Headlight Alarm !

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:03
ThreadID: 82601 Views:5701 Replies:11 FollowUps:4
Mornin' all,

Getting into the habit of driving with the headlights on but always seem to forget them when I park up.

Anyone know of a simple buzzer or something I can wire in to remind me ?

Cheers.....Lionel.

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:13

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:13
My 80 series turns the lights off automatically when you take the keys out..........you could probably pick something up from the wreckers.

Hairy
AnswerID: 436529

Reply By: glids - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:15

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:15
If you are handy with a soldering iron, Jaycar do a Headlight reminder Kit for around $28. Search for KC-5317 on the Jaycar site.

cheers,
glids
AnswerID: 436530

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:17

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:17
Pick up a buzzer & change-over relay from Jaycar or Mrs Smith's little boy Richard, and >>

Wire a simple headlight alarm

(diagram courtesy of Red-arc) ...

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 436531

Reply By: skmaint (WA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:35

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:35
Hi Lionel,

Another option is to get your auto sparky to wire them up to the ignition so they come on and go off with your ignition, No need for alarms or forgetting to turn them off.
Just a thought, its how we have our utes set up for the mines.

Simon.
AnswerID: 436533

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:38

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:38
get the kit that turns them on with the car running and turns off when you stop it, or buy some "running" lights, Hella and Narva have some new units out, LED, saves using the lights ..............
AnswerID: 436534

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:38

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:38
hi lionel A
i suppose i'm lucky because my 1996 mazda made in japan model has a built-in beeper that has never failed in warning me when i leave them on even the parkers
but like suggested should'nt be too hard to install the equipmt to remedy that problem
see yours is 1987 nissan they didnt bother even running the headlights through the key in those years my '86 and '88 navara's were the same
AnswerID: 436535

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:42

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 13:42
Hi Lionel

We use a system of; put the lights on and lock the driver's door. That way you can't get out of the car without realising.

AnswerID: 436538

Follow Up By: old mate - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 14:04

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 14:04
First time with a flat battery will be the last time you leave 'em on. 8)
FollowupID: 707865

Reply By: Glacier Bill - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 14:58

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 14:58
Lionel, All I did was get a $3 buzzer from the likes of Jacar and take a wire from the low beam wire and wire it through the buzzer to your door switch and when you open your door it will complete the circut and set the alarm off. Works a treat. Could come off the park wire instead if you liked.
AnswerID: 436543

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 20:45

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 20:45
Make that X2. Mines from a dash panel light to the door switch circuit. Good idea to put a diode in series to avoid interaction with alarms etc.

FollowupID: 707907

Reply By: Gobumpy - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 20:02

Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 20:02
hey mate give BDS auto elec a call i highly recommend him. he fitted my alarm works a treat. BDS auto elec Bryan 0433303375. he is mobile for perth area.

Best of luck
Scott
AnswerID: 436567

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 02:18

Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 02:18
Thanks everyone, thats given me a few options.

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 436591

Reply By: landseka - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 10:55

Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 10:55
There are obviously a lot of people driving in daytime with their lights on these days, great thing too for safety.

But!!!!!!

Please - low beam only is required, high beam and / or spotties are NOT necessary in daylight and are just as annoying, if not dangerous as at night.

Too many people drive around with high beam and it is one of my pet hates.

Cheers Neil
AnswerID: 436607

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 11:25

Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 11:25
And don't speed, use the phone while driving, or cross double lines, or.....
FollowupID: 707963

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 22:29

Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 22:29
High beams on, when within 200 metres of another vehicle is illegal - daytime or nighttime.
FollowupID: 708644