Few Members Posting

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 22:43
ThreadID: 82878 Views:4270 Replies:15 FollowUps:24
Just having a look at the last 25 posts and see that only about 6 are from members. Have to ask the question , why are fourmits , looking for information not joing as members. Just an observation not a criticism

Cheers Teza

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 23:00

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 23:00
reading thread 82875 may hold the answer, make people welcome whatever the answers you may get (or post) and they will join ...... complain and they will sit back and not bother ..... or it's that time of the month lol
AnswerID: 437950

Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 23:03

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 23:03
Yeah I hear what your saying. Hows the weather treating you up there?

Cheers Teza
FollowupID: 709566

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 23:58

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 23:58
hey ..man it has been really hot the last few days, not normal heat so dont know what is brewing but time will show us eh .. 40 plus for 4 days
All that rain down south also, is strange weather eh
Cheers, Joe
FollowupID: 709568

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:01

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:01
Hi Joe,
How does Mel feel about your reply.? Shouldn't you have said This time of the year. The silly season! LOL. Men get silly too at times.
I've noticed that some of the old members who helped me out when I first got onto E.O. as a visitor , have gone. Like Willem and Richard . I know why Richard went but as for Willem, I only have a vague guess. It's sad.
We joined E.O. for the valuable travel information & the very helpful people.
I don't know what the other bloke meant by nannies though?
I do the typing cos hubby can't type and really hasn't got the time and in the time we've been members I've seen a different type of people coming onto this site.
Maybe this could be the reason.
No offence intended.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Ma.
FollowupID: 709605

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 21:26

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 21:26
hi Pa, Ma&Gus ..... shhhh dont tell Mel will ya, she will kill me ......
I guess one thing to concider is people are shorter of money these days and after more information about how to spend what they do have better, if they can get the info without spending then i guess good on them eh ...
Safe travels guys
"""" Life, to us isn't about how fast we can run but how well we can bounce. """
I like that one guys hahahah i kinda just roll or flop :-)
FollowupID: 709677

Reply By: Begaboy - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 09:54

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 09:54
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 437955

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:00

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:00
Tezza,
I am a bit busy at work due to the pre christmas rush of people wanting their house approval done so they can do it over the christmas break :)

How did your recon on the Imbil track go after the Lake Boondooma weekend??

AnswerID: 437956

Follow Up By: Expletive - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:16

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:16
Kev,I don't need a house aproval "To Do It ". Haha

FollowupID: 709587

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:26

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:26
Kev sounds like you and me are in the same profession. Things are a bit crazy here as well.

FollowupID: 709588

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:41

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:41
Dunc,

Yes we are and we have spoken in the past about it, and NO I am not moving to WA to work for you LOL

FollowupID: 709594

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 11:02

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 11:02
Kev

Y not ??? ;-)
FollowupID: 709596

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 16:35

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 16:35
Yeah, why not Kev? Reckon it would be good to see you on the other side of the country LOL!!!
FollowupID: 709631

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:16

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:16
Trevor,

I don't have the time to explain the rules of Rugby League to everyone who I would meet over there ;)

But would your ex ambo be able to make it that far??

FollowupID: 709636

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 20:18

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 20:18
C'mon Kev, Govt job means plenty of time for chit chat, you of all people know that.

Don't worry about the GMC mate it'll go anywhere I point it.

;-)
FollowupID: 709659

Reply By: garrycol - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:12

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:12
Why would you pay good money to join this site- heavy handed mods, poor layout of forum (threads listed in order of listing and not most recent posts), no breakdown of subjects so when a thread it pops off the first page it really gets the light of day again. And I haven't comment on the nannies you get here - though other forums do have their odd balls as well.

There is nothing on this forum that I can get elsewhere for free so why would you Pay.

Garry
AnswerID: 437958

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:39

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:39
I have selected the layout so that all current postings are at the top.

All you need to do is select sort by response time in the display options on the main forum page ;)

The Mods on most other forums are there and can be even more heavy handed than here. LCOOL is one where they can lock you out from posting until you correctly update your details as required in the initial email notification you get.

FollowupID: 709592

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 11:06

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 11:06
If its so bad, Why are you here and why bother posting anything least of all a whining whinge?

FollowupID: 709597

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:40

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:40
Your response to a valid point of view to the issue raised maybe part of the problem raised in the initial post.

