4 & 5 litre wine casks banned in the NT Jan 1 2011

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 09:41
ThreadID: 82907 Views:5961 Replies:12 FollowUps:25
For all the Grey Nomads heading up to the NT next year you better bring your supplies with you, they are going to ban the 4 & 5 litre wine casks as from the 1st January and they are going to put an extra tax the 2 litre cask at such a rate that no one will want to buy them.
Happy and safe travels
Rick P

Reply By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 09:59

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 09:59
Thanks for the 'heads up' Rick.

That's it for me now - one of the two tanks is gonna have to be dedicated vino storage for the extended trek back to the NT next year.

Last year the ban started around the Kimberley area and will probably extend further down before long.

Getting the 'DT's' just thinking about it......

Cheers - Phil
AnswerID: 438106

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 00:38

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 00:38
Hi Phil

Unftunately you are right. In the latest "Indigenous News" there is an article that Roebourne and Wickham are looking at restrictions, which means all the locals will have to drive a relatively short distance to Karatha to get their beverages.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 709829

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 01:23

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 01:23
Hi Luther

Very sad state of affairs indeed.

From my observations last year - Halls Creek & Fitzroy Xing looked a fair bit tidier than in previous years, but reports in the press indicated Broome suffered as a result.

Reminds me of the contrast between the Kimberley and Marble Bar communities in particular in the late sixties when drinking 'rights' weren't readily available further north until Goughs reign from memory. As you mentioned elsewhere in the thread - 'political correctness' has been a dismal failure in this instance. Many new policies have been implemented more in hope than good sense - but I am not going to claim I know the solution, I just wish someone did.

Regards - Phil
FollowupID: 709831

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:08

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:08
Hi Phil

The solution, and a damned good one has been suggested. The only problem is that politicians are too scared to put the blame for the problem where it does belong, on the shoulders of the problem drinkers.

A blanket situation/solution can only harm small towns and communities that basically depend on tourism for survival, buit the politicians are scared to say to authorities to remove the individuals causing the trouble.

We will keep trying certain things that we are successfully doing at the moment and from there maybe those in power will see some things work.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 709918

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:06

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:06
Why.....Have (they) given a reason ?????

Merry Xmas
AnswerID: 438108

Follow Up By: Sailinghampster - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:29

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:29
Hiya Fred G,

Could be that irresponsible people are blowing up the empty bags to comfortable pillow size then indiscriminately discarding them where crocodiles have access to them. The croc's then swallow them whole, getting them stuck in their throats and subsequently choking to death and we can't have that happening. We simply don't have enough crocs.

What else could it be?
FollowupID: 709721

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:33

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:33
Yeah mate, guess that's it.....ROTFLMAO :-)))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 709724

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 17:37

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 17:37
nothing to do with crocs at all, if only it was that easy ........... it is the "abuse" that others do with cask wine, they have been pushing for years to get rid of it instead of hitting the problem where the problem is the just "ban" it ....
Yep sux as those of us that don't abuse it suffer as per normal .....

Bring in the individual alcohol licensing system and ALL WILL BE SOLVED and those responsible drinkers can then do so .....

I am very slowerly getting backing for it but is a challange.
FollowupID: 709750

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 18:45

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 18:45
Yes!!
It's about reducing everything to the lowest common denominator!! What needs to happen is to get some people to do a hard days work so all they want to do when they get home, is fall into bed!! While we have Governments who allow our hard earned taxes to be burnt up in a drunken stupor, things will never change. So be prepared to accept more of this rubbish while Governments pussyfoot around the Indigenous!! Michael
FollowupID: 709753

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:12

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:12
Damn...no more travel pillows. What shall I do without the good ole woobla??
FollowupID: 709797

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 23:10

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 23:10
VB carton soft enough bro ................
FollowupID: 709817

Reply By: Member - Burra - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:07

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:07
Well remember in 08 trying to stock up for the csr.Pull up to shop,wife and i get out,buy one cask each then on to the next shop etc.
Can understand the reason behind it though.
AnswerID: 438109

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:32

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:32
Just had a readHERE

They chose the wording in the report carefully?

FollowupID: 709723

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:24

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:24
Thanks Rick,

So glad I have given up the demon alcohol. LOL

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 438111

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 12:02

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 12:02
This is only the beginning, they will continue to ban various forms of alcohol whilst the consumption grows at a rate larger than the population itself..! What are you blokes doing up there..? Boozing your life away? LOL
FollowupID: 709727

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 12:35

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 12:35
Ah well as long as the Locals benefit from the restrictions all is good, but I hate being treated like a criminal if you forget to do as the authorities want, and you have to hide your stock that you purchased in another state at a cheaper price, geez we carry a couple of cartons of bottled wine and also stubbies, we also replace that when it runs down, we don't mind spending a dollar in outback towns because every little bit helps the community.

