A relatively new member

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 10:45
ThreadID: 82588 Views:5931 Replies:14 FollowUps:27

It has been rightly pointed out to me that I never "introduced" myself to the forumites,even though I have been a member for a few months, so here goes.

Marc Luther is actually my name (first two names). I am a 51 year old married ex soldier, and I will not discuss my military service. I hold a Science degree from Murdoch University, which basically means I can read and write well enough to communicate. By trade I am a boilermaker, and regularly travel from Mulan to Kununurra for work, so the Tanami track is almost like a home driveway for me, as is the top end of the CSR.

I live in Mulan Aboriignal Community. My greatest love is this country called Australia, and although I am not Aboriginal, my wife is a tribal Kukutja/Martu woman.

I am blessed that I have been, except for my military service, in the Great Sandy Desert for the best part of 30 years, and went through Aboriginal Lore many years ago. I have learnt to hunt, track, find water and bush food (fruit, nuts and berries), and greatly value every chance to sit and listen to Elders, both black and white, to learn from their life experiences.

My life policy is "When you wake up in the morning it is a good day, when you learn something new it is a great day".

Cheers all and have a great weekend.
Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: Diesel 'n Dust - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 11:55

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 11:55
Good morning Marc Luther!

I remember recently you posted a story about helping some folk who were stranded out your way. It's people like you that made me want to live and explore The Pilbara and beyond. I bought my Cruiser for the purpose of the CSR and many other trips. And the occasional roo shoot!

I worked in the Heritage Dept for FMG for 3 years and the mob taught me heaps and I'll never forget them. Actually I'm still mates with them. I loved working with the old people on surveys as each billy tea time they spoke about their early days on the stations. Some were from Jigalong but most reside in Port Hedland.
They love a good yarn.

But I now live in Perth and have turned into a 'Fly in Fly out' worker. I'd rather live up there! I'm from Melbourne but I haven't lived there since 2000. Living in the Pilbara were some of my days yet

Again it's folk like you that make that portion of Australia so beautiful! Hopefully my girl & I may cross paths with you and your wife one day.

Pleased to meet you Marc Luther.

Matthew

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

AnswerID: 436444

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 13:56

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 13:56
Hi Matthew

I know Jigalong extremely well, I have travelled extewnsively from there all the way through to Kununurra and rarely saw any bitumen, as we use back tracks mostly.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 707747

Reply By: Ozrover - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 11:57

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 11:57
Gerday Marc Luther,

Welcome from the Simpson Desert, I have been an EXOZ member on & off for a few years & there are a great mob of people on the forum, everyone has differing amounts of experience & opinions.

I've been watching some of your threads with amusement & thought that I could best contribute by keeping quiet! Some others need to learn when it's best to do the same.

Look after yourself & family & I hope to get up your way eventually, If your in this part of the great brown then drop in for a cuppa & say gerday!

AnswerID: 436445

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 13:58

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 13:58
Hi Ozrover

Sounds like I may have said something that has offended you, if that happens please a MM, as that is not something I want to do.

Hopefully one dayu we can sit, have a cuppa and a chat, that would be good.

FollowupID: 707748

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:23

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:23
Gerday again Marc Luther,

"Sounds like I may have said something that has offended you" Not a chance mate! I was referring to some of the adverse comments from others on your post about helping out the "travellers".

I have the utmost respect for anyone who lives in an even more remote place than we do, as well as being an ex-serviceman (my father was in the Natio's & father in law was a WO1 when he left the army).

We have been criticised on occasion for how much we charge for recoveries, locally & in the Simpson Desert.

People don't take into account what it costs us to provide this service, i.e: time away from performing our normal duties, wear & tear on the vehicles, personal risk etc...

So not offended at all just trying to say gerday!

FollowupID: 707755

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:31

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:31
Hi again Ozrover

Your father in law an ex WO1, I reckon you'd have to block your ears when he starts calling out. I have always been convinced they are picked for the loudness of their voice.

My apologies for misunderstanding what you said my friend.

Have a great weekend.

FollowupID: 707758

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 18:10

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 18:10
A lot of us have both of you to thank as a lot of eo members do traverse through your part of the country. Most don't need recovering but its a nice feeling to know there is good folk out there if the worst dose happen Good job.

