Who throws them, Who keeps them ??
Submitted: Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:10
Kimba10
Have just thrown out all my 4x4 magazines. I had 4x4 monthly (now 4x4 action) since they started, (years worth) camper trailer, and 4x4 australia. I figured there is that much information available from the internet these days I no longer have a purpose for them (reckon I read each of them a dozen times over the years), I still purchase them but thought it was time for the old ones (kept last 2 months worth) to go. Was curious who else keeps them and who throws them ?? My wife can only take so many to work to give the bloke customers some thing to read instead of new idea and womans weekly.....Regards Steve
Reply By: Mick O - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:45
Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:45
I generally keep a couple of years worth up sleeve. I've fluctuated between mags depending on what I'm planning or desiring at the time. I went from 4WD Action to 4X4 Aust because the action mag was becoming too comp-centric. Now I've swung back to Action. Along the way I didn't bother keeping 4x4 (ARB Adventures) Australia as it lost its way IMHO and became a cash for comment arrangement with the larger 4x4 suppliers (sort of a print version of Pat Callinans show). I made a comment a couple of weeks ago on another thread about 4WD Action upping their yearly issue numbers from 12 to 15 meaning they'll be stretching the boundaries to fill the mags. No good comes of that I reckon.
Having said that, their product reviews are the most comprehensive and have a fair degree of impartiality. Funny that a lot of the major players won't supply their products for testing...hmmmmm. 4x4 Action does have a much better cross section of advertising which I also find a bonus because it gives a much better idea of who's doing what in the 4x4 world besides the big players.
Follow Up By: Mark Howlett - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:59
Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:59
Funny how we swing from one to another. After years of subscribing to 4wd Action I got sick of Roothy praising whoever was supplying parts for his trucks. The last straw was me counting 'Narva' a dozen times times in his story. Then I went back to 4x4 Australia and low and behold they're telling us how good all the Mitsubishi range are (suppling vehicles for the camper trailer test). Nature of the beast I guess and we'd all probably do the same if supplied with freebies.
Mark.
Reply By: Mark Howlett - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:51
Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:51
I've got 4x4 Australia and Overlander mags going back around 18 years, plus the 4wd Action/Monthly since they came out. Did I mention Street Machine, Modern Motor, Car Australia,
Wheels...
I still enjoy going over the old ones from time to time.
We've moved house a few times and I keep thinking about what to do with them - I still haven't figured it out!
Mark.
Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 20:44
Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 20:44
G'day everyone
What an interesting topic Kimba10 has dredged up, I honestly thought I was the only bloke in the country that kept hold of "old" magazines related to 4wdriving in Australia.
My collection goes back to the very first of the Overlander and Bushdriver magazines and I am fairly sure there are pre Ron Moon 4x4 Australia editions amongst the collection ~ I wade through the older magazines more to look back on how the travel scene has changed as opposed to the vehicle technology as I guess no one would say a Series 1 Land Rover can match anything that manufacturer churns out today and I am no Rover fan!
Over the past few years I had the opportunity to thin the collection down by taking (over a period of time) several hundred various magazines down to the Sir Charles Gairdner Hospitals Oncology department ~
Perth, as the " New Idea" magazines in their lounge room was not my idea of a good read, oddly the 4WD magazines disapeared fairly quickly but the New Idea mags tended to stay behind?
Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 20:59
Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 20:59
Hi Joe,
A few years ago I was an outpatient in that ward and you are so right.
There's plenty of magazines of interest to the fairer sex but absolutely B-All for the gents.
Each time I was due for treatment I took a few older and also a few newer issues with me for the blokes to read while sitting having treatment.
Perhaps any readers with surplus magazines could take them to their Dr's surgery, the local hospital or the Dentist for those waiting to read, much more informative than New Idea or Womans Weekly.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 22:10
Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 22:10
Hi there Disco never thought of that. Have just doug some back out of the boxes they were in and will ring Nepean hospital tomorrow and see if I can drop them in or not. Some times they are a bit funny about some things been bought into hospitals which I can understand (germs etc) but wil make the call and see. thanks for that I only ever thing of dr's surgeries, dentists, not hospitals.. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:54
Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 19:54
Gday Steve
As i am getting older and fraying around the edges, i visit the doctor on a regular basis and take magazines for the waiting room.
One never seams to be able to get a man's book in a doctors surgery.
Murray
Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 21:02
Sunday, Nov 21, 2010 at 21:02
Muzbry,
Does your definition of a "mans book" include Penthouse and Playboy or will you be stretching the sensibilities of the Receptionist doing that.
LOL.
Disco.
Reply By: Muntoo - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 00:53
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 00:53
Yep i have always kept magazines. Be susrprised how much ya miss when ya go back and flick through them. I have just had to make some more room so had to cull all my 4wd action ones, giving them to a mate. Sady day, although i only buy the mag for the DVD now. Such crap these days. They make about 8 different mags all filled with the same stories and crap they have been printing for years. Plus there reviews are always flawed with huge mistakes and incorrect info.
Reply By: get outmore - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 00:58
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 00:58
keep every single western 4wder for the comprehensive trip reports
chuckoverlander, 4x4 astralia and 4x4 action
just trash reading like womens weekly for men
ive stopped my self buying them - just no usefull info
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 02:45
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 02:45
Only buy the mags when the fancy takes me.
Rarely toss them, great for the
toilet and shed, leveling the fridge or bed.
Always toss a couple in the back of the car before we go
camping.
After a days wheelin' its good to sit down and browse a mag while the missus gets me a beer, pitches the tent, sorts the bedding, assembles the kitchen, drags the firewood in, gets dinner under way and then brings me another beer.
At this point I ask her if I can help in any way, she then gives me one of those filthy looks and doesnt talk to me for the rest of the evening.
All bases covered......hahaha.
Cheers.......Lionel.
Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 11:22
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 11:22
What a lucky woman she is to have you Lionel. LOL
Heather G
Follow Up By: PradOz - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 20:38
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 20:38
Are you holding any wife training days - got a candidate for you - oops now i am in for it....
Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:51
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 13:51
Kimba10
Thanks for reminding me how old I am................lol
Just had a quick look through my collection of "stuff I must throw out one day"
So if I need to know how a 1976 FJ40 Landcruiser stacks up against the Nissan Patrol of the same vintage in a head to head comparo when they were the latest and greatest I have the article (Overlander). Also a genuine factory manual on how to rebuild your H series Cruiser diesel engine.
And I thought my cheese and kisses was a hoarder..........lol
Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 18:30
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 18:30
Don't chuck them out. At swap meets rare magazines are worth 2 or 3 dollars each, ordinary ones 50 cents or I've been offered $20 for the whole stack. It's amazing what people collect.
Cheers Craig.............
PS: I no longer buy them. The glossy paper is not even any good for lighting a fire or wiping your bum.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 19:50
Monday, Nov 22, 2010 at 19:50
Yep fixed the problem Cancelled my subscription.
Too much rubbish in the 4x4 one and too many innacuracies in the C& M one