towing with a 5spd gearbox?

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:17
ThreadID: 82799 Views:8520 Replies:20 FollowUps:45
Had the gearbox pulled down and checked after 14500klm's towing a caravan.
It was found that the 5th gear was a nice shade of blue so I have learnt my lesson and will not tow in 5th gear any more.
Looks like a bill of about 2 grand to replace bearings and seals as well as the clutch.
This is in a 2005 2.5 courier TD. with 200,000. klm's
For the sake of ten klms an hr I will have to slow down to about eighty five klm.
Was told that if I had done the same thing in a late model popular unbreakable brand it would have had a complete failure of 5 gear.
They have had several this year but as I have not seen any of these this only what the foreman has told me.

Moral of the story tow in 4th gear !!!

Bushy/

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:29

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:29
Yep. Had my first Hilux for 200,000 km no problems.
Then started towing. Used 5 gear & buggered 5th gear by the time I got to 250,000.
Expensive lesson so I do not tow in 5th in my new Hilux.
AnswerID: 437515

Follow Up By: Member - Warwick D (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:34

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:34
This will bring claims of people who have defended towing in 5th out of the woodwork. Those with most experience, the mechanics who repair these, love people towing in 5th. Now I will wait for someone to say that despite countless examples, they are different , on their scientific study of one.
I agree, 5th gear towing is very expensive, for you, or whoever buys the vehicle from you,
WD
FollowupID: 709052

Reply By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:43

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:43
Don't have a caravan but surely it is also a matter of engine capacity/power/torque and gear ratios?
AnswerID: 437519

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:58

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:58
While engine capacity, power, torque and gear ratios have some bearing on towing in 5th gear, the actual design and construction of the gearbox has much more.

Most 4wd gearboxes (manual) are not designed to tow in 5th.

Disco.
FollowupID: 709058

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:01

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:01
Thanks, good to know that.
FollowupID: 709060

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:40

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:40
Bazooka, 5th gear is basically an overdrive gear which means that it is small and heats up quickly.
engine /power just means that you can blow the gearbox up quicker.LOL
Bushy.
FollowupID: 709065

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 21:43

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 21:43
Thanks Bushy. I've since read a few more comments on other sites and understand the gearbox design issues a bit better now. 5th gear being on one side of the gearbox means it is susceptible to torque and strain whereas 4th is straight thru and (therefore?) the best/strongest for towing??? Perhaps a mechanic amongst us can clarify but in a nutshell that's what a few people were writing. Makes me wonder how much damage we did to a work vehicle (Nissan diesel trayback) a little time ago, although the trailer we were pulling was not as heavy as a camper. Pity the poor guy who buys it when it's offloaded in a few years time.
FollowupID: 709076

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:31

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:31
Check my reply below.
FollowupID: 709087

Reply By: drjfly - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:43

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:43
What sort of weight are we talking about here? Is it just heavy loads eg large boats and caravans or does this apply down to a tinnie?

Darren
AnswerID: 437520

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:54

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:54
I towed an off road camper trailer weighing about 1,000 kg total loaded with camp gear fuel & water.

It took about 50,000 km of towing in 5th gear to trash the gearbox in my Hilux.

Lesson learned!
FollowupID: 709056

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:31

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:31
drjfly The van is about 1250kg loaded, so it is not super heavy.

Bushy
FollowupID: 709061

Reply By: Axle - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:53

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:53
G/Day Mate, Have seen people spend half that much on clutch replacement alone at those kms!,,,,,, Don't think your going to bad really, considering the amount of towing, More than llikeley would have to replace bearings even towing in 4th at those Ks, Put a additive in the oil to stabilize the oil temp a tad can help things a lot.