Sharon
FollowupID: 707778

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 21:08

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 21:08
Hi Sharon (or do you prefer Old Girl)

I agree, most don't need recovering thankfully as most plan proficiently for their travels. The biggest problem people have these days, with the heat now, is that they let their tyres down a bit and seem to forget that the hot sand is going to inflate their tyres during the day. Unfortunately they don't regularly check the pressure, and suddenly the heat blows the tyre, and notmalty more than just one tyre.

Safe travels

FollowupID: 707801

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 23:07

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 23:07
Old Girl is the car. Even though I feel pretty old most of the time. It will be new girl I suppose when I put our new car image on.
FollowupID: 707818

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 23:12

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 23:12
HI Sharon

You have my sincerest apologies for making such a remark, I intended no offence at all.

FollowupID: 707820

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 23:35

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 23:35
No not at all, its all good.
FollowupID: 707822

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 12:20

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 12:20
Gday Marc,
Im pretty sure we have met before? Cant think were, but Im sure we have crossed paths over the years. I lived in Alice for 20 odd years...(till I saw the light and headed West).....I used to work at CAT so possibly met you through work....

Anyway Gday........Cheers
AnswerID: 436447

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:00

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:00
Hi Hairy

CAT sounds very familiar. I operated a 12F on the Tanami for a while, between the Balgo turn off and the NT Border, and took the grader into Mulan to get it serviced by a fella from CAT. Could that have been you ?

FollowupID: 707750

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:10

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:10
Na mate...wrong CAT.... Center for Appropriate Technology
FollowupID: 707753

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:33

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:33
Hi Hairy

Yes we have met, I am rattling my brains now trying to remember where and when, but Centre for Appropriate Technology definitely rings a bell.

FollowupID: 707759

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 13:36

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 13:36
Hi again Marc, how did you go with those Tyres n rims..... any takers yet

I have the same "policy" ..... "IF" i wake up it is a good day, if i get up it gets better .....
AnswerID: 436452

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 13:54

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 13:54
Hi Joe n Mel n Kids

The rims were picked up when I met the owners on the Tanami, and they even gave me two slabs of Coke Zero which went down a treat, and some lollies for my grandkids.

FollowupID: 707746

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 22:25

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 22:25
good to hear a good ending, i guess it is getting quite again now the heat is back up and clouds are raining, getting very quite here at Doomadgee, one caravan yesterday, the first for 2 weeks, we were getting 4-6 a day back 6 weeks ago and now only 1-2 tourists a day if we are lucky, getting ready for the wet now and stocking up .........
FollowupID: 707815

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 23:10

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 23:10
Hi Joe n Mel n Kids

You are quite correct, things are slowing down. We had a really lovely couple through today, a young couple doing their honeymoon with a years tour around Australia. Unfortunately the shop had already closed, but I was able to give them enough provisions to get them through to Halls Creek, and they politely accepted it as a belated Wedding Gift.

We have been heaps of cloud cover, but it is serving unfortunately to hold the heat in, we made it to 44 deg today, so not too bad.

Build that stock up and get ready, with the La Nina in effect now, we are not looking forward to teh wet this year.

FollowupID: 707819

Reply By: Diesel 'n Dust - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:01

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 14:01
Back tracks!

That's the true and only way of seeing this Great Land of Ours!!!

Bitumen gets boring, very boring.

Take care

Matthew

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

AnswerID: 436455

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:25

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 16:25
Hi again Matthew

It is also on mthe backtracks where all the rockholes are, and in some of them, the water is so cold and fresh that it is incredible. More than half of them are in caves, and without knowing where to look, and which trees and or plants to look for, one may never find them.

Of course at sunrise and sunset the majority of birds and animals head for water, so they are always a good indicator as well.

FollowupID: 707768

Reply By: Rick and Kerrie - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 17:16

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 17:16
Gday Marc.

I don't post here very often but I do follow the forum regularly and I find your posts about the most interesting. I am envious of the life you lead.
We are planning on leaving in about 18 months to tour this great country and I hope our paths will cross and we can have a bit of a yarn.
With regards to the travelers you helped out recently I had a bit of a chuckle and wondered if they would have acted differently if they had known who they were dealing with.
I don't mean you I mean your wife, any woman who can dispatch an animal with a rubber thong that an ex army bloke can't handle with a rifle is not a woman to be taken lightly.

Thanks for the interesting insight to life in your part of the country.

