replenishing water

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 10:55
ThreadID: 82654 Views:4402 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Hi Guys,I'm about to leave on a caravanning holiday staying at free camps.Could anybody tell me what my options are regarding replenishing water.I will be going north of Perth about as far as Geraldton.
kman

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 12:02

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 12:02
kman,

Not a lot of information to go on in your question. How long are you travelling for? How much water can you carry?

Assuming you are near the coast, that part of the world is not really remote. There are lots of towns, you could buy water at a supermarket, or what we do, is about once a week check in to a caravan park and fill tanks there. At the same time you can have a really good shower, use the washing machines and increasingly now catch up on email etc.

The other water source that is often overlooked is the automatic car wash. The final "spot free" rinse water is triple filtered through reverse osmosis. That is at least as good as the stuff you buy in bottles.

The other advantage is that you can meet other travellers, I know this is possible in free camps but in the CV Park they are concentrated and hanging around the camp kitchen often have time to talk and exchange ideas.

AnswerID: 436795

Reply By: Member - Shaun H (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 12:15

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 12:15
Hi We recently completed a caravan holiday to Darwin we made sure we filled our tanks up at petrol stations when we purchased fuel. We always asked for permission before we filled the tanks, we never got refused. Make sure you have enough hose length and hose adaptors. I also purchased a 4 way Vandal proof tap key that I got from Bunnings for the taps that have had the handles removed (Vandal proofed) I have attached the picture. Have a great trip, one day we would like to take our van up that way.

AnswerID: 436798

Follow Up By: Member - Shaun H (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 12:19

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 12:19
I would suggest that you also filter the water as you are filling up?
FollowupID: 708209

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 12:56

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 12:56
Yeah, we just ask at servos.

Coober Pedy has a pay tap but it's pretty cheap.
FollowupID: 708211

Follow Up By: Member - Shaun H (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 13:17

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 13:17
Coober Pedy was the only place we had to pay for water, every other place was fine. I had problems filling up at Coober Pedy as you could not adjust the flow rate of the water. I have since solved this issue on the Jayco with the back flow issue.
FollowupID: 708215

Reply By: roberttbruce - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 13:18

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 13:18
water options..

CV parks one a week
Council Parks
Modern Toilet block with a disability dunny
Tennis courts
RSL's
Business's
Late-Night-Raids

the last on my list is service-stations
always jerry ten litres to check for purity
don't rely on your filters unless you can afford to buy lots of them

for the reason Duncs mentioned, CV parks are the best option

nice hint on the car wash's dunc
AnswerID: 436802

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 13:41

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 13:41
I had a collegue who managed a car wash many years ago, he put me onto it.

Also in Broken Hill one of the servo based car wash places sells filtered water. This water is a bye-product of the car wash.

FollowupID: 708220

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 14:55

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 14:55
im definetly going to give this a try, especially in sa

im so excited about this solution...lol... any idea on how many litres a two dollar rinse uses?

FollowupID: 708225

Follow Up By: Cheeky1 - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 16:25

Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 16:25
Car wash water is recycled. Not sure how good their reverse osmosis process is???
Not sure I would do it?
Cheeky1
FollowupID: 708356

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 14:47

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 14:47
Kman

Tourist information places also often have a tap where you can fill up.

Val

AnswerID: 436808

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 00:13

Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 00:13
Hi kman

We need to refuel more often than fill water tanks. We ask at the servo, and if we can't (eg no hose fitting on tap or to use it would block the flow of cars to the bowser) we go to another outlet.

If staying by a river or lake, we leave the water in the tanks for drinking and further travels and draw and use direct from a bucket for everything else (depending on water quality). We don't put water into the tanks from rivers and pools.

I recall some years ago filling jerry cans (we had put a stone through camper water tank) at Morowa as there was a tap in the main street - i think near the public toilet block.

Otherwise if stuck ask at tourist info centres or shire offices.

AnswerID: 436861

Reply By: kman1 - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:24

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:24
Many thanks to all who have assisted us.just got back from trip and had difficulty getting water in Geraldton until I came across a kind service station proprietor called Ian in a caltex servo in the northern part of Geraldton on alternative road out.
kman
AnswerID: 438324