AnswerID: 437521

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:00

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:00
I used the Moreys additive in my box because I had heard all the bad stories about towing in 5th. Made no difference. Still buggered my gearbox within 50,000 km of towing my 1000kg of loaded camper trailer.
FollowupID: 709059

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:33

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:33
Hi Axel had penrite and molybond in it to no avail.
FollowupID: 709062

Follow Up By: Member - edwin (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 23:12

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 23:12
hi ,is this axle from townsville
FollowupID: 709093

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:55

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 19:55
i makes the idea of putting larger diameter tyres on for the sake of a very few wet patches look a tad silly ...... but !!!!
I say that because with the bigger tyres it lowers the revs for the same speed but it does have one advantage ..... it gives you a higher speed in 4th for the same revs ...... 4th being the stronger gear it is worth looking at ..
AnswerID: 437522

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:47

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 20:47
hey you could by a turbo gearbox, they should be unbreakable!!!!

speaking of the unbreakable hilux, i own one of the first series, and let me tell you i have tried everything to kill it!!!!!!

4 speed, two new diffs, old ones wore out at 326000 kays. 2.4l diesel.

gearbox rebuilt year and a bit ago.

thanks for the tip.

mental note to ones self, tow in 5th gear big dollars.

well for the gearbox kit anyway!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 437531

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 23:54

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 23:54
didnt the first series Hilux have the "L" diesel motor-2.2 litre?
second series had the "2L".
FollowupID: 709100

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 09:23

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 09:23
Those early hiluxes were unbreakable because they didn't have the horsepower to do any damage.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 709135

Reply By: Holiday Maker - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:04

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:04
As a retired mechanic (or should that be tired) I can vouch for not towing in overdrive.

If you have a 6 speed box, tow in 5th - a 5 speed box, tow in 4th - etc.

It doesn't matter how much power or torque you produce (I tow a 1500kg van with a Falcon XR6 Turbo - enormous amount of grunt) but I still tow in top gear and not overdrive.

The ratio for any top gear is 1:1. i.e. engine turns once, gearbox turns once, straight through the largest and strongest cogs. This dissipates the heat generated in the gearbox better.

For those people who tow with an automatic a transmission cooler is highly recommended and have the auto serviced every 20,000km including the supposed sealed for life one's.

If you have a dipstick in the auto, smell the oil, if it smells burnt you either have big problems or are about too. Get it to a transmission specialist pronto.

Dusty

AnswerID: 437540

Follow Up By: Sailinghampster - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 07:24

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 07:24
Holiday Maker

Many thanks for your post. Kinda settles it for me. I blew an auto in one HJ60 and a manual shortly after and blamed the gut-less U2.

No more using 5th for me.

Ham
FollowupID: 709116

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 08:25

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 08:25
Holiday Maker Point taken, i was a fitter/turner for many years and should have known better.
Nothing like a few dollars going out,to wake you up.
Bushy
FollowupID: 709126

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 09:30

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 09:30
Same goes for Auto's as well I tow in 4th ALWAYS and had the tranny oil checked at 130,000 Was just a bit dirtyaccording to the mechanic that checked it.

Went to a so called Tansmission specialist in Adelaide who put the wrong oil in it and nipped an O ring.

Cost me $ 500 to get it sorted out
At least I got my money back off him.

Never again, it will go to Toyota who have the correct tranny fluid.
FollowupID: 709137

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 15:57

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 15:57
Aren't a lot of the 6 speed's, double overdrive? meaning one should still tow in fourth if that is the situation.

I have been a big advocate of towing in 4th since a couple of gearbox rebuilds that were attributed to towing in 5th and another one that was tried to be blamed on towing in 5th when it was just a dodgey main shaft direct from the factory (we all know about the early GU Patrol's problems by now). First two rebuilds were covered by Toyota in my 100 series but probably not really Toyotas fault but go figure, the dodgey Nissan box wouldn't be touched by Nissan cause I had nursed it past their warranty period. I H8 Nissan for warranty if you don't already know, bunch of pr!cks if you ask me.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 709179

Follow Up By: Holiday Maker - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 17:25

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 17:25
You are right Trevor,

6 speed boxes are double overdrive, got carried away a bit, they should also be towed in fourth.

