Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 24, 2010 at 23:20
DOEY
i have an RA Rodeo and after a rough trip along the
Gibb River rd, my drivers side power window gave up and my passenger side started showing signs it was on the way out. possily due to the dust and rattles.
i went into 4 different Holden dealers in
Broome,
Karratha and
Carnarvon and
Geraldton to get prices for replacement power window motors, thinking i would hang out as they were getting cheaper as i made my way down the coast.
For some reason the drivers side was roughly $100 MORE than the passenger side, its exactly the same but reversed, no extra wiring, gearing etc. (obviously the most common one to pack up due to use)
The drivers side was approx $360 and the other side was around $250 plus 2hrs labour @ $100ph to have them fitted at all 4 outlets give or take $5 to $10.
being a cheapskate i just kept putting it off, and then i thought i would check ebay.
I was in luck, i found a seller who sold them, he was in Thailand and he was selling the motors for $80 each inc postage. I thought him being in Thailand and the fact that rodeos are manufactured in Thailand was just coincidental as there was no mention of it being genuine OEM and i just presumed it may be just a cheapie copy. I ordered a pair. They arrived today, brand new in an Isuzu box with isuzu labels etc. took me 20 mins a side and they work great so far.
I know people have to make a profit, but the mark up on spare parts is incredible.
When you have know choice but to get a spare part through a dealer, it really makes you feel sick to know you are being taken for a ride because you have few other options.
yes, just another daily rant from me.
Reply By: Dan - Yal - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 00:27
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 00:27
Just a thought, but, did you introduce yourself as "doey" when you went to the dealer???
Maybe you should change the name to cluey
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 01:28
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 01:28
ha ha - classic!
Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:21
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:21
of course i did!
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 06:57
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 06:57
Hey DOEY,
Isn't there that old wives tale about Henry Ford, He would give you a Model T, as long as you bought all the replacement parts off him?
Mate, you should try owning a Toyota, I refuse to pay into Mr Toyota's Christmas fund anymore. I can get most things of eBay, If I can't, a local mob can manufacture something for me for a third of the price.
When the 80 was due for her BEB's to be changed, I got a quote from Mr Toyota, $1100.00 and an 8 hour job, according to them, near fell over
A bloke around the cnr that has a very good rap, $300.00 and I supply the oil+filter, He needed it for 4 Hours, most of that time was for it to cool down.
It does pay to do ya home work.
Follow Up By: Member - edwin (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:51
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:51
hi hairs what is BEB's
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 12:20
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 12:20
Sorry,
Big End Bearings.
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 09:46
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 09:46
Interesting thread. Only last night on the news big retailers complaining of the
extent of internet buying overseas & the fact that no GST is payable on orders under $1000. I dont see any reference to the fact that parity with the US dollar
reduces the cost of wholesale imports to those same retailers. The Govt made
noises about looking at the GST issue, but I doubt it will change. Your result with
ebay reinforces why you,I, and many others make this the yardstick for buying
goods via the net. cheers....oldbaz.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:13
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:13
You gotta love it , Genuine air filter for RA 3lt diesel from Holden dealer in
Longreach $99 and often needs to be ordered in,, walk less than 50mtrs to Autopro/Mitsubishi dealer and EXACT same filter,same packaging etc , always in stock ,,,,,,,,,,, $44.50 gst included.
Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:26
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:26
out of interest, what brand air filter do you use? who makes the genuine ones?
i use ryco, mainly cause its a reputable brand.
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 15:23
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 15:23
The only difference apart from price is the 'genuine' holden sticker , ryco A1504 , actual filter by Holden branded 099BH- Made in Thailand - Exact same branding on the filter out of a "ryco" box.
Reply By: DOEY- Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:31
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:31
just to add, the seller also sells all sorts of spare parts, interior parts like airvents, window switches, wheel arch flares, mud flaps, badges, lights etc. he also sells parts for other models.
siam_autoparts is his id for anyone interested.
Reply By: ob - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:52
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 11:52
I can just hear the yelling, bellowing and whingeing when the new Rodeo, Toyota, Nissan or whatever costs an extra $10000 because the dealer can't survive on a $1000 markup and has to make a profit on parts and labour.
Yeah get the slingshots out.......been there, done that
ob
Reply By: Fab72 - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 12:47
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 12:47
Just a thought but does the driver's window have an auto up/down function that the passenger window does not?
If that's the case, that would explain the difference in price BUT $100 difference????? Bit rough.
Fab.
Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 12:58
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 12:58
Also...not limited just to cars. I have a 2007 Harley Softail. After market solo
seat from the local Harley dealer $420, will need to be ordered in and would take 1 month.
Same seat/same brand from an ebay store $248 Aus, hand delivered to my front door in 2.5 weeks.
Another example...local 4X4 accessory store here also lists items on ebay. I bought 2 snatch straps from them off ebay for $16 each, less than their off the shelf price.
Ebay is my friend..!!!!!
Fab.
Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 15:50
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 15:50
hi fab
yes the drivers window does have the auto up\down function but pretty sure its controlled by the switch itself through a relay by keeping power open for a pre-set time or something similar.
the units look identical, just in reverse.
i reckon its because the drivers side gets the most use and are more common therefore capitalising on demand.
i didnt mind waiting 2.5 weeks either to end up with more money in my pocket.
Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 16:27
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 16:27
G'Day Doey... thought so. Nah, it's more than just the switch. It's in the unit itself.
Just checking a few part numbers at random from different manufacturers and the Auto window up function on higher spec cars carry a different part number for the window motor than their equivalent lower spec counter parts.
Eg: VE Commodore Omega vs. VE Calais.
So glad you shopped around. Sucks to shell out $$$ to make some fat cat happy.
Fab.
Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 17:52
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 17:52
hi fab
i just thought the auto function was controlled by the switch as when i was trying to self diagnose the fault, i disconnected the motor and used a multimeter to check for volatge at the plug.When i flicked the switch momentarily it displayed voltage briefly but when i flicked it up another notch to "auto" it kept a constant voltage to the plug until i could hear a "click" noise similar to a relay which went for about 8-10 seconds.
i wonder if they just number the parts for calais differently just to charge more. lol
it wouldnt suprise me.
its like when you go into a
bakery and ask for a cake, it costs you $8 but ask for a birthday cake and its $40 because they put some candles on it.
have a good day mate.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 15:38
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 15:38
I can remember an exersize done round the time of the 1st Holden Comodore , done by an alliance of RACQ /NRMA /RACV , was they bought a new Holden at normal retail price ,was round the $5000 mark and then proceded to strip it down to its bare shell ,, the idea was to rebuild the car using the spare parts division of Holden dealers at normal retail prices , , If i remember rightly the project was abandoned at the $100,000 mark , yep thats right $100,000 to build a $5000 car from retail spare parts !!!!
Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 16:35
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 16:35
Alloy... I work in the manufacturing game and believe me, you'd be very surprised at the price differences.
Example.... Tail lamp (won't say who for) Not sure what it retails for, but manufacturers cost $27.32. Including globes!!!!!
Granted it comes in a bulk stillage and not individually wrapped, and is received direct from the supplier and not through warehouse channels.
The list goes on...... badges (around 18 cents each), ABS modules ($89.57) and Radiators (including A/C Condensor, cooling fans and patch harness - $136.14)
Reply By: Member - Barry P (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 16:06
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 16:06
another toyota rippoff front wheel bearings for a hilux approx 1 third too 1 half the price at bearing service compared too toyota ;same brand and bearing numbers work that outbarry