Daredevildave
We went
camping at
Inskip Point Friday night, got there after dark and was set up by 9.30pm. Had a few drinks with friends and then went to bed around 11.00pm. The wife got up about 2.00am for a wee walk when she discovered some low lifes had stolen our Evakool Frdge Freezer complete with all contents. If that's not bad enough now the insurance company won't pay out because it was under the awning of our campertrailer not in a lockable fibreglass or aluminium annex! They took our premium knowing it was a campertrailer. Is there an insurance company that would cover
camping equipment once you have set up
camp?
Thanks in advance Dave & Jean
Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:49
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:49
You can’t cover portable items on motor vehicle or caravan insurance.
If you have household insurance, cover your portable items on this.
My caravan has its genset, solar panels, 2
portable fridges and laptop insured as portable items. They are covered when not secured.
Regards Dennis
Follow Up By: Daredevildave - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:13
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:13
Hi Dennis
When I rang RACQ (till now all our insurances are with them) I asked if I could claim against our home policy and the girl kept comming back to the "caravan" policy. It has been suggested by a few people we take the matterup with our local office rather than their hotline. Dave
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:37
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:37
If you dont get satisfaction from your insurance company "case officer" or whatever the front desk staff may be called, go to their internal Ombudsman - every company has one, and above that there is a general insurance industry Ombudsman. We had a big claim on our house contents a couple of years ago and just could not get any progress until we asked to talk to their Ombudsman. Things moved much more smoothly after that.
Val
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 08:26
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 08:26
The case officer can't help you - just get the correct insurance.
SGIO insures our portable items under the house policy - insured anywhere in Australia - unsecured.
Regards Dennis
Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 09:01
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 09:01
Sorry Dave, I should have been more specific.
You stated “I asked if I could claim against our home policy and the girl kept comming back to the "caravan" policy.”
Of course the girl kept coming back to the caravan policy – You have to have them specifically listed on your house policy, under portable items – everything is not automatically covered.
Regards Dennis
Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:58
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:58
Dave,
try TCIS insurance. They are are specialist 4x4 mob. I have the ute, slide on and a seperate
camping equipment policy to cover all of those things.
Lisa Brock
Tier 1
4WD Broker
TCIS Insurance Brokers Pty Ltd
Email: lisa@tcis.com.au
Web: www.tcis.com.au
Ph: (08) 8278 7000
Fax: (08) 8278 8555
Follow Up By: Daredevildave - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:17
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:17
Thanks Mick
A friend of ours suggested this company. I will need to look into this and see if they have branches in Qld
Reply By: happytravelers - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:59
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:59
Very sorry to hear of your loss, one can only hope that karma catches up with these scum bags. I've always hoped that there has been a certain degree of trust and respect campers, as everybody has to leave gear on show, it's the nature of
camping. But I guess there will always be some bar*#@&ds out there somewhere.
Jon
Follow Up By: Daredevildave - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:22
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 21:22
Jon
When I rang the police at 6.00am I was told that the
Tin Can Bay police wouldn't be able to see us until late in the afternoon due to having to attend a serious car accident that happened about the same time the mongrels had decamped. I hoped that it was Karma and that the vehicle involved was the same as the one identified as being their get away car.
Follow Up By: OREJAP - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 22:17
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 22:17
Hi Daredevildave, Did you ask the Police if your evakool was in the crashed vehicle? If you have not done so already make sure you give the Police all the info you possess on these theives & also mention it to the
Park rangers who cover that area. Did you speak with other campers? maybe your stuff wasn't the only thing stolen. Good luck in finding your gear & subsequent insurance claim.
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:53
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:53
go into to noosa or
tewantin pawn brokers. you will find it there most likely!!!!
Reply By: Bryan (WA) - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 22:55
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 22:55
Hi Dave and Jean,
we have our Camprite camper insured with GIO. it is a caravan policy and it includes items being stolen from zip up awnings - so all items in the camper are covered. With the camper trailer not being not lockable, we double checked and confirmed everything was covered if stolen form the camper..
Bryan
Follow Up By: dbish - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 23:54
Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 23:54
Bit late now but i make it a bit harder by fixing multi strand SS cable to my port friges & lockthem to the van when in the anex.
Reply By: OzTroopie - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 04:16
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 04:16
Now i've heard of midnight snacks, but not anything involving taking of the fridge itself............... Shame to hear your story, a reflection of the times we live in where anything that's not bolted down, electrified and guarded by dogs will "walk away" when you're not looking at at.
Recently we had a neighbor who had his backpack (wallet, phone, etc) stolen from inside his car, which was int he driveway of his house. They're game little buggers, prepared to steal anything from right under your nose,.
Reply By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 07:11
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 07:11
I recently saw a locking cable that was 5metres long and if severed it screamed its head off at about 120db. The lock had a battery powered fitting that sent signal through the stainless wire. Will get one before our next trip when needing to take an external fridge.The days of trust are over.