Thanks for pointing that out. (I did say I was tired)

Dusty
FollowupID: 709200

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 19:33

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 19:33
It is really up to each individual to get to know their vehicle and find out where the 1:1 drive ratio is in their gearbox and don't go past it when towing. If in doubt ask a gearbox or auto tranny repairer to point you in the right direction.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 709212

Reply By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:30

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:30
I have towed gear from 1 tonne to over 3 tonne in 5th gear in Toyota,s for over 1,000,000,000 km no problem at all, I sit on 100 to 110 kph with out the tow vehicle dragging, if you start to feel it pull drop back a gear, It isn't rocket science.

I have looked at your set up in your profile, if you tow it like that, I would say you are dragging it not Towing it, hence your problem.

I hope that helps.
AnswerID: 437546

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:58

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:58
Wow....1,000,000,000 km... one thousand million kilometers eh... ;-)

How long did that take you 450 years? Just pulling your chain....know what u mean.

CHeers,

FollowupID: 709090

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:59

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:59
Hey, just realised....that's a billion kilometres!!

FollowupID: 709091

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 23:15

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 23:15
Yeah Mark you are right 3 to many 000s LOL, I must say though it probably felt like it.
FollowupID: 709094

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 23:19

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 23:19
"....if you start to feel it pull drop back a gear"

Which is essentially no different to how you should drive when not towing (change down earlier rather than later). Part of the reported problems might be due to poor driving skills/attention but surely not all?
FollowupID: 709095

Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 01:13

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 01:13
"....if you start to feel it pull drop back a gear"

spot on Bazooka!
However, the 5th gear can still be stripped without you actually feeling the engine "pull" or drop revs.
You could still strip 5th towing a light camper trailer where the engine doesnt struggle or "pull" at all. What you cant notice whilst driving is the wearing of the cogs!!!
for most people i reckon its about sitting on the speed limit. If the sign says 100, they must do 100, So when the engine pings it head off lookng for 5th, they change to keep it happy instead of slowing down.

FollowupID: 709107

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:52

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 22:52
Bushy
Iv'e got a 2001 2.5 bravo and have found that the gear box runs hot and burns the oil. Each time I change the gear box oil [20 th klm ] its black, I was using mineral based oil [burnt] then a synthetic/mineral blend which was not as bad but still burnt. I'm now using full synthetic and the box seems cooler,so will see if its better when I change it next time.The cars done 300000 klm and gear box still good with no noise even with camper on and I use 5th but not on inclines change down to 4th. Your problem is common when towing but alot of cars strip 5th gear. I would strongly suggest that you change your gear box and transfer case oil regularly and as youv'e found out don't tow in 5th

Murray
PS Another problem that Bravos have is that the seal between the transfer case and gear box leaks and oil tranfers from the transfer case into the gear box leaving the transfer case low on oil and can cause premature failure of transfer case.
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 437549

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 08:34

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 08:34
Murrry Hi.
Am getting all the bearings and seals replaced so it should be ok.
Had a good look at the box and apart from the discolouration on 5 the rest is good for the age and klms of the vechile.

Bushy.
FollowupID: 709129

Reply By: splits - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 23:27

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2010 at 23:27
I had a mate a few years ago with a Toyota 5 speed behind a 202 Holden in an old Vauxhall. It eventually tore all the teeth off 5th.

It all comes down to the amount of stress on the gear. 5th is just a light load, high speed, cruising gear. Low speeds increase the load on it. Towing makes it worse, particularly in soft sand.
AnswerID: 437555

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 06:33

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 06:33
We tow a 2.5 ton (or there abouts) van with a V8 Cruiser, and used to use 5th all the time until a couple of years ago, when a mechanic explained what could happen to the gear box if i continued doing so.
Now don't go any higher than 4th.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 437575

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 08:39

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 08:39
Baz&Pud, surprised to hear that I would have thought that the g/box would have been heavy enough to handle the power .
Goes to show that if you tow the 4th gear is the right way to go.

