LC 70 Fuel economy
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 23, 2010 at 15:49
Fasta
Ive got an LC 70 ute with straight through 3 inch exhaust(sounds great), its done about 110 000 kms. Full steel box canopy with about 500kgs of
tools ect in the back at any one time. Sitting on 130kph i get about 8km's to the litre. I had a diesel tuners chip until about 50000 and found it used more fuel but more power. i took it of because the motor sounded like it was pinging a bit.
I run 285/75/16 BFG's and besides poly airs and exhaust its pretty stock.
What fuel economy do you get?
Reply By: Longreach - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2010 at 15:57
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2010 at 15:57
A little off topic because I have a petrol LC100, but I filled the main
tank last night and the bowser said I bought 106 litres. Seems a lot in a 95 litre
tank.
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 11:23
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 11:23
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Longreach - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 13:36
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 13:36
I did ask how it could be possiible and if they get their bowsers checked etc. but it was just a console operator who wasn't very interested. Rang consumer affairs and sat on hold for a while before getting very bored and hanging up. Might try again later.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 20:52
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 20:52
Maybe a bit went into the reserve
tank Does that in a diesel Never looked at a petrol so not sure
Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2010 at 16:03
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2010 at 16:03
If you slowed down to 90-100 I'd bet you would use 1/2 the fuel as the canopy and tray acts like a sail (or brick).
Follow Up By: Fasta - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2010 at 17:18
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2010 at 17:18
I live and work out of
Alice Springs, everywhere's normaly along way away the speed limits 130 and alot less time in the
seat. I thought my fuel economy was great for what im doin, ive got a 98 troopy that only gets about 5km/1ll doin 110
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2010 at 20:20
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2010 at 20:20
Dave,
I'd like to see any V8 cruiser (or V8 anything for that matter) get 16k/lt ;-)) Agree that a bit less haste would return much better figures though.
My 6.5T in the GMC gets about 16-18lt/100km (about 6km/lt) when I am lopeing along at 100-110kph but as soon as I stick it in to her the figures go nth very quickly, 22-25lt/100km (4km/lt) not hard to achieve. Bit hard to return decent figures when you are 4.5Tonne and shaped like a house with a motor bolted on the front.
Fasta, I reckon you are doing bloody good if these really are your figures for that sort of speed.
Regards, Trevor.
Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 07:12
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 07:12
Having the 79 Cabchasis myself, I'm interested to know what brand exhaust you've fitted and also the chip. What sort of power increase (if any) did you get from either and both together.
Thanks in advance. Mick
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 11:22
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 11:22
The Rig looks awesome Mick, post some more photos when your finished.
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 21:52
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 21:52
There are a heap of photos in the blog that follows the build
HERE.
Follow Up By: Fasta - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 22:28
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 22:28
The exhaust came from
Beaudesert Exhausts supplied by Sprint Mufflers in
Alice Springs. 3 inch mandrel bent tiny hiflow cat and it had a huge muffler, which got replaced for an extra bit of pipe. The exhaust is what made all the difference in power and economy. Had a diesel tuners chip which did give fair bit more power, but it sounded like the motor was going to do itself an injury.
It is the most capable car i have ever driven. Heaps of power and torque.
Just trying to find a pic