Follow Up By: DOEY- Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:31
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:31
hi
just wondering where you saw this cable? i might be interested in getting one for my solar panels.
Follow Up By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 13:32
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 13:32
Saw it at an electrician wholesale business while there looking for something else.I would imagine they are out there in the wider world,not just here in Tassie. :)
Follow Up By: Member - Hillel K (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 13:37
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 13:37
Its called lock alarm importer is in
Perth cheaper direct from them
Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 14:02
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 14:02
hi doey
www,alarmlocks .com
www,psaproducts.com.au
if you try google you will find several sights that trade in them
Follow Up By: Daredevildave - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 17:00
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 17:00
hi doey,
Have located the cable you are taking about it is called Damaco Lock Alarm/ 4.6 meter with 120 Decibel Alarms. www.danaco.com.au They are in VIC and they will deliver within a few days. It costs $88.00. Will be sending away for one straight away with xmas
camping coming up.
Thanks Very Much
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 07:41
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 07:41
I have mentioned in other related posts re: campers having stuff knocked off at
Rainbow Beach, Teewah Beach ect, some of the low life mongrels work in pairs, even in broad day lite they have been known to wait for campers to leave their
camp sites for a fishing trip or to get supplies ect and the theives take every thing, Tents, Camper Trailers, or they just select things that are easily sold, we were staying at Teewah and they came through one night and pinched all the Fishing Rods leaning up against the tents, it was estimated they went through 8
camp sites, you have to be on guard 24/7 and as mentioned lock things down.
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 09:13
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 09:13
I agree. I'll never
camp at Teewah or Inskip as they seem to be a common target for tea-leafs. Also much too crowded and unhygenic (overused) for my liking.
Reply By: landseka - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 11:43
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 11:43
Caravan parks are worse than campsites I think.
We lost a Webber BabyQ from Jacob's
Well park last trip to QLD.
We found out that with a Marina just the other side of the back fence lots of stuff disappears probably to end up on a boat deck.
Reply By: Evakool - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:10
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:10
Hi Dave and Jean,
Please give us a call if you don't have any luck with your insurance company, we should be able to help you in replacing the Evakool.
Also, if you let us know some further details we can note it in case they ever try and service the unit.
It so sad to hear that you can't even go
camping without having to lock and bolt everything down so people won't steal it.
Brodie
Evakool
07 5492 7777
Follow Up By: Daredevildave - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:35
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 12:35
Thanks Brodie,
We have already contacted evakool in Caloundra and given them the details and serial number. So if it comes in to be serviced they will contact as. I am looking into some sort of alarm to go on our new fridge when we can save up the money to replace it. Also our local police have all the details as
well. Thanks
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 13:39
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 13:39
I would be looking at the local Cash Converter Stores in the areas north of
Brisbane.
Follow Up By: Daredevildave - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 14:55
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 14:55
Hi Daza
Have contacted Hervey Bay cash converter with all the details as the ones that took our fridge came from Hervey Bay. They now have it on there board of stoled goods. They wil contact police if it comes in. Thanks
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 18:12
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 18:12
Hi Brodie,
What a very nice gesture out of a very aweful situation experienced by Dave and Jean. I hope comments like yours make people think more seriously about Evakool for fridge purchases, I know it will sit in my memory bank for a very long time.
I am sadened to hear crap like this goes on and can only hope the lowlife's time will come....very soon.
All I can say is thank goodness I am still allowed to take my 4 legged friend
camping at Inskip, she would make the mongrels think twice about entering
our camp unannounced. At 30kgs and only 6mths old she puts the wind up you already.
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Daredevildave - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:32
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:32
Hi Trevor
My wife is very keen on getting a dog for security when we go
camping, especially as she is left in
camp while I go 4wding. Trouble is you can't
camp in national parks and a lot of
state forest parks with them.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 21:23
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 21:23
Hi Dave,
I won't get too far off topic and will leave it at this statement.
The large amount of good things a dog gives back to you far outweighes the small amount of inconvenience they can cause.
I was 6 months without a dog at
home between last xmas and June this year and in that 6 months for the first time ever in my time here in Brissy, I had some mongrel come into my yard (unannounced) and stole the brass tap off the front of my house. Nice chap (probably chaps) even turned the mains water off for me. Everyone in the street without a dog got the same treatment.
I bet the b@$tards don't try it again now that my "puppy" is giving them what for.
Good luck recovering the fridge, I sympathise with you.
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Member - Barry P (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:09
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 20:09
bunnings sell a lock and cable setup with a inbuilt alarm barry
Reply By: Sea-Dog - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 17:11
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 17:11
Sad thing is that you are not alone in your story.. while I have not lost anything as yet (but do
camp at Inskip regularly) I have heard of locals arriving in small tinnies and helping themselves to your stuff only to zip back across the bay.. probably to sell your stuff on Ebay or Cash Convertors.
I would love to disturb the low lifes in the act... needless to say the police would not be getting involved.