Bushy.
FollowupID: 709130

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 09:38

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 09:38
Bushy04
We towed for some 100,000ks, and yes the box seemed strong enough to cope as long as you changed gear when necessary, but the advice seems to be, don't tow in 5th.
It was explained to me, 4th gear cog is the size of a extra large apple and can handle anything, as soon as you go to 5th the cog is the size of a pea, and can't cope with the pressure.
The above is in my layman's terms, and not that of a mechanic.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 709138

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 10:42

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 10:42
Baz&Pud
Good point I like your explanation it says it all.

Thanks Bushy.
FollowupID: 709143

Reply By: Member - John G- Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 07:11

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 07:11
G'day Bushy

The manual of my 2000 'unbreakable' says don't tow in 5th, so being a good boy, I don't tow in 5th.

AnswerID: 437579

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 08:41

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 08:41
Hi John must get around to reading mine one day it may just help.lol.

Bushy
FollowupID: 709131

Reply By: PradOz - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 09:41

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 09:41
Just wondering what is the general consensus of opinion for towing with a 5 speed AUTO?
Any different thoughts to those of a manual as already expressed in this thread? cheers....

AnswerID: 437594

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 10:35

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 10:35
PradOz hi, good point, most autos are rated at a lower towing capacity so that may be why?
Don't drive an auto (been driving manuals for fifty years) and dont like them .

Bushy.
FollowupID: 709142

Follow Up By: gbc - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 17:05

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 17:05
Read your manual - it'll tell you if fifth is an overdriven gear or not. If it is (as I'd suspect) it'll also say to tow in fourth.
FollowupID: 709197

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 19:39

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 19:39
Read my follow up above.

Just to clarify it a bit further. I run an EGT gauge as well.

When Towing 2800kg

On a flat road in 5th gear the EGT gets up to over 400deg nad tranny hunts up and down if any undulations

Drop it back into 4th and temp drops to 325.

Car sits at 2300rpm at 90kph and doesnt get hot and is just revving in the sweetspot and does so for hours no probs.

Doesnt seem to affect fuel consumption either.

Would NEVER tow in 5th EVER.

FollowupID: 709213

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 09:06

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 09:06
Graham, the temp difference tells the whole story.

thanks Bushy
FollowupID: 709262

Reply By: youngharry52 - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 11:48

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 11:48

have had a 100series 5 speed and now 200series 6 speed. The owners manual clearly says not to tow in top gear (5th or 6th resp). In each case it is only a small planetary overdrive gear.

AnswerID: 437604

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 11:55

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 11:55
We used to tow in fifth until I started reading adverse comments such as being posted above, & then checking with Mazda and then very quickly stopped doing so. We tow an 18 foot Jayco Pop Top with a three Litre Mazda BT50 manual and always now use fourth.

I think most people tend to want to tow in fifth thinking that they will get better fuel economy because of the lower RPM for a given speed if using fifth.

We tow at about 90 to 95 KMH in fourth and consistently find that fuel economy is about the same and sometimes better than when we used to tow in fifth.

I think that even if the overdrive fifth could handle the load, it makes the motor work a bit harder, whereas in fourth and towing at about 90 KMH the motor just spins over nice and easy with heaps of unused grunt & fuel economy is helped in this way. Anyway happy towing & I hope the non believers ( those that still tow in fifth) don't come to grief as it is an expensive exercise to repair gear boxes, manual or auto.
AnswerID: 437605

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 09:12

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 09:12
Barry will start towing in 4th when I tow again, every one has shown thats the only way to go.
Like most people I thought the fuel consumption would blow out but your comments and several others seem to point to a reasonable useage.

Thanks Bushy.
FollowupID: 709263

Reply By: kiwicol - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 18:42

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 18:42
400,000ks on my GQ 150-200,000ks towing C/T of about 1.2 tonne, towed in 5th gear. Gearbox, motor, diffs all untouched, and still get 14ks ltr towing. and still going strong, and no additives added any where. But wouldn't like to do that in a later model 4x4.

