which shower

Submitted: Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 09:57
ThreadID: 82751 Views:4733 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
hey all, going to start free camping a lot more and just wondering if its worth paying a couple of hundred for one of those gas showers or is a solar thing you hang up in the sun good enough. It s just the wife and I. Or is there a better one

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 10:20

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 10:20
We use one of those 12 volt camping showers like this one.
Costs about $20 to $25. Beware of cheaper ones.
Heat some water on the campfire or stove, plug into a 12v outlet and have a nice 2 or 3 minute shower regardless of the weather.
Available at any camping store or online.

AnswerID: 437236

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 11:01

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 11:01
Hi p_marns, Have used one of the 12v showers for maybe 10 years & is IMHO the best way to go. As per Allan B post & agree 100%. I find with the gas powered type like Coleman you set the water temp but more than often it runs hot or cold whilst under shower & you have to rely on 2nd person o/side of shower to regulate water temp & volume. With 12v shower the water & shower are with person showering so you can watch water level plus you can turn it off or on via switch (waterproof) near shower head or turn off the flow via the shower head...you cannot do this with the Coleman & some others. If the impaler pump sticks it is usually an easy fix,unscrew it clean,spray CRC & fixed. As stated we have used the same 12v yellow shower for 10 years & easy to pack. We have 12v plug on o/side of van or take our portable power pack (Jump starter) with external 12v outlets on the side.
FollowupID: 708687

Reply By: racinrob - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 10:28

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 10:28
Being a big believer in the KISS principle I reckon a bucket with a shower rose on the bottom is the way to go. Make up a post with a pulley to give you the height or rely on a convenient tree branch.
Heat your water over a fire, one of boiling to two of cold is about right and you're in business.

Rob.
AnswerID: 437238

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 11:02

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 11:02
My keeping it simple method is to heat some water in a kettle and mix to the right temperature in a bowl or bucket and wash with a flannel and soap. Not much water needed and easy to tip out next morning, as we step straight into bed with clean feet after out wash. Size of 'bath' depends on water supply; one or two litres if we are getting really short, up to a whole bucket if by a river or lake where clean water is easy to get. We have had one of those black plastic bags showers for many year and have never even tried it. Even when in the caravan which has a shower an hot water system, we use the tub method more often that lighting the HWS and having a shower. So easy.

AnswerID: 437243

Reply By: Bongo Fury- Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 11:15

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 11:15
I agree with the simpler the better.
Forget about all the fancy showers, all that is needed in the bush is a pommy wash.
BF
AnswerID: 437247

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 11:17

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 11:17
Agree with the 12v set-up. Its cheap and simple and can be easily controlled by the user. We actually carry a back-up in the form of a collapsible bucket with a shower rose on a lead coming from the bottom of the bucket. We have made up a bracket to fits onto the roof racks so we have somewhere to hang the bucket, but if you can get it up higher via a branch it works better. Also have one of the solar bags but dont like it - the water temp is not able to be controlled and the rose on it only gives a pathetic dribble of water.

And the sponge and dish method is also surprisingly refreshing and effective especially when water is scarce.

As MH said you can vary the amount of water that you use depending on availability. Just remember to keep soap and shampoo etc well away from waterways.

Happy travelling,

Val

AnswerID: 437248

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 13:01

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 13:01
It depends on what type of touring you do. If its just a few days or a week then 12volt pump in bucket etc is fine.

If its a four week plus trip out in the back blocks, a plumbed Glind type system is quick to set up and use, gets people thru quickly and SWMBO and the kids will bless you forever for it. They'll soon get peed off with fiddly pumps, shower heads that block, the waters too hot or too cold, they can't wash their hair properly and so on - you get the drift.

