UHF, JUST TALK TO ME

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 20:59
ThreadID: 82850 Views:7470 Replies:16 FollowUps:20
G\DAY ALL, I was just wondering why the truckies don't talk to us c\vanners any more,when we were kids on a long trip with our parents towing a van the truckies would tell dad when they were going to overtake him , dad would tell the trucki to come past when the trucki was safe to do so, and dad would back of the gas when the truck had pulled out to overtake, thanks was given from both party's, (THANKS MATE HAVE A GOOD ONE), and some times have a chat, I have a l\c towing 22 ft van with our name and uhf channel 40 stickers on right hand top corner, so my question is they don't seam to communicate like they used to, ??????.has anybody ells found this to be true on the road. thanks .

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:11

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:11
Haary & Ann.
gday mate.i usually try to call the ones i do see with the UHF channel on the back of the van,but sometimes when you call them they dont answer. make everyones job easier if both parties know what is going to happen at the next overtaking lane i think.

safe travels,cheers.
AnswerID: 437831

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:16

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:16
Hi Harry and Ann

I have not found this problem. I normally simply call "Northbound train are you on channel", or whatever is appropriate, and I almost always get a response quickly.

Too many people I hear are using the CB saying stuff like code numbers, "breaker", and all that sort of thing, I do not engage them in conversation. I treat the CB simply as an alternative to the phone and simply speak normally, without all the "rogers" and "10/4's", and have a great chit chat sometimes.

I am not a caravanner, so I cannot speak for "snails" (metaphor for people with their house behind them), but I do know that a lot of drivers are getting annoyed that their parking bays are getting blocked up. They are choosing radio silence, and that is their right.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 437832

Follow Up By: Harry and Ann (WA) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:26

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:26
G\DAY MARC, Love the term snails ha ha , I have just become aware of the truck bay problem, and Im shore as the word gets around people will do the wright thing cheers mark PS hope to catch up one day for a cuppa. Harry + Ann.
FollowupID: 709424

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 00:59

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 00:59
Hi Harry and Ann

I am normally around this area, and very easy to find. If you check my profile you will know exactly where I am. Look forward to the cuppa one day.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 709436

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 01:20

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 01:20
Hi Guys

I must add one comment in here.

Last time I went to Kununurra I was night driving. I heard a call "Truck behind can you turn your spotties down". I am in my Hilux, even though I have large spotties on my roof, but obviously I did not say anything as whoever it was was talking to a truck.

About 15 minutes later I heard the call again, I thought maybe the truck driver was not hearing them, and I have a good UHF sedt up, so I put the call for the truck to turn the spotties down. Then I saw an odd shape in front of me, it was a caravan, at 3 AM, with no lights on the back.

I dropped my spotties and call to the caravan that their rear lights were not working at all. They pulled over, and when I reached them, I stopped in case they had some kind of problem. They had forgotten to plug the caravan in, and their caravan brakes were totally worn out (whoops).

I guess if you are snailing it, perhaps you should camp at night, and don't always assume that huge spotties mean it is a truck.

FollowupID: 709438

Reply By: bluefly - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:31

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:31
Harry

No, I’ve found it to be the opposite, particularly if the conversation is a ‘two way street’.

In addition to that, locals are very helpful over the UHF if you’re trying to find something in an unfamiliar town.

AnswerID: 437834

Reply By: djross-oz - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:37

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:37
We are 5 months into a 7 month trip around Oz and have found that truckies either try to call or we call them. Most caravans have the UHF call details and we find that gets used often. Also as said the locals in towns are great giving directions etc. Mind you there are times we have to turn it down due to the language with the kids in the car! Just remember the truckies appreciate it when caravanners are considerate.
AnswerID: 437835

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:53

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:53
Hi Harry & Ann, funny you should say that, we had noticed on our trips this year that we have had the silent treatment from a couple of truckies out there, one we had the caravan the other just the Patrol but loaded up for camping.
We have never had a problem with them and certainly don't use 'breaker breaker' 'roger roger' language. We just thought they had their radios off or their music up too high to hear us. One in particular used his indicator to let us know to pass so we thanked him for his effort but got no response. Hasn't bothered us at all, we still contact them if need be.
We don't and never have pulled up in a truck bay to camp unless there is tracks out the back of them where trucks can't go.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 437837

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 23:26

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 23:26
oh no..... it's the "Patrol" lol ... they still talk to cruisers..
FollowupID: 709433

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 00:08

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 00:08
Hahaha, Hi Joe, Mel & kids, I don't recall putting in my post that I talk to 'cruisers' lol...........but heay, we can't descriminate now can we???????

D

FollowupID: 709570

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:54

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 21:54
Haven't had any trouble talking to trucks on 40, but have found that the majority of caravans with UHF stickers on the back don't answer on their signed channel.