AnswerID: 438120

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 13:23

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 13:23

RIGHT PEOPLE WE ARE ON OUR WAY. JUST HAVE YOUR DRUMS READY.

FollowupID: 709731

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 17:43

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 17:43
good one ..... will vastly increase the people wanting to become ambo's ....
Imagine the turn up if you rolled it, i will be first on the scene, actually i will be following you just incase it springs a leak
:-)
FollowupID: 709751

Follow Up By: Ray - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:47

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:47
Saw that in London a few years ago. A Guiness truck rolled and had a small split in the tank (it was a tanker) and all the old girls for miles around came out with thier jugs.
FollowupID: 709845

Reply By: Ray - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 13:14

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 13:14
It would not surprise me if full proabition is not introduced and we all know what that will mean but apart from that the drug trade will increase. Its a pity all must suffer for the sake of a few.
AnswerID: 438122

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 14:34

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 14:34
RIP Silver Lady!
AnswerID: 438128

Follow Up By: Member - Richard H - West NSW - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 17:18

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 17:18
Are they gonna ban VB too.

Goodness the local populace will have nothing to discard.
FollowupID: 709748

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:22

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:22
they already have in a lot of towns'. halls creek for instance
max purchase 1 x case of mid strenght
think it was vb gold or some equally povo +hit
no other grog sold.
it was also great in alice springs no cask wine but you saw piles of cleanshin bottles laying around the place.
locals just bought a case and drunk them and left a pile of bottles to be turned into broken glass
thats a solution??
howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 709760

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 17:16

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 17:16
All it will do is increase the sale of bottled wine and when they shove extra restrictions on that spirits sales will soar ,, penalise the many for the sake of a few ,,, those that are the problem simply move to a less restrictive place anyway,,,,,
AnswerID: 438141

Reply By: wendys - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 18:20

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 18:20
I seem to remember that a few years back, in Mt Isa, there was a trial period when cask wine sales were banned. The result was a big upsurge in sales of bottles/flagons of cheap sherry and port, etc. Problems developed related to broken glass and injuries from broken bottle fights and, I think, resulted in cask wine sales being reinstated.
AnswerID: 438145

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:56

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:56
Can you still buy glass flagons?? I have to say that i havent seen them for years!! Many years!! Michael

FollowupID: 709761

Reply By: bluefly - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:55

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:55
This will have a considerable effect on tourism in the NT, just as it has done in Alice Springs and other areas, with a variety of regulations and shopping hours.

Internal tourism is down by almost 15% currently, and this will have a pronounced effect on the 2011 tourism season if it’s allowed to continue. Common sense needs to prevail, otherwise towns will shut down.

I know 99% of you won’t like this (and I’m prepared to be moderated). The simple fact is the younger Aboriginal population is out of control, and creating an unworkable situation that’s destroying towns from the Pilbara, Kimberley, Cape York and the Central parts of NSW to name a few.

A man would have to be lame with a blind dog not to notice this!

Some of the outlying communities such as Mullin are trying to do the right thing, but there’s no hiding the fact that we have a problem with drop kicks.

The old Aboriginal drovers are by far the best blokes I’ve ever come across, but even they lament on what’s happening up North.

This has been going on for over more than forty years without any resolution and it won’t be fixed by Government. The Aboriginal’s need to get their act together. I have respect for a man and his family. Unlike all the bleeding hearts and Greenies who exacerbation the problem rather than fix it!

It doesn’t matter if your black or white, responsibility for your life is the key to an identity. Life is as simple as that.

AnswerID: 438151

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 20:00

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 20:00
Hi Bluefly

I live in Mulan Aboriginal Community (as opposed to the Mullin you mention), and you are completely accurate. The younger generation is out of control, and although much has been tried, the soft approach from legislators has allowed everything to do out of proportion.

Political correctness needs to be put back in the bin, and start dealing with facts hard and fast.

FollowupID: 709762

Follow Up By: bluefly - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 21:02

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 21:02
Marc

I’ve been up to your part of the world a few times including Balgo which was bloody hopeless.

However I met an old drover up there and we sat down underneath the tree opposite the cage for the pumps.

He turned out to be a delightful old fella and we talked about his time on the Canning. I think he came from Billiluna Station in its day.

At some stage under the tree, I asked what the fella’s were doing in the shed (kid’s women and men). He said, ‘no more bush tucker’. Not good for me! I think you know what I mean.

We then went on to talk about the old days which included some of the Out Stations, Sturt Creek and Lake Gregory.

Sitting there under that tree and talking to this old Abo, was probably one of the most defining perods of my life. He truly was a great old man. if we could get other Aboriginals to follow his thinking and sense of purpose ........

