Calling all Rock-Doctors - A bit of knowledge required please.
Submitted: Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 15:43
Mick O
I’m hoping that someone with a bit of geological knowledge could help me by identifying this type of
rock formation. It appears to my untrained eye that the original layers (of
sandstone?) have been rearranged at some time in the dim dark past. As a result, the sedimentary layers rise vertically out of the ground like fins. It is common within the
Pilbara and very much so in the Rudall NP but appears to be more prominent in specific areas. This photo was taken in the
Broadhurst Range
I’m confident that this type of formation will have a name and that’s what I’m after.
Many thanks, Mick
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 15:58
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 15:58
Yeah its vertical red
rock formation mate.
Watch your tyres when driving near it, bit sharp :-))
Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 16:05
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 16:05
You idiot!
I can vouch for the sharp bit. Pure murder on quad tyres and a bugger to walk over as
well.
Hopefully someone with a bit of professional knowledge will be along soon ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:07
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:07
I thought that was a pertinent and obvious observation??
Very professional also :-)))
Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:31
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:31
G'day Mick
Nice images mate, but it all looks like a couple of piles of "schist" to me. ;0)
Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:52
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:52
Schist...not gneist? Thanks Joe. You've no doubt seen a bit of it about the place up there.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:49
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:49
Mick,
Around the Broadhust range
sandstone is the major rock type and is around 250 to 900 million years old It has been slightly metamorphosed resulting in the recrystallisation of the original quartz grains, and he clay between the grains has been replaced by sericite mica.
As far as I can tell there is no formal name for this formation.
Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 19:24
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 19:24
Thanks Wayne. Appreciate the detail. You'd have thought that such an interesting geological feature may have had a name wouldn't you.
Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 21:24
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 21:24
Mick
There is a fairly good chance that it could have a name - either as a specific Member of a geological Formation, or it could be a Formation itself if it is significant enough.
If you get hold of the geological map of the area (Rudall 1:250,000?) most/all of
the rock types will be mentioned in the description of the Formation. The map legend will also show all the Members, Formations, and Group unit names, and the geological age for the units, ranging from Cainozoic (
young) to Proterozoic or pre-Cambrian (very old).
The Geol Survey of WA has maps for the whole State if you are really keen.
There is also an online viewer available
http://mapserver.doir.wa.gov.au/GeoVIEW2/viewer.htm?Title=GeoVIEW.WA
but I couldn't find any way of looking up the unit letter symbols to check
the rock types or the unit names.
Sorry can't be any more specific about your pics.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:58
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 17:58
Dont know the name of it but eons ago Australia was under the sea.
During the very hot volcanic period the earth moved and squirmed and formed Australia and other
places. That is why sea shells are found near the tops of mountains.
You probably know all that Mick but some may not
A very good example of the contorted
rock formation is on the path into the Standley gorge in Karajini
I guess your pics are of similar but much more weathered.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 18:09
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 18:09
Woops Brain Fade Meant Hammersly Gorge
Too many
places so little time
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:08
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:08
Cheers Graham.
Mick
Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 18:53
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 18:53
There is similar rock formations at
Depot Glen (of Sturt fame) in NW NSW
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:09
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:09
Haven't seen those ones Alan. Have seen plenty of it widly speread about Rudall and the Throssells though not as extensive as this batch.
Reply By: equinox - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 19:54
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 19:54
"fold" is what the geos call it, however I drive too slow to be a geo, so can't be too sure.
Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 22:02
Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 22:02
Hmmm you...drive slow? Don't quite know about that. Do you want that space case back lol. First time I've actually seen a 70 series get fully airborn! I reckon big john must have thought he was Biggles there for a while lol.
Cheers sport. Mick
Reply By: bluefly - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 22:33
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 22:33
Mick
In an earlier life I did a lot of rock climbing, so the grade and rock type was very important to us. What I think you’re looking at is scree, and the remnants of an old rock fall that was once layered on the face.
This sometimes happens with unstable sand stone that hasn’t matured to a dense state. I might be wrong without being there, because it’s very hard to make a judgement from a photograph.
However the whole face appears to been unstable indicating a very old rock wall that has eroded over time.
We’ll see what others have to say.
Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 22:05
Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 22:05
Plenty of good info Kim. No name for it though. Reckon that might give me the right to name it myself lol.
"Catastrophius donutdisasterous" - I like it.
Mick
Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 01:03
Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 01:03
Mick O, could be a form of Schist however Schist normally have a sheen/shine to them and are normally flaky, looks sedimentary ie highly compressed mud/
sandstone. It is hard to identify unless sighted. The angles are caused be the earth's savage upheaval.
Seen it numerous times in the
Pilbara, however never bothered to study it.
Must do so next time I'm up there.
Tony
Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 01:14
Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 01:14
Sorry should read :- normally flaky, definately looks------
Tony
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:11
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:11
Yep I reckon I could show you some photos of schist from the same area. This doesn't quite have the mica content. Very similar though with the granular appearance & texture.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 19:51
Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 19:51
Hi Mick O,
Sorry for the delay in getting back, have been waiting for the geologist round the corner from us to come home from the south coast.
His comment, with a grin on his face, was that they were rocks. { He was joking.}
Seriously tho he needs a piece before true identification could be made.
He did that it looked like a
sandstone shale.
If we don't speak before Xmas Have a good one and no can-cans on top of the kitchen bench.
Tony
Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 21:58
Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 21:58
Bugger. Bloody geologists lol. It wasn't really
the rock I was trying to identify Tony as I know it's a
sandstone, more the actual formation. I thought in being so distinctive in it's appearance it may have had a name.
Thanks for taking the time and effort. Much appreciated.
Safe and happy Xmas to you.
Mick
Reply By: Member - Warrie (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:30
Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:30
Hi Mick, this might help. The sequence of metamorphism if the parent sedimentary rock is shale is: 1) slate - as in roof tiles. looks dull, has good cleavage in that it splits into thin layers. layers are straight
2) phyllite - shinier than slate , has a definite sheen. The pressure of squeezing the clay minerals in the shale turnis them into mica which gives the phyllite sheen. May start to show a gentle wave in the layers.
3) schist - greater pressure is making obvious folds, other new minerals growing so it looks banded.
4) gneiss - mottled almost looks like
granite - think kitchen bench tops.
In fact if there is any more heat and pressure
the rock will melt and become a magma and form true
granite.
As another poster said, it's hard to tell without a sample in your hand. If it has tiny - say 0.2 to 0.4 mm particles that are shiny these would be quartz. so the parent could have been a mix of sand and mud and be called a siltstone.
Sandstone metamorphoses into quartzite by heat and/or pressure.
The pix definitely show a slaty cleavage so mud dominates over sand. And it doesn't look to shiny. So IMO it's a low grade meta. rock, most probably a slate.. W
Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 21:59
Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 21:59
Thanks W. It's more the formation I was trying to identify and whether it had a name due to it's unique nature.
Happy Xmas to you and yours. Mick