Sir Kev - I appreciate your valid comments - however current postings are not at the top - it is the most recent thread listed.

A good discussion with heaps of posts may go on for a few days but instead of staying up near the top of the threads it slowly moves down the page as it is is replaced by newer threads and finally even though there is discussion it dies as it goes over the page. I suggest you list most recent posts at the top rather than most recent threads or at least let the user select this option.

On the issue of mods - I agree there are some worse but most are better - well if I comment more on mods the post is likely to be moderated so I will leave it there.

Garry
FollowupID: 709601

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:34

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:34
If you look at the box at the head of the Forum it gives an option to tick "Show threads by response time"

If it is interesting and people are responding it will stay at the top If not it will drop down as it should and more popular threads will rise to the top Just like Cream really The good stuff at the top rest down the bottom.
FollowupID: 709609

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:43

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:43
Thankyou Graham - I have asked the same point a long time ago and the issue was never resolved so I assumed you could not do it.

Sir Kev - disregard my previous comment on layout.

FollowupID: 709640

Reply By: Ayita5 - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:12

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:12
This may be a silly question - I've only been on this site a few months and am not familiar with it all yet - but how can you tell whether or not someone is a member?

I notice some people have left their username as "member - joe blow", whereas mine is just Ayita5. I am a paid member, just that when I signed up and it suggested a name for me "member - blah blah", I deleted it and used Ayita5 instead.

Just wondering if the reason you thought they were not members is because their name didn't say "member" first?

If not, sorry for my silliness and nevermind! :)

Have a great Christmas break everyone, and a SAFE one!! :)
AnswerID: 437959

Follow Up By: Ayita5 - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:14

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:14
ok, yeah, nevermind, lol. Just saw the answer to my own question, it says it next to your name down the bottom. I was more thinking though that you'd just read the questions on the original forum page without actually having to click into each question to see whether or not they were a member. :)

Don't mind me, silly season brain. :)
FollowupID: 709586

Reply By: Rob! - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:57

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 10:57
If you do a search you will get your answer, as this topic has been discussed many times before.
AnswerID: 437963

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 11:51

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 11:51
I tend to look at the member stat before posting. I dont bother with non members too much.
AnswerID: 437975

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:08

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:08
Hey Old Girl, most of us non members used to be old members, we have probably forgotten more about caravanning camping and 4WDing than most of the new members, just because you are not a member doesn't mean you don't know anything about the topic, and visa versa.

By the way Looking at you profile picture, that's not how I would do it, I have done 100s of metre + water Xings, that is the quickest way to put your fan through the radiator, it doesn't do the banks of the creeks/rivers any good either.
FollowupID: 709599

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:12

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:12
It was because of the help that I got as a 'non-member that caused me to join.
It would be a very backward step to take on a 'them & us' attitude.
FollowupID: 709600

Reply By: Adricat - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:25

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:25
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 437977

Reply By: ajd - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:31

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:31
If I wanted to get abused I would spend more time at home with my Mother in Law and her darling daughter.

Don't normally look at the forum mainly use other parts of the site which has answers to 90% of the questions I seek answers to.

Life's too short.

AnswerID: 437978

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:52

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:52
I sincerely hope that my life never becomes so devoid of meaning and substance, that the question of whether or not a forum poster is a "card carrying, paid-up member", is of any significance whatsoever... YMMV

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 437980

Follow Up By: Adricat - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:12

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:12
Above is a great example of why people can't be bothered posting.
FollowupID: 709606

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:18

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:18
If it stops these "us versus them" type of threads / posts, then it would have to be a good thing, would it not?

;-)

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 709608

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:58

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 12:58
Tezza, as a regular poster and contributor on here and being a non member, I think I'm qualified enough to comment on this.

For me, it's purely a cost vs. benefit calculation.

The benefits of being a member the way I see it, is that you can PM other members and post photos. That's about it. The member discounts on offer aren't the draw card...anyone with half decent negotiation skills or shopping savy will get the same, if not better deals without the membership card.

I can't justify taking the $$$$ away from the family budget for something that is essentially just a hobby/past time for me. In times when I have needed info, granted this forum has made my search easier, however, the information is out there, it just might take a little longer to find it.

Having said that... I've also contributed my fair share of useful infomation over the years.