Cheers Col

AnswerID: 437642

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 19:40

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 19:40
Yeah my uncle used to say the same as you Col, [he had a number of GQ's too].......until his prized GU (now mine) spat the main shaft and inner teeth of 5th gear towing his van into Norseman in 5th a few years back. He was very sorry he did not listen to my words of warning. "What would a young whipper snapper like Trevor know compared to an experienced campaigner like myself" was probably what he was thinking before the explosion of metal in the box of the GU.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 709215

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 21:18

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 21:18
Trevor,

You and I both know that the early GU 5th gear failures had absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with towing...
Indeed, a very large number of the vehicles so affected had never towed anything!

Those that had towed, well the failure may have been accelerated somewhat, but rest assured, they were going to fail sooner or later regardless....

My vehicle is one of the affected ones (which came from the factory with out-of-spec parts fitted), and it is towing something more often than not, and I am not afraid to use 5th gear when appropriate..

Now that it has the upgraded (thicker) 5th gear, and correct length spline on the mainshaft, I am even less afraid of using 5th (whether towing or not!)...

It's all about turque loading through the 'box, and I don't "lug" the engine in ANY gear.... (YMMV)

Ed C

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 709225

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 21:23

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 21:23
Sorry.... torque... last line

;-))
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 709228

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 09:18

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 09:18
I get your point with the early GU's and it was not really fair of me to draw this comparison for this thread.

I know you of all people know what you are talking about and how to drive a vehicle but for the average lay person like myself or the vast majority of others on here I just think the rewards are far outweighed by the pitfalls.

Trust me, with my cruiser I was told the same thing as you are saying "if it's not labouring chuck it into 5th" well at 130kph it is definately not labouring so I used to use 5th all the time and guess what....that box was rebuilt twice under warranty. First time it was not a pretty sight.

There is bugger all fuel savings and not much extra in top end speed between 5th and 4th but if you get it wrong there is big expense in fixing the gearbox. That's the way I see it anyhow.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 709264

Reply By: malglo - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 19:32

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 19:32
"It was explained to me, 4th gear cog is the size of a extra large apple and can handle anything, "

I was always of the opinion there are no 1:1 (4th gear) cogs, just a lockup of input and output shafts of the gearbox.

Please correct me if wrong.

mal
AnswerID: 437647

Reply By: drjfly - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 16:32

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 16:32
Have followed this thread with interest and today have checked my manual. I own a 2.8 turbo diesel triton (2005) and the book says nothing about towing in 5th. In fact it says in hilly country use a lower gear but that is it. I am certainly not going to argue with everyone here about wether I should or should not tow in 5th. At 100km/h my rpm is about 2500-2600 in 5th gear, in 4th gear this reduces the speed to a bit below 85 km/h for the same rpm. In order to achieve a reasonable speed of 90 - 95 km/h the rpm increases to 2900-3000. I have standard size tyres. Is this a problem? I haven't tried it over any distance to see what happens to fuel economy and the increase in noise would probably drive me insane. What are my other options to improve the situation or is what I have is what I have?

Darren
AnswerID: 437900

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 17:28

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 17:28
I don't think there is much you can do about it Darren, others more knowledgeable than me would be better to comment on tyre size or other options. We used to tow in fifth & we did so thinking the lower RPM would give better fuel economy, but as already stated, if your "target" speed is about the 90 KMH mark, then to us it really made no difference to fuel economy towing in fourth, in fact if anything, its marginally better.

We are also relatively new to caravanning & I used to feel I had to get along lickedy split for fear of holding other motorists up, but these days, although still conscious of a build up of vehicles behind me, I worry about it less but take every opportunity to move over & let them pass.