Cheers Rick.
AnswerID: 436468

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:50

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:50
Hi Ric

Yes you are correct, even I do not mess with my wife when she gets into that kind of mood.

FollowupID: 707793

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 17:49

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 17:49
H Marc, good to hear from you. With your experience you will be able to make a vgery valuable contrution to this forum. I will be listening out for you. Cheers
AnswerID: 436470

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:51

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:51
Hi George

My contriubutions will be of equal value to anyone elses my friend, but I wiull try now and then to give a positive contribution.

FollowupID: 707794

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 18:24

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 18:24
Just an observation about you Marc Luther!! and I hope you don't mind. I've been reading & following your posts since you first appeared on this site & always find your experiences & lifestyle interesting & I'm envious of it.

But now to my "observation"!! Many people, myself included, sometimes can be abrasive when replying, either verbally or otherwise, to a comment that offends or annoys us or we simply disagree with.

I think all of us have at times have met a person who in face to face verbal conversation are able to project themselves in a non aggressive, gentle & positive manner, regardless of the circumstances. They are a pleasure to know & communicate with.

To be able to project yourself, as you do, via the type written word and come across with a gentle, firm & congenial attitude I think a special quality that not too many people possess.

So again, I would like to state that I'm envious of your lifestyle as well as not possessing this to be much admired quality that you possess, so "Onyer" & take care.
AnswerID: 436473

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:56

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:56
Hi Barry

We will have to agree to disagree there my friend. I possess no special quality that is different from anyone else, I am just another bloke in the bush.

I confess that I once read a verse called Desiderata, and found then (in my teens) that it was an astonishing verse and it should be the constitution of every country on the planet. I simply believe that every is equal, and every has the right to their lives, opinions and a peaceful existence.

I am not rel;igious, just another person who enjoys all forms of life, especially my birds and dogs.

FollowupID: 707795

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 21:10

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 21:10
Barry

My apologies, that should read everyone is equal, and everyone has the right to their own lives.

FollowupID: 707802

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:18

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:18
Hi Mark,
Wish we had met you when we were up that way. My girls aged 7 and 9 now both hate living in a house. They love the outdoors and love the bush life. It would have been an awesome expirience for them to see the kind of life you live. Our girls loved staying at the staions and places like that. Sounds like you know some pretty amazing spots. I always said to people, the best places to see aren't on any tourist map.
I love your life policy.

Josh
AnswerID: 436482

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:59

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:59
Hi Josh

Your girls sound like they could have an amazing future, good on them. You are right in stating that the best places are not on tourists maps, as they are simply what the viewers eyes see at the time. I have seen some absolutely amazing sunsets, where the clouds, dropping sun and horizon were simply perfect, but one just had to be there at the right time.

FollowupID: 707796

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:39

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 20:39
Hi Marc Luther,
I too have come to appreciate your posts on this forum. Your "real life" experience is something that many of us envy, in a good way, you are living our dream!

My life policy is very similar to yours... I feel every day I wake up is a good day! And I too love to learn something new.

One day we hope to be visiting your neck of the woods, and I would love to meet you and your family when we do!

AnswerID: 436485

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 21:03

Saturday, Nov 20, 2010 at 21:03
Hi Brian

Ihave finally had the chance to look at the "Conway Kids". That is nothing short of amazing, what is being done their, and I sincerely hope that you push for a meeting there, as my goodness they could do with the financial lift and support.

I would be really happy to meet with you guys one day and share a cuppa and a yarn.

FollowupID: 707798

Reply By: TerraFirma - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 02:13

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 02:13
Hi Marc, Cheers mate, good to have you around.....
AnswerID: 436503

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:16

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:16
Hi TerraFirma

Always enjoy the discussions with you on this site.

FollowupID: 707859

Reply By: Fab72 - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 08:06

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 08:06
G'Day Marc and welcome....
I didn't realise you were a newby. Your composure and thoughtfullness extends far beyond your length of service on this forum. I've been on and off here for about 5 years and still occasionally manage to get moderated...doh!

I have the upmost respect for you and your way of life, and for the front line knowledge you bring with you to this forum. It's one thing to pass by an area, but to live there really does give first hand knowledge to all of us.

Secondly...it takes a big man to openly admit he's a tea tottaler considering the stereotypical Aussie way of life. (Not suggesting everyone's a drinker...). You can have your milk though....I'll stick to my Schweppes Mineral Water...lol.