In tough financial times, people spend where they find the best value for money. Perhaps it's time for the powers that be to ask themselves....is Exploroz membership giving it's members value for money?

Now...what the mods do with this post and how they take it is up to them. I understand that sometimes the truth hurts, but the flip side is that without subjective opinions, there is no catalyst for improvement.

If the mods really gave a hoot.... they'd be sending out electronic surveys to members and non members to gauge what keeps members returning and what can be improved, and what's preventing non members from taking the next step. Heck.... they already have their email addresses.

Fab.
AnswerID: 437981

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:00

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:00
...in addition. If there are more benefits to being a member than just photos, PM's and member discounts.... then they're not being advertised very well. Perhaps consider that too.
Fab. :)
FollowupID: 709604

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 18:36

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 18:36
Fab you now have one less reason to be a member as non members can actually post photo's. Apparently it's just the gallery, photo comp & some member pics that are not available to us mere mortals. To post photo's simply host the piccy on a site like Photobucket then put the link in below where it says "Insert Image"

Cheers Craig.....................

FollowupID: 709648

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 19:59

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 19:59
Thanks Craig.... I'll have to have a play with that feature when the time is right.
FollowupID: 709656

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:46

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 13:46
Tezza, the simple answer is that you don't NEED to be a Member to use the Forum and we are happy with that. We certainly don't expect ALL site users to be Members, but of course if they find value in the Member Benefits then they will join.

The main point regarding the Forum and the volume of Members using it, is that most of the Member benefits are related to other parts of the site and systems, not the Forum. In fact, I was recently made aware that the majority of Members are NON Forum users. They either don't even look at it, but use Treks, Places, Road Conditions, etc or they are perfectly happy to just READ the Forum. If you look as the stats, this is evident anyway - many more people READ the Forum than Post into it and again, there's no problem with that provided we are meeting our aims to "enthuse, entertain, and inform".

Also, we deliberately tried to keep Membership separate from the Forum so that Forum usage was not restricted in any way - this helps everyone because the VOLUME of people using the Forum is the key to its success as a communication medium.

If you look through the list of Member Benefits - you'll note things like EOTrackMe services, Blogs, Member Profile Page (with increasingly new features), Member Message, Free GPS downloads etc are the main features. Plus the shop discounts, Member Money, free postage, Free Display Ad in Trader (worth $19.95) etc and Member Discount Card that may or may not be of additional interest.

For Members using the Forum, the main advantage is the link to their profile - making ease of Member-Member contact, the ability to create a Trip/Gathering page to organise a group convoy or social gathering, and promotion of anything they are selling in the Trader via the link at the bottom of their Forum post. At $60 to join, and $40 to renew for a whole year, its less than a tank of fuel so its up to the individual if they see that as good value for money.

As always, good to see you all discussing the pros/cons - its horses for course and often you have good suggestions that we can consider too. Cheers all!

Michelle
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 437988

Reply By: Flynnie - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 19:38

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 19:38
There is something I think that has not been covered in the replies so far.

There is a seasonal pattern to Exploroz. We are now at a quiet time of year.

A lot of members do trips between April and September. They come back and catch up, post stories and do blogs etc. Then not much to do until late summer or early autumn when new trips are close. This does not apply to everyone of course but it does apply to quite a few.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 438053

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 21:42

Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 21:42
$60 bucks to join.... boo hoo, we have to pay FIFTY FIVE DOLLARS for a carton of xxxx GOLD cans and drive 200klms at that to get it .......
If the cost of it is a problem i would sell the computer, save heaps man ...

Wait for the wet season .... absolutly LIVE up-dates on road conditions as the rain falls, road closures and openings as they happen, practally LIVE condition reports .......... worth every cent.

and again if $60 bucks is a problem then you wont be able to afford to travel anyware anyway so really it aint the problem is it after all.... :-)
AnswerID: 438063

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 07:23

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 07:23
Hi Tezza

I joined as after reading the forum for a few nights I realised that all people who communicate through this medium have a genuine interest in this wonderful country.

I see no relevance whether someone is a member or not, but I do respect the wonderful effort that the team at ExploreOz put into this site, and I find that the small amount the membership cost me was more than worthwhile.

If we have information, and refuse to share it, then it is not information, it is self retained knowlledge, of no use to any but the person holding it. That is just the way I think anyway.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 438094