Caravans clogging up truck rest areas

Submitted: Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 17:31
ThreadID: 82832 Views:8854 Replies:17 FollowUps:22
There is an interesting letter from a truckie in the current addition of Caravan and Motorhome magazine, talking about what appears to be an increasing practise by travellers attempting to find free camping along highways.

To a certain extent I’ve seen this myself, but never given it much thought, because I don’t camp anywhere near a highway.

He does make a point however, in that rigs are becoming larger, and need a considerable area to park and manoeuvre. The largest I’ve ever seen was a five trailer road train coming out of the Jackson oil field West of Thargomindah.

There was no animosity in the bloke’s letter, and it was essentially written to make travellers aware of the driver’s situation.

In my travels there seems to be a reasonable mixture of rest areas for those who favour free camping in most areas around Australia...... without impinging on these designated truck resting areas.

Reply By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 17:40

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 17:40
I agree with truckie, like myself in past, signs indicate NO TRUCKS in this rest area, but in my truck stop, at least two vans a night. If I park in areas not for me, I'd get booked, but those vaners who feel a truck resting area is ok, never get booked.

Why get a van, if your only going to use truck-rest areas, defeats the purpose.
AnswerID: 437712

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:08

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:08
There's plenty of the "other side of the coin" happening, too.

In one caravan rest stop in the NT earlier this year, a cattle truck came in and stayed the night. All the bovine occupants made a racket all night and, after the truck left in the morning, there were two parallel mounds of cattle crap along both sides of where the truck parked.

AnswerID: 437719

Follow Up By: bluefly - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:45

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:45
I think your reply gives further thought to maintaining a distinction between truck, and overnight amenity for revellers.

FollowupID: 709302

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 21:11

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 21:11
parked there because all the "truck stops" were full of caravans .... :-)
funny cause i have never seen a truck in a caravan park but seen caravans in truck parks mmmmmmm
FollowupID: 709309

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 05:51

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 05:51
We were in a road side pull off for vans east of Cloncurry in July and a couple of trucks pulled in.
Frankly we don't mind that, but what does get up our nose is they start the bloody things up and let them idle for half an hour before they pull out.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 709346

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:29

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:29
Baz & Pud .... I've had a few caravan park expeiences like that too.
FollowupID: 709352

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:20

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:20
G'day Baz. The reason most heavy vehicles need to run for a while before taking off is they need to get "air up" for the brakes and airbags before they can move.

Fred
FollowupID: 709375

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 10:17

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 10:17
Agree wit Fred, but if they're having to idle for 30 minutes, I'd say they're leaking air over night and/or knackered air pump.

I can get full pressure on empty tanks in about 5-10 minutes and their tanks shouldn't be empty anyway.

A pre-trip inspection can sometimes take close to 30 minutes if having to check chains, load binders etc. Most of that can be done without the engine running BUT, most guys/gals will have the engines running to check for leaks and to run work lights.

It's not the sound of the idleing Diesels I have a problem with...it's those damn Mack air starters that scare the bejesus out of me everytime.

Fab.
FollowupID: 709460

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 10:58

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 10:58
G'day Fab. Well explained for the unknowing out there mate. There's more to it than cranking the donk over and driving off over the horizon, LOL, as you have pointed out, especially as the rigs get bigger, and tyre numbers increase.

It wouldn't be like some to exagerate the 30 minute idle time, would it ? LOL, although to some 10 minutes may seem like 30 minutes when trying to sleep.

If anyone is really interested how the big rigs work, next time you're sharing a pit stop with one, go and talk to the driver, say g'day and he will be happy to let you have a look, maybe even jump up in the cab so as you can get his perspective of the road. You'll have a whole new respect for their job.

Safe travels over the Xmas break all.

Fred
FollowupID: 709464

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 11:43

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 11:43
take a good look at a truck with just 2 trailers on........
42 tyres to check BEFORE you move, they would most probally check at least the park lights as there are SO MANY caravans out there on the roads in the day that most try to travel early in the morning or at night, quick "visual" check of wheel bearings, that is simply eyeing off the way each set sits in line with the others, with Cattle on board when you stop some will lay down and you can not have ANY cattle laying down when you move as they will be crushed by the others when you brake or pull away....
2 levels/2 trailers of Cattle takes about 25 mins to check ALL of them so they are OK, remember that the truck driver is responsible for the welfare of the cattle and they have to be in good condition when they arrvive with no bruising or injurys.. get one that is down in the middle of the truck you cant get in there to stand it up so work out how hard it is to get it up, it can be really hard if they dont want to, they associate the noise of the truck running with the need to get up so the truck WILL be running whilst all is being done ...