Sorry for the spelling but it's been two hard days.

FollowupID: 709785

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:05

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:05
Hi Bluefly

Although I know exactly who you are talking about, I will not mentiuon his name as I have not asked his permission.Lake Gregory is the old name for where I am right now, Mulan.

That same old man still travels around, especially at this time of year, being law (lore) time. I have heard those stories, from him and my father-in-law. My wife's father is now in his mid 80's, noone knows exactly how old he is, as he and my mother-in-law are two of the oldest people in the area.

My father in law was born in the the Sturt Creek area and travelled the CSR on foot 6 or 7 decades ago, which is where he met my wife's mother.

That is all off track, so I will stop.

FollowupID: 709794

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:56

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 19:56
Hi Rick

I do not drink, but the writing is unfortunately on the wall. Yes they banned full strength grog of any variety in Halls Creek and Fitzroy Crossing, so all the regular drinkers from those towns migrated Kununurra and Broome. Nothing really changed, just the location of the trouble.

Alcoholism is a major problem within the Aboriginal population, no use trying to get around that, and because of this diabetes is up around the 80% levels in the local population, but they are just statistics. The only benefit is that family violence has dramatically decreased in Halls Creek and Fitzroy Crossing, but I do not understand why establishments cannot serve people who can show bona fides that they are travelling through. That has been suggested but ignored.

AnswerID: 438153

Follow Up By: Wilko - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:31

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:31
Hi Marc Luther,

Once again you speak wise words and you have the intestinal fortitude to say what you believe in.

Thankyou for representing the true decent and hardworking aborigines instead of the louts that run amok.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 709804

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 23:20

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 23:20
Hi Wilko

It takes no intestinal fortitude to speak the truth, it takes guts to be a liar, as well as a good memory. When one speaks the truth and what they actually believe in, then they will have no need to remember anything, as facts are simply facts.

Some of the louts that run amok are related to me through my wife, I will never turn my back on them, but I do try my best to straighten them out, not very successfully however.

Unfortunately a lot of people (not all) only see the idiots who have a chip on their shoulder, and reckon the world owes them, and everyone is then tarred with the same brush, but again, that's life.

The government will never take a sensible option like I mentioned above, as they are scared of being accused of having a "them and us" attitude. That is why I said previously that political correctness has gone stupid.

FollowupID: 709819

Reply By: Flynnie - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 20:56

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 20:56
The whole thing seems a bit misguided. You can not eliminate social problems by regulation. At best you nibble around the edges. The five minute fix or putting a bandaid on it, is not an answer.

Last time I was through the Northern Territory I did not buy any take away alcohol at all. I got a couple of cartons at Kununurra and that lasted me all the way back. I still had a carton on return. Not buying in the Northern Territory was a direct result of the year before when photo ID had to be produced and recorded at Alice Springs.

Sometime ago there were complicated and rather draconian measures introduced in Cape York. Strange that I have not been to far north Queensland since! However if I did, it would be an alcohol free trip.

As to mid strength beer, well I don't like it. It is not a substitute for real beer. For some reason it does not agree with me and I would rather not bother drinking that muck at all.

My experiences are not unique and others would have had similar experiences. I do not like the draconian measures that make the traveller out to be a contraband runner.

This does not mean I will not visit places that have these measures but it does mean they are rather further down the list than they would otherwise be.

I do value the right to have a few beers or wines with mates at the end of a day and this does influence where I travel.

Flynnie

AnswerID: 438164

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce T (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:10

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 22:10
Hear, hear!

Bruce and Di
FollowupID: 709795

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 00:35

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 00:35
Hi Flynnie

In towns like Halls Creek and Fitzroy Crossing, you can still have full strength, but it has to be in the bar, no takeaways. I believe in the accomodation side you can buy full strength and take it to your room, but then I am not prepared to pay nearly $200 a night, when I can chuck my swag anywhere and camp.

I guess it is up to the individual asa well, as I have been told that beer over the bar in a can is too expensive, and in the Kimberley Hotel in Halls Creek, they will not serve me cold water or milk, and I cannot drink soft drinks with sugar in them.

I have many friends, black and whiote, who are hard workers and responsible drinkers, and I cannot socialise with them because most establishments have sugar in everything they serve over the bar. Not one of them is prepared to even let a man have a coffee, I just get weird looks everytime.

FollowupID: 709828

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:24

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:24
Marc

No good at all, mate. You should not have to be pressured to drink alcohol or sweet drinks to socially mix in a pub. There are an awful lot of people who have the same issue. We have a few at work and then there is my mother and a mate and it goes on. It is very common.

I always carry a jar of coffee and milk and cold water with me travelling. So when we meet out there one day we can have a yarn over a brew.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 709958