Submitted: Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 18:58
Member - Boeing (PER)
Hello all,
Looking at going to Karijini next July with the tent. I was talking to a guy the other day who has spent a fair amount of time in that part of the world and mentioned the tent and he said that I would not get tent pegs in as it was solid rock. I know that the ground is hard and we have "tent nails" to use on this type of ground but surely the
camp ground is not a solid rock base.
If anyone that has been to Karijini NP could enlighten me that would be great. Otherwise it might be the roof top tent.
Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 19:36
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 19:36
Hi Mark,
We were there last winter and stayed at the campground at
Dales Gorge in our caravan for 5 nights.
A group of three female travellers pulled into the site next to us and tried to set up small tents. After some time my husband went to assist with hammering the tent pegs in and had to use bigger pegs to try to start a hole to get them in. They and he weren't all that successful and he is quite a strong person.
Not sure what kind of tent pegs they had however they ended up using a few large rocks which were lying around to try to hold the tents in place and luckily didnt have any strong winds in the few days they were there.
Good luck. It is a beautiful place and
well worth visiting - lots ot see and plenty of walks.
Heather
Reply By: Mick O - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 19:45
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 19:45
It's the Pibara Mark so it's pretty rocky but you're not on a slab of the stuff. You might bend one or two but you'll get them in. I've tented right across it with little or no issues. The
camp ground areas at Dales present no problems for tenting.
Reply By: skmaint (WA) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 20:42
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 20:42
Hi Boeing
Take a drill and bit, pre drill the holes.
I have not done it but my neighbour was there a couple of months ago and said it worked a treat.
Simon.
Follow Up By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 21:05
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 21:05
Thanks Simon, yes I take a cordless drill and a masonry drill bit for such occasions. The only thing I haven't got is a jack hammer LOL.
Reply By: AnneMarie - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 21:54
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 21:54
Hi Mark - I camped with a friend at the Eco Tourist Resort at Karijini a couple of years ago during May - we had a big Dome tent with those interior frames and simply used rocks inside a couple of calico bags on 2 corners to keep the tent in place! It was not windy at all, so no problem. And with bedding and our gear inside as
well, the tent was going nowhere!
My husband and I have an Oztent RV4 and that kind of tent would also happily support itself without the need for being pegged in areas with hard ground.
As someone else mentioned, this is an extraordinarily beautiful part of the world, not to be missed! Be sure to visit the stunning
Kalamina Gorge.... amazing!
Have a wonderful trip! Oh, and the food is great at the Eco Restaurant! ;)
Anne-Marie
Follow Up By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 23:43
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 23:43
Hi Anne-Marie, Funny you should mention the restaurant, the fellow that I was speaking to said that most of the food now is delivered frozen and they just re heat it. Maintenance at the Eco Resort has gone down
hill as
well. He was the Maintenance Manager but left as he got so frustrated!!.
Looking forward to doing some walks/ photos etc.
Reply By: kingswoodwagon - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 22:29
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 22:29
Short pegs are the trick in hard clays like the
Pilbara.
Reply By: The_Chad - Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 23:27
Thursday, Nov 25, 2010 at 23:27
I have set up my tent a number of times in these
camp grounds. All you need is good quality heavy duty pegs with a point on the en.. Sometimes you may hit a nasty rock underneath, just change the angle of the peg and you'll get around it. Basically the pegs that come with the cheaper tents aren't any good there, they're thin and have a blunt end. I found that the pegs that came with the oztent were fine. With that sun beating down on your back, you'll quickly learn to use the hammer to get the job finished as soon as you can!
Reply By: hunty01 - Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 00:13
Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 00:13
Gday there
Such a great spot hope ya have a absailing ticket.
I agree with kingswood. I went through a heap of pegs in the start but found the best thing is to make some stumpys. Get a nice peg and a grinder. Cut the peg short and put a sweet point and a good hammer. Ive now got a set of soft ground, hard ground and sand pegs.
Enjoy this amazing place.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 01:07
Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 01:07
Try 6" nails or spikes. Tough as old boots.
Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 06:37
Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 06:37
We were there in 2008, didn't use pegs in the camper trailer, we just put our clothes bags (which were quite heavy) in the corners and that did the trick.
cheers Laurie
Reply By: wato35 - Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 08:10
Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 08:10
Hi Boeing
I was there last year and would love to get back there soon.
Remember that
Dingo's are all over that area and they are not scared to come in very close even during the day while people are around.
Make sure you don't give them any reason to get into your tent, otherwise you will come back to a big mess. I have seen this a few times now.
have a great trip.
Wato
Follow Up By: AnneMarie - Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 08:30
Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 08:30
I would agree with this - we were told the dingoes will nick anything that you leave outside your tent! If they can carry it away, they will! They never bothered us at all - loved to listen to their soulful calls at night, but do be sure to put everything INSIDE at night and when you leave during the day, even. :)
Enjoy it all and marvel at this country's beauty and wildlife in all its forms. :)
Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 12:08
Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 12:08
At
Dales gorge there are areas more suitable for tents, the rocks are a bit softer.
We
camp host up there regularly and find most people get their pegs in albeit harder work than
the beach. There are sites that are easier than other so don't abuse the
camp host or they will smile and give you a difficult site. Make sure you close up the tent every time you leave it or the dingos will be in for a party.
It is a great place so enjoy.
Neil
Reply By: Rossc0 - Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 16:11
Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 16:11
Hammer the peg in as much as possible.
Wet the area around the peg, don't need much
water, just to soften up the ground a bit.
Drive the peg in a bit more.
Repeat as necessary.
We were at Dales in September and that's how we got the pegs in that would not go in easily.
Ross
Reply By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 20:36
Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 20:36
Thanks everyone for your replys. As usual the
forum is a wealth of information.
Kind Regards
Reply By: lindsay - Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 22:22
Friday, Nov 26, 2010 at 22:22
You can purchase hi tensile tent pegs for $2.50 each. Had no trouble there last year.
Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 21:35
Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 21:35
Hi Mark,
Magnificent place. Stay for a few days if possible.
We had no problem with pegs but it was COLD at night. Hope you've got decent sleeping bags, even so, wear a beanie!
Enjoy,
Min
Reply By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 22:52
Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 22:52
Can I suggest that you toss whatever pegs came with your tent and buy yourself a dozen or so Hillbilly high tensile pegs. Mate these up with a 3 lb hammer and the Karajini campsites will be no match for them. Spent a number of weeks in the area in winter of last year and found I was able to easily drive these pegs into any of the surfaces I came across.
Just a word of caution...........I reckon I spent some of the coldest nights I've ever experienced in my life in Karajini in July......so make sure you have good warm bedding.
Reply By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:33
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:33
Thanks again for the reply's.... I have noted to take a box of chocolates for the
camp hosts and plenty of warm clothing!!