Which Vehicle
Submitted: Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 13:46
Ray&Maurs
We are looking at purchasing a second hand Patrol or Navara to tow a van around Oz any help whould be appreciated
Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 13:50
Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 13:50
What size and weight is the caravan (TARE and fully loaded)?
Follow Up By: Ray&Maurs - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:37
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:37
Maximum 2500kg and about 95% bituman
Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 15:05
Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 15:05
Hi Ray & Maurs
One question, are you going to stay on bitumen or will you be doing off road as
well ?
Reply By: ben_gv3 - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 15:05
Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 15:05
You are aware of the notoriety of the 3l diesel Patrols aren't you?
Follow Up By: Ray&Maurs - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:38
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:38
Not at all but willing to learn
Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 15:21
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 15:21
Search for "grenade" in this
forum and spend the next few weeks reading.
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 15:34
Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 15:34
And what year models were you looking at? Or is it a price thing.
Any particular reason why a Patrol or Navara? plenty of other vehicles that can do the job, depending on what you want it to do. Or have you already got the van?
As Motherhen said, "What size and weight Van" this can make a big difference in the type of horse power you need, besides, how much gear do you expect to carry/tow.
Marc is also right to ask if you intend to go 'Off Road" or are you going to stick to the black top?
ben_gv3, Yep the 3lt has got a nasty reputation for going bang.
And of cause, are you going to modify it to suit your needs, add all the bells and whistles later or buy one that has it all?
Hmmm.
Follow Up By: Ray&Maurs - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:41
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:41
Hope to get out of it for around $35000 and if a chip is required then again I would be looking for help as this is all new to us, Thanks heaps
Reply By: Member - mazcan - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 15:46
Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 15:46
hi ray & maurs
this is a lesson for you in asking a question on this site and not suppyling any basic imfo on which the answers can be based
there is a swag of imfo availuble but you need to supply more facts before you will get the answers you need
i'm not having a go at you just pointing out what is needed and why
have a re-think and give it a go and you will be pleasantly rewarded
Reply By: Member - dave e (QLD) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 18:10
Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 18:10
hi ray ive got a 2007/2008 3ltr common rail rodeo,same as d max,and same engine as colorado,mate these things are awesome and reasonably priced,as long as you service them these things are bullet proof to 500000km,a much better engine than the nissan,its a izuzu 4jj engine,do some research ,you will be surprised
Follow Up By: Member - dave e (QLD) - Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 18:12
Friday, Nov 19, 2010 at 18:12
oh yeh .theyve also got a 3 tonne towing capacity
Follow Up By: Ray&Maurs - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:43
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:43
Thanks for that will be looking at the Izuzu now
Follow Up By: Member - dave e (QLD) - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:59
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:59
hi ray,i think youll find the colorados are a much better deal as they are higher spec vehicles and cheaper in price(pretty much the same vehicle,different badge and very little else)drive them both i did, the only difference is price and with the aussie dollar so high and with a new model just out,you can get a good deal on a 2010 model,,,,just wish i had the money to upgrade
Reply By: Member - Desert Storm (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 00:16
Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 00:16
Gday Ray,
Up until about a month ago, i used to have a '98 Nissan Patrol. 2.8 liter turbo. I bought a Cape your CT, and was a bit sluggish up hills etc. but still good in the bush in low. To overcome this sluggishness, i installed a DP chip which really made a difference. you still cant pull low 10's over the 1/
4 mile, but it definately relieved the frustration of towing with a stock engine. the DP chip when tuned properly really does work.
Follow Up By: winch nomads - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 19:06
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 19:06
A bit confussed, what ia a "Cape your CT" ?