I've had all systems and settled on the plumbed in system - suits our needs and the mobs very happy to stay out there with me.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 437257

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 15:45

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 15:45
ditto...

plumbed in is the best ....

it also depends on what sort of shower you want...
a good hot steamy soaking paw-openning shower can't be done from a coleman or a bucket - you really need plumbing and a sealed cubicle
FollowupID: 708709

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 17:41

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 17:41
"PAW opening"?? Good for washing the dog too is it? LOL

FollowupID: 708721

Reply By: didiaust - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 13:10

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 13:10
We have had all types - the pump and warm water in bucket and the gas HWS. Ours was a Primus but if I were buying another I would buy a Coleman. We loved the convience of instant hot water - especially if we had been fishing and it was cold and dark . It is also better if there is a total fire ban. If you are stopping for long periods you can't beat the instant gas HWS. If you are stopping and starting then the simple set up is preferable.

Di
AnswerID: 437260

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:32

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:32
agreed - however we heat the water and pump it into a black solar bag style shower and hang it up - can control the water very well using the tap, and the useage is minimal (family of 4 shower and mrs washes her hair in under 10L). Also great for instant hot dishwashing water 3 times a day!.
FollowupID: 708758

Reply By: westskip - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 16:14

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 16:14
We have in the past used 12v showers however we found that after a fair amount of use they start to corrode inside and cease to work effectively/ In fact BCF in Mt Isa told us that they no longer stock them due to this problem and that the various manufacturers are aware of the situation.

We now use a solar shower connected to an extension tent pole which we tie the the van's rear bumper. We have lengenthed the hose from the shower so we can now hoist it to a fair height and still reach inside the shower tent through the rear window. Works a treat and no moving parts.

We either heat the water in the sun or boil a pot over the fire.

John & Helen
AnswerID: 437280

Reply By: Cheeky1 - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 16:35

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 16:35
The 12v pump and bucket of warm water is the most popular after reading this and many other like threads. Buy one of the primus, BCF, etc ones ('bout $30) and cut the pump off once it stuffs up - which it will do after several camping trips. I've been through about a dozen in the last couple of years. The last one that stuffed up I cut the pump off and fitted a small 12v bilge pump. Cost about $30 and has been 100% more reliable.
Cheeky1
AnswerID: 437281

Follow Up By: didiaust - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 17:16

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 17:16
We found the bilge pump so much better than the cheaper ones
FollowupID: 708716

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 17:50

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 17:50
Strange? We have been using our $20 odd 12v one regularly for several years without failure or incident. Perhaps because of only clean water and draining it out thoroughly before storing?
However, I agree, if the pump stuffs-up I'll replace it with a small marine pump.

FollowupID: 708722

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:14

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:14
IMO, the failure of the cheap 12V pumps is quite simply due to lack of maintenance...

I bought one about 8 years ago, and it gets used (more or less) regularly...

After we return from a trip away, I pull the hose off it, remove & clean the filter, and blow the whole thing out with compressed air, after which I give it a good spray with Lanox, re-assemble, and she's good to go the next time we want to use it:)

A couple of years after buying this one, we were at the annual camping, fishing, boating, outdoor expo in Brisvegas, where they had 'em on special, so I picked up another as a spare, given their reputatipon for not lasting very long ;-)

Well, the spare one remains un-used in it's box, though I do check every now & then to see that it still works..........

The other consideration when talking about pump capacity, is "How much water do you want to use, and /or how much do you have available?"

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 708772

Reply By: p_marns - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:54

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:54
thank you very much everyone, big help
AnswerID: 437315

Reply By: Member - Tom W (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 00:22

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 00:22
gday p not sure of the name and a bit pricey too but available from bcf
a mate showed us one which was a stainless steel container 20 lt with a push pump on top with an extendable shower rose could sit near the fire or on gas stove or just out in the sun to heat up was 400 odd though looked like a ripper but cheers tom
AnswerID: 437346

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 15:31

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 15:31
You would be talking about the >

RainMan

which is nothing more or less than a modified garden sprayer...

Certainly a nifty adaptation of an old idea, but obscenely over-priced IMO...

(YMMV)

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 708893

Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 15:16

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 15:16
We use the black bag. Have found that you need to test the water first on a hot day as it can be scalding. Often only takes a couple of hours to get hot. Otherwise heat some water and fill as you need it. One bagful does two people easily.
Min
AnswerID: 437389