And i would not ever think any truck these days would ever start up a truck and leave it running for half an hour without a bldy good reason as the job they have is probally now the MOST regulated and controlled job out there, they deserve all the respect they can get ...
Hats off the every trucky out there, they are still at work when we hold them up cause we are on hols, and all they ask for in return is RESPECT for that ...
Cheers, Joe
FollowupID: 709469

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 11:55

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 11:55
Fred and Joe..... Amen to that.
FollowupID: 709472

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 20:18

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 20:18
I liked the NT because of the separation of trucks and vans, but here in WA truck bays are used by both and in those situations I try to be consider them (truckies) as well...after all we all use the same roads.

I have camped on the highway quite a bit (usually overnight only) and have no issues with other vanners or truckies at all....just lucky I guess.
I have most truckies to be accommodating and easy to get along with.

Sometimes I think the negatives are in the minority but then the press get it and blow it out as they usually do.

But I will say it is getting to the point where you will have to book ahead to use a 24 hr rest stop, they are getting busy!!

AnswerID: 437723

Reply By: ishtvan - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 20:38

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 20:38
There are two types of drivers on the road: Those driving for pure leisure, and those driving to make a profit, e.g. truck drivers. I personally think that no matter what, there will always be a conflict between truckies and caravan drivers. Both parties have two different aims; caravaners would have the aim of taking a long and relaxing drive, whereas truck drivers would want to complete their drive as quick as possible.
Regarding the rest areas, at a place called 'Blue Healer' in Queensland, there are some paid caravan sites. I travel through that region and stay there as an overnight rest stop about once a year. Most times, while us caravaners are trying to take a break from a long day's drive, those pesky road trains hauling cattle and refrigerated trailers interrupt us. All night, the generator for the fridge on the truck is ticking away. The noise is so annoying, and I'm sure that if you know what I'm talking about, you'll know how much of a struggle it is to sleep at night.

Kind regards for the truckies, and good wishes for my fellow caravaners,
Steve.
AnswerID: 437725

Follow Up By: bluefly - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 21:06

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 21:06

I think your stirring the possum.....'The noise is so annoying'

FollowupID: 709308

Follow Up By: gbc - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 22:27

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 22:27
I'm assuming you're talking about the roadside stop at Kynuna near the blue heeler pub? Try about 13 km south at combo waterhole - a little off the highway but worth the effort and no trucks. Also where A.B. wrote waltzing matilda - apparently? Sleep near diesels ticking long enough and you'll get so industrially deaf that you'll miss them when they are gone ;)
FollowupID: 709322

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 20:43

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 20:43
From a truckies point of view their rest time is critical to their log book and being legal. A truck may not always rest at night so to have people pulling up and making a noise is not good. If another truck pulls up he basically stops and goes to sleep.
Gone bush, If that driver was over his driving time does he keep driving or pull over. Just a thought. I'm not saying thats what he was doing but I know the time pressure put on trucks and I know to fit some runs in they are pushed to the limit with time on their log books.
We have seen people stop in really bad places just cause it was free.
A couple of pulls on the airhorn at 3am should move all caravaners on lol.

Josh

AnswerID: 437726

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 23:48

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 23:48
Hey Josh spot on.
Ill add some drivers get peed off with each other too. My father a interstate truck driver all his working life winges about the refrigerated vans and cant stand the smell from cattle trucks. But he still goes back out and helps to keep the country moving.
Sharon
FollowupID: 709337

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 22:36

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 22:36
I can't understand any caravanner choosing to spend the night if it is obvious he is in a truck rest area. Even if in a dual purpose rest area, the chance of noisy trucks pulling in and out would negate any chance of sleep. A caravanner would have to be tired to the point it would be dangerous to continue to stop in a truck RA.

Rest areas in general are a necessary safety feature of roads, and with an increasing population and more and more traffic of all types on the roads, main roads in each state must keep up with the increasing need and provide an adequate number of rest areas.

AnswerID: 437741

Follow Up By: DOEY- Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 22:49

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 22:49
well said motherhen.

i think it is a bit selfish of caravanners, wicked-vanners etc to take up space in a Truck Only rest area. They are there for a good purpose.
Ive stayed in quite a few shared rest areas over the past 9 months. Plenty of trucks make use of these too. Sure they are a bit noisy but thats just the way they are. If you choose to travel and rely on rest areas, then you need to just accept that you are sharing them with a variety of vehicles. Travellers are in the best position to plan their trip and stop whenever, they have all the time in the world most of them.
Good on the truckie who wrote in to share his point of view!!
FollowupID: 709327

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 23:37

Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 23:37
Bluefly my hubby drives 4 trailer set up out of Durham Downs. Its more like a double b-double.

