Camping Light Recommendation

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 12:29
ThreadID: 82812 Views:7757 Replies:16 FollowUps:10
Hi Everyone,
I'm looking for a camping light that i can run from the car 12V ideally, is bright enough to see, has a reasonable battery life and won't draw too much on the battery ideally. Was thinking of one of those LED ones but so many out there. Has anyone got any good recommendations?
Matt

Reply By: Member - Shaun H (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 12:47

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 12:47
Hi Matt I have purchased a 60 LED light from Super Cheap it was about $49 2 years ago, It uses 12 volt and draws 0.3amps, There are heaps of LED lights on the market it all depends on what you want to use them for. LED are all low on the power and have a long life. Look around Ebay, Jaycar and camping stores.

Thanks Shaun
AnswerID: 437609

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 16:18

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 16:18
They are $70 now!!
FollowupID: 709183

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 17:57

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 17:57
Got one of these 60 LED lights back in June from Super Cheap and paid around $45. Brilliant for all sorts of uses. Cig lighter plug and about 6 metres of lead.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 709202

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 12:47

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 12:47
Depends on how much light you want, I have a 12v Fluro which uses a 36W fluro tube, fantastic light and doesn't huge amounts of power, you almost need multiple lights, the fluro is for when you need maximum light and then some portable led lights for when you don't.

Fluro Light Link (This is similar to what I have)

12v Fluro
AnswerID: 437610

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 12:50

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 12:50
Despite recent advancements , the old standard folded fluro still puts out most for power input and is best alround product for a plug into your cigaree lighter type application.

http://www.piranhaoffroad.com.au/index.php/default/piranha-premium-fluro

We tend to to use battery powered lanterns ourselves and in this catergory the Primus 300lumens LED product that uses 3 d cells is a winner (aussie disposals etc)
AnswerID: 437611

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 12:53

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 12:53
Matt
I would make 2 recommendations
lowest power draw -go for the led strip light inthe EO shop. I have one in the Roof top tent and carry another inside a bit of conduit across the cargo barrier which comes out the side window to light under the annex.
for a bit brighter light- get a 12 v 12 watt fluro bulb from bunnings put it in a clear plastic container and you have bright light that travels well. we have used this setup for years in the camper trailer .
not a big difference price wise.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 437612

Reply By: chisel - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 13:02

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 13:02
Versa-lite http://www.burnbrite.com/Our-Products--Services/Product-Details/Pages/Electronics/Lighting/Portables/Versa-Lite-Portable-Fluorescent-Lead-Light.aspx
AnswerID: 437614

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 17:20

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 17:20
I second this.
Have had 2 for years and they have lasted well.
Draw = .075amps.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 709199

Follow Up By: Member - edwin (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 20:14

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 20:14
I third the versalite,same here ive had the same one for 8 years and as a tour operator it gets used a lot and no problems ,its much brighter than other 11 watt flouros,its the 2nd one ive had ,1st one got run over,smashed up ,changed the globe and it still worked and then had it stolen,i bought a col-lite but it didnt last ,despite the cost,,then i bought another versa lite,think theyre about $120 now,australian made,,,well worth every cent,,draws about 0.9 amps,,,
FollowupID: 709219

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 13:02

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 13:02
While we still carry a 12v corded flouro as a spare, we now exclusively use those
round led lights with a couple of aaa batteries in them. About 8cm across
with a magnet in the back & a hook to hang it up. Strong enough to read by & will
hang or stick just about anywhere you want. Lasted 4 weeks on last trip & still
going strong. Cost about $15 in camping stores or about $5 in junkshops..all the
same article. Plenty of cheap & expensive corded one around if thats what you
want, but we found these more versatile...kids love em too. & just the shot for nocturnal loo trips.......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 437615

Reply By: Wokwon - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 13:14

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 13:14
I bought some 12V 15W compact flouros off ebay and stuck them in a Bunnings $10 leadlight case (cut off the mains plug and wired on a merit plug). They draw around 1A continuous when on. Excellent light spread and quality.
AnswerID: 437618

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:09

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:09
Value-for-money wise, this is definitely the way to go IMO...

I have a few of these, some for mains (240V) use, and some w/- 12V plugs, the same as you have done ..

I also bought a few of these >> 12V, 180 LED, E27 light bulb (they come in 240V as well)..

Quite brilliant (pardon the pun;-)), they work very well indeed in the Arlec work lamp, giving a very good spread of light.. If you haven't tried them, I'd suggest you give 'em a go...

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 709299

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 14:38

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 14:38
We use led bedside lights we got at Woolies in their electrical section for about $20, our local Big W doesn't carry them. They come with a 240v connection but with a stepdown transformer to 12v, I discarded the 240v section and hard wired the light into the existing wiring on the CT they throw plenty of light
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 437622

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 15:27

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 15:27
1) DO NOT get a flouro, they attract mozies and bugs like crazy, are electrically noisy ( if you want to listen to HF or AM) and LEDs are now brighter for less power use.

