaming on the pre paid. I dropped it in the bottom of my cabin luggage, and discovered by chance that it worked just the same as when in Australia on the normal numbers with no prefixes. Cost of text and calls slightly higher.

Mh

Suntne vacci laeti

FollowupID: 707928

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 23:38

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 23:38
Muvver, the '+' is the substitute to the 0011 that we would normally dial. You just press and hold to get the +. I am interested that you got through all right without the national didgits.
FollowupID: 707936

Reply By: Member - Aaron L (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 08:20

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 08:20
Hi Browny
I have the new(ish) 9555 Satphone but use a post paid Telstra NextG sim works a treat - just need international roaming enabled. I also at first had a prob where the phone would only ring once then divert to message bank. A quick call to Telstra to disable or extend the call divert time fixed that.

Cheap $10 a month plan and only needed in emergencies or the quick ph call to touch base with family while travelling, Call charges are about $3 a min in and out. cheers Aaron
AnswerID: 436208

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:09

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:09
Aaron,

Really, just use a pre paid Next G sim on a cheap Monthly plan?

Man that seems the way to go!

Cheers..........Browny
FollowupID: 707461

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:43

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:43
Just to clear up things this is what you have to do to use a TELSTRA sim in a Sat fone

It has to be ON A PLAN NOT PREPAID, they wont work

It also has to have international roaming enabled.

I had one for 2 1/2 years and total cost was $3.77 exactly

I only used it when needed for emergencies as we had another mobile for people to ring us on.

There is or was a few months ago a $10 a month Casual 12 month plan that should work.

Calls cost between $3.50 and $4 a minute BOTH INWARD AND OUTWARD.
The inward charge is for the Iridium charge for diverting to the Satfone.

As Motherhen says there are other providors who you can turn on and off.

I only ever used area codes and numbers and never the country code, just as if you were dialling from any home phone.

If you have two mobiles put the sim from the one that gets rung the least and tell friends not to ring it EVER till you get home from any trip.

As said later in this thread and obviously in the other one I got flayed for, the sim does work in a 9555.

So get a sim and try it doesnt have to be yours, just ring a phone you have in the house but dont answer it if it rings.

Another thing I found I could send texts to friends on other networks but could NOT RECEIVE from them.

EG Optus and Vodafone.
I think that covers it all.

Others who travel remote places prefer to have an always on phone but we didnt need it except in a couple of places where we were without mobile coverage for an extended time.

It is of course awkward to change a sim if you are upside down in a ditch or similar. hopefully you will have done it earlier.

Cheers and hope that clarifies things

FollowupID: 707466

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:50

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2010 at 18:50
Browny GU

As i was saying to Boobook people read what they want into a post

From the reply above from Aaron

"I have the new(ish) 9555 Satphone but use a post paid Telstra NextG sim works a treat - just need international roaming enabled"

And your followup

"Really, just use a pre paid Next G sim on a cheap Monthly plan"

Different animals.

FollowupID: 707468

Follow Up By: Bongo Fury- Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 15:24

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 15:24
Graham is absolutely spot on with his assessment. Were you aware Graham that you can access 112 with a satphone without any kind of sim, just the same as a mobile. Handy for emergency calling but useless for anything else.

I prefer to have a plan which is with TRT and have had it for nearly six years.
With TRT you need to dial the country code, the area code and finally the number.

Bongo
FollowupID: 707575

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 16:25

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 16:25
Yes i was but never had to use it.

Even cellphones can do that I think but MUST BE IN RECEPTION OF A TOWER.

It has been posted and even told to emergency workers that dialling 112 from a cell phone ANYWHERE would work.

What a load of rubbish and the organisation had to quick smart retract that.

No signal no workie quite simple.

EXCEPT if you had an old Ericsson (690) Dual mode???? that also worked on Globalstar ( If it was working at the time and you were facing the right way and grimacing at the time)

Anyway hopefully BrownyGU has sorted the difference between Post Paid and Prepaid and his will now work.

FollowupID: 707582

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 19:17

Thursday, Nov 18, 2010 at 19:17
Graham,

Mate, Thanks very much for your detailed and informative post, and also for pointing out my mistake in Aarons post, I actually read it right but just assumed he ment Pre-Paid, but obviously not.

I'm thinking the TR Telecom active sim is the way to go, as you mentioned trying to find/fit a sim in an emergency situation would surely do my head in.

Thanks all, I reckon we might have got there!!!

Cheers......Browny
FollowupID: 707596

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 20:48

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 20:48
Graham

while you say the following

"It has been posted and even told to emergency workers that dialling 112 from a cell phone ANYWHERE would work.
What a load of rubbish and the organisation had to quick smart retract that. "

Agreed that if there is no provider where you are AT ALL, then it won't work. BUT Even if you have no service, dialling 112 can work, and in an emergency it should be attempted and will work if there is alternative carrier coverage.

For example, if you are on a network with no coverage ( say Vodafone) and no bars, and Telstra has coverage in that area, then you can make an emergency call using 112 but not with 000.

FollowupID: 707908

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 21:38

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 21:38
I initially said
Even cellphones can do that I think, but MUST BE IN RECEPTION OF A TOWER.

I didnt say your providors tower.

I followed that up by saying, No signal no workie

Which is quite correct

I know that an alternative carrier will pick up 112 but the organisation who shall remain nameless stated it WOULD WORK ANYWHERE

IT WONT.

As stated it will only work if it has access to A TOWER, ANY TOWER.

Yes you should try it but might be a bit hopeless in the middle of the Simpson or half way between Broome and Port Hedland

My phone tells me which carriers are available whether I am a subscriber to them or not.

FollowupID: 707917

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 22:12

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 22:12
I believe it will do that without a sim but havent tried it.

FollowupID: 707923

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 09:56

Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 09:56
Also works on a prepaid that has run out of credit.

My Iphone can be set to Auto in the network screen and will then pick up whatever is available.

If there is nothing there will be no hope.

The phone manufacturers, I believe are required to allow this number to be dialled regardless of the preceding conditions..

FollowupID: 707953

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 08:18

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 08:18
G'day, with a sat phone the +61 is better for all numbers as the satellite does not know what part of the world you are in.
(Pivotel network uses the same satellites as iridium Telstra etc. but only charge one way.) regards
AnswerID: 436427

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:49

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:49
Thanks Dingo
FollowupID: 707863

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:53

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:53
The satellite knows where it is as it has the ability to route calls to other Iridium satellites around the world and then to the number you want. So If its over Australia it would know to dial an Aussie number without the prefix.
On all the times I have tested my phone I have never used anything but the area code and number..

no longer have the phone so cant check to verify the fact.

FollowupID: 707864

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 16:07

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 16:07
Hello, if your'e travelling between countries I would have thought the +61 would take any doubt out of routing the number, the +61 is free to enter it on all your numbers, no doubt.
FollowupID: 707879

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 16:56

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 16:56
If you are yes, but as most of the thread has been about using them on a trip

around Australia, then if so you don't really need to include that.

If checking the Aussie road conditions on the West Coast from a foreign country then yes. LOL

FollowupID: 707882

Follow Up By: Bongo Fury- Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 11:03

Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 11:03
If you are with TRT you need to use +61.
BF
FollowupID: 707959