He use to do wide loads and found it very difficult to pull over for his compulsory stops due to full truck parks. Toowoomba is a joke for the poor buggers trying to park up.

AnswerID: 437748

Reply By: 3GoBush - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 00:57

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 00:57
I would rather a trucker pull over in a none trucker spot and get some rest, than not pull up because some dip stick found it easier to rest in an area for trucker's. .

I have spent many a night driving long distance, I have on many occasion found that you can not pull over in a trucker's spot because the place is full of travellers.

The trouble is the next news item will be, Trucker kills several in head on smash.

Give truckers a break and leave their area's alone, let these guy's make a living and travel home to there family safely, and you guy's travel home safely to your families.

By all means if you need a rest pull over, if not don't block the rest area for those that need it, PLEASE.

BOH BOH
AnswerID: 437755

Reply By: Tim - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 02:54

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 02:54
I think I am going to take the truckies side on this one. It has been mentioned already, the truck drivers are forced by law to drive for certain periods. These time frames depend on which fatigue management system (BFM AFM etc) the copany and driver are acredited for.
Because of these restrictions, a driver faced with a full rest stop area may be driving while fatigued finding the next one whilst also breaking the law.
People paint the truckies as drug taking, log book cheating people trying to meet a dead line yet the very facilities to make them safer are being used and in some cases over run by the nomads.
Trucks DO NOT have the option of pulling over anywhere in a built up area to sleep, they must (by law) stop outside the built up areas.
I think the biggest motivation is the almighty $$$$$$. While some caravanners may be tired and pull up on a big trip I think you will find a lot do the whole "free camp" thing and see Autralia, one truckstop at a time.
Tim
AnswerID: 437757

Reply By: poppywhite - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:05

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:05
Excuse me if I am wrong but I thought the essence of this thread was that caraveners are illegally useing limeted dedicated truck bay's.

From my experience the grey nomad and occasionally the caraveners are a selfish and entilted lot.

I will side with the heavy transport drivers here. Their choices are extreemly limited by law. They cannot rest anyware.

If you park in your van in a truck stop and complain about noise and or end up a statistic because you parked / camped in the wrong place YOU have to wear it.

Some of you need to get a life and respect others
AnswerID: 437763

Reply By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:25

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:25
Bluefly,
one of the problems is some motorhome/van owners and cars will pull up for the night in the truck parking bays. They arrive at dusk and see no trucks in the bay, some then park right smack bang in the middle as though nothing else is going to pull in.

If they parked tucked up in a corner the problem would be lessened.

Another flaw is the fact that national fatigue laws have really limited long haul drivers options ie: a driver will plan to pull up at a certain spot, if it is full he is now in trouble if he is close to being out of hours, he has no option other than to move on and risk being fined.

Governments legislate but then don't put in the infrastructure to match the requirements of the legislation. MORE TRUCK PARKING BAYS.

Travellers have the luxury of being able to pull up at any time and therefore should be able to find a spot away from designated truck bays.

Bluefly, this is a good post and I hope it may educate some people.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 437767

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:38

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:38
Hi Rock Ape,
Couldn't agree more, You've nailed it.
People attitudes towards other road uses has to change.
This goes for both regulators as well as those that use the roads.
Safe Travels

FollowupID: 709354

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 11:15

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 11:15
Rock Ape, Talk about planing trips. One time I went for a wide load run with my husband. We left Toowoomba for northern central Q. We had planned on a parking bay that worked out with his hours. Only to find caravans there. This particular road was narrow and then we didn't know the area. It was late at night. He was forced to break the law to find another spot. That could have cost his weekly wages and more if was involved in an accident. We don't knock all caravan's as we are one too even my life long interstate driving father has his van ready to become a grey nomad (he is already living in it). But this parking bay issue should be advertised regularly.
Another thing that hasn't been mentioned, the rego for these rigs are unreal. The amount of parking bays available dose not add up. The only designated spot in Toowoomba is out at Charlton with a porta loo. Anybody that has traversed Toowoomba would understand what I mean about the movement of trucks in this area.
Sharon
FollowupID: 709379

Reply By: cycadcenter - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 09:02

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 09:02
I drove up through the Pilliga a couple of weeks ago and was please to see several new truck stops had been added in the past few months all designated as "Truck Only Parking"

Grey nomads also have to have respect for the truckies on the road. Came across three caravans travelling together at 75-80kph about 50m apart between Moree and Boggabilla with 5 trucks lined up behind.