Like you, I was also concerned that by constantly towing in fourth that the increased RPM might be a bit noisy & sound like I was unnecessarily revving the guts out of it, but I quickly got used to it. I think also that by dropping your "target" speed from 95/100 KMH back to 85/90 KMH makes for a much more relaxed trip & it certainly will give you a huge improvement in fuel consumption. It also makes very little difference to your travel time on an ordinary day travel of 300 or 400 Km.

Also............ it's my first diesel and I love to hear it "growl" as if it's daring any hills etc to challenge it!! Much better than listening to any rumblings from the passenger seat!! LOL & safe travelling.
FollowupID: 709500

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 17:51

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 17:51
drjfly, had an 03 triton myself before we got the Courier, they are very much alike and after what i have seen and heard in this thread and at the workshop there is no way that I would tow in 5th again.
It makes for false economy a gearbox rebuild cost about 2-3 grand so is it worth it for the sake of 10klm?

Hope this helps Bushy.
FollowupID: 709505

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 18:23

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 18:23
The whole point of going on a vanning holiday, surely is not how fast you can travel but

HOW MUCH YOU SEE WHILE TRAVELLING.

We found 90kph was good Could look at things and enjoy it

Rather than white knuckle driving, sometimes in adverse weather at 100kph plus.
Our rig is 15meters long so fast travel in the wind is not a really enjoyable experience.

Even on long stretches where there wasnt much the everchanging country was worth a look.

We went for 6 months or so we thought Just got home last month after 22 months on the road.

No need to hurry Could have taken another year if we wanted to.

AnswerID: 437910

Follow Up By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 21:15

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 21:15
Graham. could not agree with you more.
We went for three months and covered 14.500klm and we still felt like we were rushing, however our time frame was fixed by medical treatment for a terminally ill person we took with us, ( three vans and a camper van.) Will do the same run again if possible as this is one big place.
When I went on about the 10klm difference you always have someone who has to get there 5 min earlier or there wheels might fall off. I agree with you and feel that your comment says it all.
Unfortunately my mechanic has chastised me for towing in 5th and the bill will be expensive learning for me.

Thanks Bushy.
FollowupID: 709540

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 22:28

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 22:28
I have travelled from Darwin to Adelaide following a Solar Car in the Solar car challenge at 75/80 kph we finished 3rd out right.

I have also travelled Australia extensively at 100/110 kph and towing in 5th, trust me the view and experience is not that different.
FollowupID: 709555

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 22:40

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 22:40
Your life your money.

However I prefer to spend the money on the holiday, not rebuilding transmissions as it seems others in this thread have had to do.

As I am towing 2850kg I will leave it firmly in 4th..

The cross wind down near Esperance was so bad it pushed the van out and dragged the car across and scrubbed the outside of one rear tyre and the inside of the other. Made a real mess in about 200k.

I have a friend who drove a solar car from Darwin to Adelaide many many years ago A D Bartell by name He did it solo and I think was the first to do it.

FollowupID: 709561

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 22:47

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 22:47
Up to a 1,000,000 ks towing in 5th and no rebuild yet, by the way it is not luck, it is how you do it.

That was the point of my post.
FollowupID: 709563

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:03

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:03
As they say there is always one.

No one is doubting you but

The extra fuel cost is enough to stop most of us travelling at that speed which in most states is illegal anyway.

You are the only one to advocate what everyone else is steering away from so perhaps despite your superior driving style the average Joe will err on the side of safety, sensibility and saving his pocket.

I tried your method but the temp gauge told the story and before the car was actually "lugging" the engine temp went up at least 75deg. So I stay in 4th and spend my hard earned on better things.

I certainly spent enough on fuel without travelling at 110kph.

Its not how fast you can travel , its how the B thing will stop from that speed if something goes radaically wrong.

Something that a lot of hoons forget except they use trees or lamposts to assist their braking. LOL

FollowupID: 709950

Reply By: outsider - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:59

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:59
surely it would depend some on the weight of what was being towed, I doubt a 400-500kg camper would kill a decent gear box in 5th on the highway ?
wouldn't be much different to having 4 big blokes and their gear in the vehicle.
AnswerID: 438263