Love your life motto. I have a few I go by, but my most prevalant one is "Life if for living - not merely for existing". And sleeping in on a Sunday is not what I consider "living" . To pinch a line from a Bon Jovi song "I"ll live while I'm alive, and sleep when I'm dead".

Anyway....look forward to more of your posts. Keep 'em coming.
Fab. (Short for Fabio.... didn't get a choice in the name selection process. Italian parents, Whyalla, SA born.)
AnswerID: 436510

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 12:37

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 12:37
I'll second that Fab...... good post!!

FollowupID: 707851

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:08

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:08
Hi Fab72

Thankyou for your comments. One of the reasons I love this great country is because it is so cosmospolitan. My wife is Aboriginal, but we have friends from just about every corner of the planet, all Australians now by choice.

We have travelled the globe through photo albums and conversations without ever getting on a plane or ship, just meeting tourists and listening to them, asking questions, and then sharing with them about this area.

I am Irish born, came here with my father when I was about 5, and became a citizen when I was 16. My father was a miner and we lived in Tenant Creek, from there the short distance here to the Kimberley. MY parents did not have any choice but to move though, a Catholic father married to a Protestant mother 45 years ago, that was not something acceptable, but I will not go into politics or theology here.

FollowupID: 707856

Reply By: Ayita5 - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 12:10

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 12:10
Hi Marc Luther, nice to 'meet' you. :)

I signed up here around the same time as you I think (I didn't introduce myself either, I must admit!) and I always really enjoy reading your posts.

Myself, my husband, and our 3 boys (aged 1, 5 & 7) will be leaving to do our 'big trip' early next year, for however long it takes. We will be getting rid of everything we own expect what we can fit in the caravan, and will settle down again once we've had enough of the road and find a place that feels like home. (hopefully the lack of accumulated 'junk' will remain though) We're really looking forward to it!

Hope to meet you in person sometime. In the meantime, I'll continue to enjoy the glimpses you give us into your life.

Thanks for sharing them.

Skye

AnswerID: 436525

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:14

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:14
Hi Skye

I dop not bel;ieve the length of one's service in any field, even in a forum, is relevant, it is more the quality of that service. I have also read some of your posts, and your responses and questions always make for pleasant reading.

It is wonderful that you and your husband are taking youir three boys around at such a young age, as they can learn a lot more from experience than they could from sitting in a dry academic classroom.

My wife and I would also enjoy meeting you and your family.

Safe travels next year

FollowupID: 707858

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:41

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:41
Hi Marc,

I replied in your Mulan blog a while back and have tried sending you a member message, but the system doesn't seem to be working. My parents, Alistair and Valerie Peacock, worked at the Mulan School in 1997/8 and taught at the school. My mother taught the primary aged kids while my father asssited Elanor running the school. In 1998 he returned again for first term when Elenor had a broken leg (I think thats what it was). Anyway, do you remember them?

They have many stories from their times there and my mother thought of it as real highlight. Unfortunately my mother took sick after her time there and passed away in late 2000.

Your previous story about helping stranded people reminded me of the many stories my father told. He would always help a stranded traveller and recants the stories of himself getting stuck when bringing in the new school bus to Mulan in 1997 (or maybe 1998). Anyway, your previous thread story certainly had a more personal touch for me.

My father has a heap of photos of his time there, but they are not digial ones and he is still learning his way around a computer. I am currently in the USA for work (another 2 months before we get home) and otherwise would have scanned some pics and sent a few to you (my email address is in My Profile).

I hope to get up there one day in the near future, I wasn't able to in 1997 (my wife was pregnant with our first child) but certainly hope to do so when we return to Perth in Jan 2011. If all goes to plan, in July 2011 we hope to get up to the Kimberlies and surrounding areas.

AnswerID: 436537

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 15:54

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 15:54
Hi Mark

Yes, I remember your parents, even though I weasn't here for most of their tenure, as I was constantly working out at the Granites mine.

That bus was 1997, and the road between Mulan and Balgo was a sinle lane track only (a lot wider now). If I recall correctly he had difficulties about 14 km out where there was an exteremly sharp bend, but that may not be the case at all.

I too have sent some messages out, and the respondents have not received them, so there may be some small gliche there.

I do look forward to your visit at some time in teh future, and then you may recognise some of the places here from the photos.

FollowupID: 707874