Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 18:12
Member - Rod N (QLD)
It is
well known that you can't take full fuel containers and gas bottles are put in a special cage on the Tasmania ferry, but did you know you can't take gas bottles in a vehicle on Qld rail??
Just talking to a bloke with a dual cab with canopy who had his gas bottle confiscated before travelling on the Sunlander from
Brisbane to
Townsville. They will not hold it until he returns so his wife has to travel from the Sunny Coast to pick it up. He bought a new one in
Townsville and the
shop was understanding and will take the bottle back after his
camping trip and give him a docket so he can pick up a new one on return to Brissy.
The second part to this bureaucratic tale concerns a 4WD with full roof rack. The driver was promised a covered section on the same train but they put his vehicle on an open wagon. When he complained they said no worries we will put a tarp over it. OK said the driver. Then the rail boss said it can't be done, take it off. By this time the train was under the overhead electric wires. Can't be taken off where it is. Get another loco from the shed and move the wagon. Tarp is taken off and then bigger boss comes along and says yes its OK so he ties it on and the wagon is put back on the train which departs an hour and half late.
The only good point is that the train makes up lost time and arrives in
Townsville on time.
Reply By: echucabarry - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 18:16
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 18:16
and the really good news is ........................you can now buy shares in that organisation . Gives you a lot of investing confidence, doesn't it ??
Follow Up By: Expletive - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 19:41
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 19:41
This rail service has naught to do with the rail system that was recently floated on the stock exchange.
Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 20:02
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 20:02
They have very clear & concise rules about gas bottles etc, maybe he should have taken the time to read them.
RULES
Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 09:03
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 09:03
Yes I agree. This post was a bit of a numerous way of highlighting a rule that not many read.
Reply By: OzTroopie - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 20:23
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 20:23
It's a shame this story unfolded the way it did, but the rules are there to protect everyone involved - the railways workers who do the loading, the public, and emergency
services workers who would be required to respond to a fire/ crash. Firies have been killed by exploding gas bottles.
Good to see the
shop in
Townsville went out of its way to help out, and offer your mate a docket to pick up another when he gets home. Hopefully this made it a bit easier for him.
Like has been said, your mate should have read the rules. I'll be the first to admit i've been caught out before by not reading them.... but have hopefully learnt my lesson the hard way.
As for the car wagons. Most railways i'm aware of only offer open wagons to members of the public wishing to transport their vehicle, the open drive on/ drive off 2 level kind. This includes the Overland
Adelaide-
Melbourne and the Indian Pacific Syd-
Perth. They don't even offer tarping, i wouldn't risk my car on it (rocks, etc.). I was suprised to hear there's a non- commercial freight service that offers this, but as i'm not from up your way i wouldn't know.
Shame the railway workers all had different stories, if there's a protocol, they should all stick to it, instead of everyone having a different twist on it and confusing your mate.
The only way i could think of getting a car safely on a train down here in SA, would be to freight it with a freight company and have it put inside a shipping container or enclosed wagon. I wouldn't risk it on an open car wagon
Great Southern Railways are pretty picky with things like roof racks, vehicle length. as far as i know they don't even offer insurance when they take your car.
Reply By: Member - Paul F (INT) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 20:31
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 20:31
Sorry if this sounds a little strange but why would you want to freight your car from
Brisbane to
Townsville and then pay a fare to go there yourself to pick it up, it just don't add up, if you are travelling when there is so much to see on that route.
And added cost of "wife" travelling to pick it up, and cost of new bottle one would think it is more cost effective to drive there
Just seems odd to me.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 23:32
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 23:32
I would have thought it would have been cheaper to throw the bottle away, than drive to pick it up.
Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 09:08
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 09:08
Don't know why people do it but there is a market on many passenger trains to be able to put your vehicle on a wagon attached to the passenger train. Seeing that he got a new gas bottle I too thought why go to the expense of getting the old one.