2)These are fantastic.

18W LED
There are quite a few all selling the same thing. They draw about 1.3A. You can also get 15W ones and 21W ones.

I have one and it is twice as bright as my mate's Phirana flouro, and attracts 1/10th the bugs even when he has the stupid yellow lens on.
AnswerID: 437625

Reply By: HGMonaro - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 15:34

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 15:34
We have both fluro (12V, corded) and LED (freestanding rechargeable lantern) and we much prefer the 'quality' of the light emitted by the fluro. The LED is quite harsh and unpleasant even though it's quite bright.
AnswerID: 437626

Follow Up By: the_fitzroys - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 18:23

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 18:23
The fluoro will give a better quality light than the LED. To avoid the mozzies you can wrap a sleeve of yellow theatre 'gel' around the tube. Its comes in a sheet, looks like thick cellophane, but is resistant to the very high heat given off by tubes. You can buy it at a theatre lighting supplier. Check the yellow pages and ask them for a yellow 'Lee' gel.
Lou
FollowupID: 709295

Reply By: OREJAP - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 16:18

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 16:18
Hi, MattThomas0. I have three lights. The first two I have had for 20 years or close to. The first is a versa light with a 8 metre cord & the 2nd is an ARB. Both fluro with yellow reflector (Prevents bugs congregating) The latest is a Platinum brand LED hand held. It is just over 30cm long It has 37 led's. The five at the top flash red (distress or break down signal) 1st push on button. The 2nd push on button brings up four led's and 3rd push 8 leds. The 4th push all leds (except 5 red ones ) light up. This comes with an AC & DC chargers also it can be recharged by an inbuilt hand winder. It also has two 13cm legs so it can be standing (hands free) it also has a rotating hook at the top if you wish to hang in the tent,camper or under bonnet of vehicle. I have fitted a magnet onto a clip which I also use for hands free. I have had the 30 led lamp torches from other places with the led's failing after a short time. The price of my light was about $50. There are numerous lights advertised on Evil Bay & it's just a matter of choosing what suits you best.
AnswerID: 437629

Reply By: OREJAP - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 16:21

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 16:21
http://platinumparts.com.au/catalog.aspx?m=1&c=1 TRY THIS
AnswerID: 437631

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 20:04

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 20:04
If you are after a general purpose camping light that gives reasonable illumination, then the Versa-Lite/Piranha Fluro (same thing, different badging) is one of the best around.
Current draw is around 1Ah so will not place undue load on the battery.

Another worthy of a mention is the Evakool Torpedo. This is also a fluroescent light but uses a more compact lamp. The current draw from this is around 1/2Ah and the light is similar in illumination to the Versa/Piranha.

I have both a Piranha Fluro which is fitted with a yellow diffuser to limit insect attraction and the Evakool Torpedo which I set up at the other end of our awning.

I also own a 68 LED lantern which performed OK, but one bank of LED lamps no longer work and the lamp is somewhat diminished in light output.

Bill.

AnswerID: 437649

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 21:06

Thursday, Dec 02, 2010 at 21:06
Hi Matt

I have a new lamp that needs field testing if you are interested, I just need some photos and a report of what you think of it. You can keep the lamp after that.

Derek from ABR

AnswerID: 437654

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 12:23

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 12:23
Gaday Derek. Our group will test your new light for you if Matt doesn't respond. Have a 9 day High Country trip after Christmas with 40+ people attending so sure to get plenty of feedback.
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 709271

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 12:43

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 12:43
Hi Craig

Please email me.

Derek
FollowupID: 709272

Follow Up By: MattThomas0 - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 09:37

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 09:37
Hi Derek,
That'd be fantastic. We're heading off in about 10 days for 3 months. Have sent an email to you directly with address on it.
Many Thanks
Matt
FollowupID: 709367

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:04

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:04
Hi Matt

I will send one out to you next week.

We would like some photos if the product in use, stored, reading, etc.

Derek Bester.

FollowupID: 709372

Reply By: Stevesub1 - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 11:25

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 11:25
For years I have used a 12VDC to 230VAC inverter (cheapie) and 240V household fluros that go into the normal light sockets - 7 or 11W, heaps of light, cheap to replace, always worked and very low power consumption. We have had no problems at all. Use a normal beside lamp with a fluro is an option.

You them also have 230VAC for laptops, charging batteries, etc and I am not intending to start the sine vs modified sine wave debate, our modified sine wave inverter has done everything we want it to do incl laptops and TV's over many years.

However LED's maybe the way to go now.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 437688

Reply By: Box Hill Bill- Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 01:08

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 01:08
Versa lights by Burn Brite are a bit more expensive but they are Australian made with Australian bits in them. They don't break down but if you break it you can send it back to them and they will fix it regardless of what is broken.
AnswerID: 437756