I think the first truck may have had to give one a bit of a nudge to get the message through.

Bruce
AnswerID: 437778

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 09:20

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 09:20
We pulled over behind a B-Double in a Bitumised Hard Standing Area at Longreach, there were no signs re: Trucks or Vans, anyway we only stopped for a cuppa and next minute there were trucks all around us we were boxed in and couldn't go any where, it would have been ok, but two of the trucks were Cattle Trucks parked about 2 metres beside us, the truckie in the B-Double in front of us was laughing his head off and I could see the funny side of the situation, any way he moved up further to let us out, but we learnt our lesson, always park clear of all trucks.

AnswerID: 437783

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 12:53

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 12:53
Hi Dazza, If I absolutely have to park up in one of those truck bays I always park right up the top near the exit that way I can't get boxed in and more importantly I am out of the way. I find roadside quarries where they stockpile road materials are a good place to stop as usually the ground is well compacted and I am out of harms way.

Mostly I am looking for a stop about 3.30 in the afternoon when vanning, that gives me plenty of time to get a good rest area or off the beaten track.
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 709385

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 14:35

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 14:35
If you park in stockpile sites one night you will get a Bitumen tanker turn up with the gas burners roaring (which make fridge vans seem quiet) and end up surrounded by a road repair crew at about 4am.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 709394

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 15:18

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 15:18
Daza ,the hard standing oposite Longreach Caltex does actually have signs , 2klm away from the eastern end before the Stockmans Hall of Fame and 1klm on the Western side near the Dept of Transport building,,,,, yeah I know silly place to have them and both obscured by trees ,, LOL.
FollowupID: 709398

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:43

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:43
I am not real lover of trucks, but, I think it is very wrong to clog up their rest areas with campers & vans. These are professional drivers that have to comply with strict driving conditions.
Personally I think makes no sense whatsoever to move trains off the rails & put them on the roads, but that's just me, or is it?
AnswerID: 437788

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 12:10

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 12:10
Hi Shaker,
Agree, unfortunately this NSW Government is addicted to the revenue it raises through fuel Tax, Rego's, Fines and any other means that they can bleed out of the trucking industry.
In their eyes, why would they build a rail network that took these vechiles off the road.
Another couple of reasons there are so many heavy vehicles on the road is, We as consumers want product now, not in two days time. Trucks can have it there over night and stores/outlets don't have to have stock sitting.

FollowupID: 709382

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:23

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:23
Shaker
"I am not real lover of trucks"
everything you own once was on the back of a truck.

Without trucks Australia stops.
FollowupID: 709389

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:43

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:43
That is a fair enough comment, although I expect there are things that you dislike, that are a necessary evil!
FollowupID: 709391

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 14:08

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 14:08
Shaker
yep,plenty.
FollowupID: 709393

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:22

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:22
Bluefly

heavy vehicle drivers WILL get fined for driving over their allotted driving hours......despite whether or not the parking bay is full of caravans and he gets caught driving down the road to the next one.

caravan owners WILL NOT get a fine even if they have driven 3 or 4 days straight with out a stop.

there IS the difference.

AnswerID: 437799

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 15:44

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 15:44
Its not really hard to fix is it?

Its something that should be common to all of us that would cure the problem instantly.

Its a hard word to comprehend in this day and age and not utilized very often as the example in this thread shows.

Its just "Courtesy"

Courtesy to others and the problem is fixed, unfortunately its fast disappearing in this society of "Stuff you, I can do as I please and you don't matter" attitudes.

Bit sad I guess :-((

AnswerID: 437812

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 16:28

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 16:28
We will not stop and rest at a truck stop unless it is an emergency.
Often we look for where the road has been altered and take the old road to find a spot. On a couple of occasions we have been joined by a transport driver, so I usually have a yarn and offer a cuppa etc. We find that this breaks the ice and the driver is only too willing to impart his knowledge of the road.
As I have a hearing problem when I take the aids out of a night I hear little.
Plus both SWMBO and I can sleep through a hurricane.

If we are going to whinge about these rest areas, do as I do whinge to your local member about not having enough rest areas for all types of travellers.
I do think that some of us vanners could be a bit more reasonable and simply stay out of truck rest areas and learn to share the areas that are for both.

Now to step off the soap box.

Happy travels to all.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 437815