The rains have arrived in the Pilbara!
Submitted: Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 21:58
Diesel 'n Dust
Right now we have just experienced the first 'big' rain fall of the summer.
To the south you could see the front coming with lighting and the usual gust of wind.
This land (The Fortescue Marsh) is in need of this rain. The cattle will be pleased if this rain keeps up also the stations too!! Some had predicted it could be a big wet season.
Just another reason why I fell in love with the
Pilbara!!
Matthew
Reply By: Muntoo - Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 22:32
Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 22:32
Every year they say its going to be a big wet mate.
We got our first big rain here in
Broome last Friday.
Yet
Wyndham and
Kununurra have had about 150mm or more already.
Follow Up By: Diesel 'n Dust - Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 23:59
Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 23:59
People may say that but we can only hope that the stations have a successful year.
Since 5 yrs up here I've never seen Blue Tongue lizards and a station bloke told me that is usually a good
sign of some decent rains ahead. I took this on as he has lived there for over 40 yrs. Since 1912 the station has stayed in the family.
Again the land needs it.
Buy hey it's fun in the mud!!!
Follow Up By: Muntoo - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 03:51
Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 03:51
Yeah i must say, this year the
Kimberley station and northern
Pilbara had it good. With pretty good rainfall all year round, it was good to see some cattle without there ribs sticking out.
Reply By: Member - pilbara60 (WA) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 22:40
Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 22:40
still waiting here in
karratha for the rain . can see the cloud buildup but all we are getting is wind
Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 12:24
Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 12:24
G'day all
I took this image a couple of days ago as I was heading out of town ~ North along the
Marble Bar road, the storm cell was sneaking across the plain country at a steady pace leaving everything drenched, even the cattle seemed to be grinning !!
Reply By: Member - Toby R (WA) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 22:47
Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 22:47
I hope the rain makes it to
karratha and doesn't go around us like it usually does.. It would be nice to see the country side turn green again to it's been awhile.
Follow Up By: skmaint (WA) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 23:38
Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 23:38
Port hedland is still as dry as ever.......Seen some cloud about late this arvo but nothing came of it...
Simon.
Follow Up By: Member - Ray Mc (WA) - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 20:48
Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 20:48
Sky (cloud) has looked better and better all day ... but still no rain in Wickham. Maybe this week??
Ray
Reply By: Member - Tom W (WA) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 23:43
Saturday, Nov 27, 2010 at 23:43
Ohhh Geeez misin the north wa even more now enjoy the storms ya mongrels hehehehe
Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 00:35
Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 00:35
It looks like those of you in
Karratha and Pt Hedland may get a bit yet, but then again it may be like what has been happening in the south west this year; it looks promising but the rain disappears once the system hits the coast.
BOM radar
Follow Up By: Member - Toby R (WA) - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 17:17
Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 17:17
You hit the nail on the head with the looks promising but the rain disappears once the system hits the coast comment. Looked a little overcast yesterday and now its scorching hot & sunny today.