Reply By: Member - Carl- Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 07:41
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 07:41
I certainly understand the need for safety. The problem is that here no one will take a bribe. I lived in Russia for a while and it was great there. You could bribe anyone to get things done. Certainly cuts down of the admin of paying fines and waiting for the letter in the mail. Just slip the police officer a quick $20 and you are on your way. Need something on the rail, just see the station maters and bingo it's done.
The trains still seem to leave late there as
well however.
Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 09:23
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 09:23
One of the good things about living in Australia is that our officialdom don't take bribes. It's one way of keeping everything safe.
All too often we hear of building collapses in 3rd world countries caused by bribary and corruption resulting in shoddy practices. Same thing applies with all things safety. You only get 1 chance at life.
Follow Up By: Honky - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 10:19
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 10:19
Doesn't look like Dasher has dealt with a local Council.
Honky
Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 10:50
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 10:50
Not a lot with local Government but State Government a big yes.
If anyone was to offer me a bribe, I guarantee that they would never be involved in any works within my group again plus they would be be facing police charges.
If anyone was to offer any official a bribe, they should be condemned as loudly as the fool who was to accept the bribe.
I might sound high and mighty but my job and personal integrity are at stake and money doesn't buy that.
Follow Up By: Rob! - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 15:39
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 15:39
The thing is that in Russia, if you want to get ANYTHING done you NEED to provide a bribe.
So if you want your car to trvel on the train, it won't arrive at the destination unless a bribe is paid.
R.
Reply By: cycadcenter - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 08:47
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 08:47
Could someone tell me the last time a gas bottle exploded on a car being transported by train.
Now sit out on the Bruce Highway and cound the number of caravans, campers and motorhomes with a couple of gas bottles on each one as
well as jerry cans of petrol or diesel.
Just wondering
Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 09:10
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 09:10
Just bureaucrats justifying their high paid jobs.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:00
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:00
cycadcenter,
Not sure on answer to how many gas bottles have exploded on a car being transported by a train but holy crap I would not like to be within coo-ee of it if one did.
Similar to the incident at a major truckstop in SA recently. A seemingly harmless situation where a bloke in either a full sized semi motorhome or an actual semi (I am not sure) fired up his genset for whatever reason. The B Double fuel tanker driver parked next to him, not concerned at this stage, was inside eating dinner (as was I) when all of a sudden he shot up from his table and ran, faster than I have ever seen a truck driver run, back to his truck driving away from the truckstop at a zillion
miles an hour. It was not until a few other drivers noticed why he was running so fast that things started to get urgent. The genset had caught alight with no one attending to it. One bleep load amount of fuel was at the ready to turn this small town into an instant
cemetery all because of one seemingly "harmless" act. Just cause the whole place didn't go up this time doesn't mean it will never happen. That is why they call them "Accidents" and when accidents can cause severe injury or loss of life we all need rules in place to help prevent them. (Showing my age here now as even I was invicible not so many years ago and rules were only ever in place to be broken back then.) Events in ones life alter your judgement on safety issues, hopefully you will not have to go through one of these events to realise "Safety first" is a must.
Rod, sometimes you're statement can be seen as correct but I disagree in this instance.
Cheers, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 16:25
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 16:25
Cycadcenter,
It's not the bottle itself which is likely to blow up. Just about all gas cylinders have a blow-off valve or burst disc in them, which will release the pressure if it gets too high (say from being overheated). You'll then get a flare-off if the gas ignites. The main risk is from the bottle leaking in a confined space and then having that gas ignite, which can lead to a large explosion. LPG is denser than air, and pools in
places like ute tubs, train carriages etc. There have been quite a few cases of work vans exploding when started in the morning because gas cylinders stored in them have been leaking overnight. Most caravans these days have a gas cylinder storage area that is vented to the outside so any gas leaks can't build up. If your after more info, search for "transporting lpg cylinders" and check out the regulations for each state. Once you get above a certain size (eg a 9 kg cylinder), you're not allowed to transport these cylinders in an enclosed space, such as inside a car or train carriage.