Aluminium lining material

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 10:01
ThreadID: 82908 Views:2573 Replies:3 FollowUps:1
G'day all,

I just made a aluminium box for my camp trailer with a friend (it came up magic!) and I'd like to line it. I can't think of the name of the stuff, but I see it used on heaps of surfaces etc and see it used for lining boxes.

I went to Bunnings and Clarke Rubber yesterday they had some but boy was it expensive! So just wondering if someone could tell me the name of the product and perhaps where I could buy it at a good price too.

Reply By: Member - Warwick D (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 12:08

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 12:08
Greetings, if it was for heat insulation and/or sound insulation, try Whitworths, the marine suppiers in every state. It is expensive by my standards, buy good enough to line compressor boxes and engine bays. Hope this assists in your web search.
WD
AnswerID: 438117

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 13:48

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 13:48
Thanks Warrick.
FollowupID: 709733

Reply By: tg123 - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 16:39

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2010 at 16:39
If all you want to do is protect things from getting bashed around inside the box I suggest using the 600mm square interlocking foam mats available at camping shops. Cut to size with a stanley knife and attach using a few daubs of liquid nails - works a treat on my camper

TG
AnswerID: 438139

Reply By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:11

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:11
G'Day,
Marine carpet is the 'stuff' your after.
AnswerID: 438238