Maybe the trucks are just giving up. :-)

AnswerID: 437838

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 22:15

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 22:15
Hi Harry and Ann

We find very few initiate conversation, but respond pleasantly when we communicate with one. Rarely, a driver will announce that he is about to pass us and didn't know if we had seen him (we had of course). Nice contact to get all the same.

It is a common problem that caravanners don't respond, even with channel stickers on their caravan. Some truckies may have 'given up' trying. We are now reluctant to call other caravanners as so few respond.

We have a big 40 painted on the back and on the front of our caravan.

AnswerID: 437839

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 22:31

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 22:31
Hi Motherhen, we don't have anything on our caravan, it is one of those gunna dos. Must get around to it. We have our radio on 40 unless we are with others and then it is usually 16.

Deanna

FollowupID: 709429

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 12:34

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 12:34
The van channel is usually 18 but due to the incessant inane chatter between vehicles usually in a convoy we never use it now.

Stay on 40 and turn the volume up just enough the hear voices and the kids probably wont hear it.

We had only one rude trucky in 18 months but never had UHF on in cities.
Too many foul mouths there.

FollowupID: 709476

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 21:07

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 21:07
Channel 18 is just that - for caravanners travelling in convoy to chat about where to have lunch and the like. We don't travel with others, and stay on 40 (or specified channel for that road if different).

Mh

FollowupID: 709539

Reply By: Flynnie - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 23:08

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 23:08
When truck drivers talk to each other now it is usually brief. Years ago they seemed to talk longer on average than they do now. Maybe it's just the modern trend that affects us all and not just truck drivers.

Maybe we have too many communication devices now and nothing much to really say.

I have had no success trying to talk to caravanners displaying 18. I can't even recollect anyone using 18 near me when travelling. A few have used 40. Can't see the point of displaying a number like 18 or 40 if the CB is turned off more than it is turned on. Better not to have a number on the back if the CB is usually off.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 437844

Reply By: Member - Barnray (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 23:34

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 23:34
I think the main problem is that truckies use 29 as the main channel and you need to be on that to be able do any thing. B
AnswerID: 437846

Follow Up By: DOEY- Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 23:42

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 23:42
hi Barnray
29 is only mainly used on the East Coast, pacific highway. Pretty much the rest of the main roads in Aus uses 40.
I reckon in this day and age, the truckies must be using twitter on their mobiles and "tweeting" their intent to pass to other truckies. CB's are so last year!!!! lol
FollowupID: 709434

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 09:00

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 09:00
Doey
"I reckon in this day and age, the truckies must be using twitter on their mobiles and "tweeting" their intent to pass to other truckies. CB's are so last year!!!! lol"
that is the most silliest thing that has been said on this forum in a long while!

we use the UHF to communicate more than ever these days.i dont know which channel you operate on but up and down the pacific highway there is plenty of chatter between drivers.

tune in to channel 29 and just sit there and listen any day of the week and you'll hear plenty of talk on road conditions,police where abouts and the like.

FollowupID: 709448

Follow Up By: DOEY- Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 10:10

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 10:10
oh dear Mark, you obviuosly didnt realise my comment was tongue in cheek. never mind!

i have my cb on almost all the time, i live on the east coast and use 29 very often to talk with truckies, wether it be for safety reasons or for general info. likewise on ch 40 whilst travelling to let roadtrains know im coming or to let them know im pulling up.

and who said the forum has to be so serious ALL THE TIME???

have a good day mate.
FollowupID: 709459

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 18:14

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 18:14
Doey
so you say you have your Uhf on 29 almost all of the time and often talk to trucks.......then you come out with a comment like that?

hope your day improves.
FollowupID: 709509

Follow Up By: DOEY- Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 19:12

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 19:12
you do realise it was a joke though, dont you?
FollowupID: 709514

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 19:19

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 19:19
Doey

i can joke with the best of them.....no worries about that.

didnt know this thread was a friday funny.
thought that the poster of this thread intended it to be a serious one?

FollowupID: 709515

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:42

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:42
Gee Mark, lighten up! Doey provided useful information followed by a light hearted comment. No harm done. Given the way the world communicates it might not be far from the truth.

This used to be a real friendly site. Why not help it be that again.
FollowupID: 709808

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:59

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:59
Hmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 709814

Reply By: Harry and Ann (WA) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 00:23

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 00:23
thank you all for your varied, and valued reply's good on ya"s.
AnswerID: 437847

Reply By: Fab72 - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 09:58

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 09:58
Harry and Ann, might I just add that a lot of it depends on which area and what time of day.

Here in good ole Adelaide, there are a group of "organ pullers" who jam up channel 40 with anything from live radio broadcasts to burping noises almost 24/7. I for one, never have the UHF on channel 40 when within coooeee of Adelaide. There are no language bleeps, and my kids don't need the encouragement.

On the flip side, if you're travelling at night, especially during sleep alley (3-5am), I'd say most truckies would LOVE a converstaion and will probably generate enough small talk to make your mother in law look like a mute.

