Fridges - What to choose

I am in the market for a good fridge for my 120 series Prado. We do a fair bit of 4wding and intend to do some high country and outback tours.

I have looked at the Engel and the Waeco but I have noticed some commentary on the EvaKool fridges too. I don't know what is good and what is not. I am also wondering how essential it is to have a dual battery kit in the car when running a fridge.

Any thoughts you may have are very welcome.

Reply By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:18

Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:18
The best fridge I have is a 100 lt Trailblazer they are the best on the market, I also have a 60 lt Evakool It is great , as is my 50 lt Engel, my 50 lt Waeco and my 60 lt Oztrail.

Some people like the Auto fridge and some like the three way style fridges, I hope that helps.

One would suggest a twin battery set up to run a fridge in a car.
AnswerID: 437179

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:24

Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:24
Do you have a fetish for car fridges or are you just a serious collector? LOL

FollowupID: 708597

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:26

Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:26
I reckon you are on top of it!! Plenty of nice cold beer at your place! LOL & happy fridging.
FollowupID: 708598

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:52

Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:52
The Trailblazer and the Evakool I paid for, a mate of mine runs a camping hire business in Darwin, so the Engel Waeco and Oztrail were hand me downs.

A few weeks ago we went on the week long annual boys end of year fishing trip to Willigi, I had the Engel as a food freezer, the Evakool as a food fridge, the Trailblazer was a beer fridge as was the Waeco in the boat and the Oztrail was the fish fridge once caught, that was for two of us the other 9 guys and three cars and four boats had similar set ups and we still took 3 x 100 lt eskies full of Ice.

By the way the fishing was great, although I had my boat towed 17 ks after it seazed from getting hot while idling in and out off the reefs, Over night we sprayed heaps of WD40 down the ports and freed it up, then replaced the impeller and took it fishing the next day with out incident, I have since had a look at the inside of the engine and no damage was done.
FollowupID: 708603

Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:26

Stephen,
there are many good fridges out there but if you want a robust can get knocked about fridge that has great insulation the Trailblaza is a good unit, the down side is they are more bulky.

Mine has never let me down after many years of use, can't state a time as I can't remember when I bought it. Others will have the same story about a wide range of fridges, some of the old Engles are well over 20yrs old and still going.

I definitely would have a dual battery system as stating the car in the morning can be a problem and starting batteries are not designed to run fridges. The second battery should be a deep cycle or a combined deep cycle/starting unit like the Optima batteries, this will insure you don't have to worry about whether the vehicle will start or not.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 437181

Reply By: Member - col H (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:26

gday stephen,
I am an evacool man; full stop. had am all.
As for dual battery set up, i would suggest building a base under floor an place two 1x 120 ah batteries that may charge from the your motor but dont draw from it. That way you can always start and 240 ah battery set up will run a chockers 85 l itre Evacool for week with out back up if you are carefull.This will cost you over $500, but warm XXXX really stuffs a break away.
col
AnswerID: 437182

Follow Up By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 20:56

Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 20:56
So does cold XXXX................LOL
FollowupID: 708625

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:26

Stephen, without a second (deep-cycle) battery and isolator you run the risk of discharging your cranking battery to the point of being not able to start your motor.

AnswerID: 437183

Reply By: pepper2 - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:34

Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 18:34
i have owned an engle 12volt,3way, now have an everkool and a bushman,can i suggest a bushman apparently the lowest energy consumption.
AnswerID: 437184

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 21:07

Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 21:07
I'll second that with the Bushman. I have a 40 litre waeco and are happy with it but need a second fridge.
I have looked at them all and have decided on the Bushman, they have been given a good rap with the lowest energy consumption plus they have a variety of size options with the same fridge which gives you a bit of flexibility.
Not going to knock the Engel but I have noticed their compressor motor is a lot noisier than the waeco if that is a consideration for you.
FollowupID: 708627

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 20:28

Sunday, Nov 28, 2010 at 20:28
Hi Stephen. I have a 120 series petrol Prado and a Waeco CF40 fridge. I have to disagree slightly regarding batteries. I replaced my starting battery with a diesel size which meant fitting a longer battery plate (It is 30mm longer) and fitted a SuperCharge brand 105ah "alrounder" battery.I did this about 9 months ago and recently ran the fridge set at 1 deg for 3 days continuous without setting off the low voltage current sensor in the fridge.(It was set at medium which I think equals 11.5v) so I think that was a pretty good test. All up we travelled for 2 weeks with the fridge running continuously. It will depend on what size fridge you want but the Waeco does have the voltage cutout built in as an added feature. It is there to protect the fridge compressor but works to the battery advantage as well. Bob

AnswerID: 437195

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 10:44

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 10:44
There are quite a few good fridges on the market today. Rather than settling on a brand have a look at size and configuration.

eg. A 60l Engel in the back of my car wasted a lot of room compared to the Waeco because the Waeco is taller and narrower.
Saying that......Im a good 6ft and can reach into the fridge.....If your shorter and don't want to have to climb into the back every-time you want something or room isn't an issue you might be better with a lower set up.

Dual battery? Essential...No
But I wouldn't even consider a fridge without dual batteries .......and a solar panel makes things even easier too. All depends how long you want to run your fridge without running your car........

AnswerID: 437241

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:01

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:01
I agree with Hairy... work out how you want to store, access it and measure up. If it's on a slide then it probably won't matter but in my case (120 Prado as well) I wanted a end opening fridge so it ended up being an Engel MT45 (40L).

Cheers, Nige
FollowupID: 708767

Reply By: Member - Stephen W1 (VIC) - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:27

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:27

Thanks for your helpful information.

Steph
AnswerID: 437304