On a recent trip up north, we came across a string of 4 huge 3-4 trailer roadtrains between Birdsville and Windorah. The wind was blowing from the West which made it impossible to see around their overtaking side. A quick call on the UHF had these guys pulling to the right hand side of the road so we could overtake them on the left.

Karma was in full swing that day. We pulled over a few hours later once we got back on the bitumen and had some lunch. Lo and behold, about 30 minutes later, the same string of trucks pulled in to check their loads etc. The Kelly Kettle was hot so in no time at all, the cook had cups of tea/coffee ready for all these blokes. The kids had a play in the trucks and got some great photos, and this actually became a highlight of what would have been a pretty boring leg of the journey.

Truckies, grey nomads, day trippers etc all have one thing in common. The love of the open road. The only difference being we generally have our families travelling with us, where as their family is waiting back home for "daddy to come home". Working together, we can all make sure that everyone gets home safe.

Fab.
AnswerID: 437864

Reply By: Member - David C2 (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 10:55

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 10:55
I would not take this silent treatment as being personal, I drove interstate on and off for over 20 years and have noticed that in the last few years the driver culture has change out there. Truck drivers hardly even speak to each other now. Once there was a real camaraderie out there but not anymore.
Shame really it was once a great job.

Cheers Dave
AnswerID: 437872

Reply By: Lifer - Allyn Cooper (WA) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 12:43

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 12:43
I've always had good interaction with truckies and use the UHF as a resource all the time. When you travel in the NW and drive a "slow one" (ie no turbo) then you need them to know what's going on and what you intend to do. I have overtaken purely on their say so at all times of the day and and on some strange stretches of road so it is a wonderful tool. Can't say as any of them have initiated conversations but some sure have repsonded in damned quick time so were obviously keen to chat................lol.

On the flip side I cannot EVER remember a c/vanner or "snail" responding to my calls
Coops
80 Series Landcruiser with 1HD-FT, W2A I/C & GTurbo,
HD Clutch, 3" ex, locked and lifted, Strongarm Dual RWC, LR Tank, 33" MTZ's, Dual Batts.

AnswerID: 437882

Follow Up By: Harry and Ann (WA) - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 13:13

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 13:13
Hi Allyn,Thanks for your reply, I am happy you get a good response when yousing the radio , but sad to here that's not the same from c\vanners , well I can"t speak for all but if you see a van on the road with( ann & harry on it ) give us a call we will be happy to say g\day. cheers.
FollowupID: 709479

Reply By: Member - Barry (NT) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 11:48

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 11:48
We've never had a problem in 3 yers on the road, except the foul mouths (truckies and others around Brissy).

I often initiate contact,,, never had a complaint and almost always good friendly response and thanks or flash lights etc

with wider highways and trucks sitting comfortably on 100kph, not much need to talk IMO,,, BUT on hilly and narrow sections we can all show some initiative and seek to let others past,, not just trucks,, but as it's their living we should assist to keep em rollin

hey they're human just like everyone and you find all types

a lot of caravanners have a lot to answer for too,,,,

anyway I enjoy the UHF banter but avoid the 10/4,, roger etc mentioned above

out bush had some good conversations with truckies on the their load and destination,,, often very interesting to me,,, they sometimes ask what are your thoughts on XXXX to keep their interest up

my 2 cents worth (haven't had it for ages - my 2 cents woth that is,, lol)
AnswerID: 437973

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 19:29

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 19:29
Truckies don't need to call caravaners up to pass every time like the good ol days as they now have 500 horse power so overtalikng is not the issue it once was.
I too have had little success calling vans with their name & channel displayed so now rarely bother.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 438050

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 20:06

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 20:06
Yeah marvelous that they spend the money to put it in and then dont use it

Very frustrating when trying to pass someone with no mirrors and the UHF not answering.

Both should be compulsory IMHO

FollowupID: 709658

Follow Up By: Harry and Ann (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:06

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:06
HI , Crackles & Graham, yes I understand the frustration when you cant communicate , but please don't give up because there are a lot of us who do apreatate the call, as stated it is safe practice if we both no what's going on, and the forum like these may give a reminder to the ones who don't turn on to do so . thanks for the input, cheers guys.
FollowupID: 709756

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:14

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:14
I havent given up
Have been constantly travelling in the van for nearly 2 years and always have radio on and mirrors polished.

There is them that dont know, them that dont care and them that say stuff it Ill do what I like.

Unfortunately the latter type seems to be increasing from my observations.

FollowupID: 709758

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 00:00

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 00:00
dont give up .... they are hearing you but with one hand on the wheel and one on the gearstick it leaves nuthin to hold the mic and if you are behind a truck going up a hil then he is changing gears and actually driving it...
They ALL listen and hear you loud and clear and get your point so keep on talkin even if you dont get a reply ....
It's a bit like being "married" ...... sooooo glad Mel dont read these..
hahaha
AnswerID: 438187