The Quality of service?

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 08:18
ThreadID: 82926 Views:4484 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
There has been a few threads of late about people replacing tyres and ending up with poor wheel alignments or out of whack balancing done. Well I got to think whats going on? Don't people give a stuff anymore or is it poor training or not checking qualifications of new employees?
I know of a few business where there go far beyond what is expected of them, so it's not all bad out there, but sometimes it does make you wonder how some people hold down a job.

Yesterday I sent Fysh to our local Holden dealer to get two copper washers for the injector pump on the 1HDT. It had developed a leak and was flattened.
It's the one on the left in the pic below. The one on the right is what they gave her.Image Could Not Be Found
I sent with her a hand drawn description of what I wanted and asked for a copper washer. In the mean time I had modified two that where had a slightly smaller ID.
The washer on the right is what they gave her. 50c worth, I have hundreds of these in my work trailer.
What the hell was the bloke thinking?
Next time I'm in town I will be dropping in and asking.
It's Really annoying.

Reply By: GrumpyOldFart - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 08:58

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 08:58
Jon

Try being a thousand plus km from Perth, ordering a Three door display fridge and a two door display freezer for the store and getting both as freezers!

All they could say was "Oh, must have read the order wrong"

There seems to be no pride in the workplace these days

Bit more than annoying
Remember
Life is short, Break the rules, Forgive quickly, Kiss slowly, Love truly,
Laugh uncontrollably, And never regret anything that made you smile

AnswerID: 438204

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:59

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:59
I hope they are paying transport there and back with the right one for you.
Thats a bit rude, "Oh, must have read the order wrong"

I realize we ALL make mistakes, but a little empathy goes a long way.
FollowupID: 709847

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:25

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:25
Once upon a time in the land of Oz ,in places called spare parts departments which were part of the now mythical service department there lived a man , sometimes a woman , though women were few and far between , whose sole purpose for being there was to provide the CORRECT spareparts to the mechanics [yes Virginia they were mechanics ,not some so called service technician] and to the public ,, these men and the odd woman devoted their time to the study of spare parts and became proffessional Spare Parts Interpreters , sadly a lost and dieing art.
AnswerID: 438215

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 11:11

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 11:11
I know it's not possible for a dealer to stock every part for every vehicle these days, but most of them do not even stock the essentials. Most business's have gone from stocking parts to - just in time ordering - which has ended up as - .... just maybe I can get that part for you in about a month... maybe..! with a 50-50 chance it's the right part when it turns up. Sad... isn't it.

I am pleased that not all stockists have that attitude and provide excellent service and go out of their way to get that part for you. Some still have the attitude that "customer service" is a priority.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 709853

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 12:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 12:27
Alloy c/t how very true. I use to work in Hardware on the Trade Counter. We would have the retail staff send customers to us for produce that we sold in their department. We were expected to know everything(which we did) about everything.

Hi Fred, I wouldn't expect a dealer to carry every known part, but a common copper washer, yes. Surely a dealer would not have to order one in.
Your are right, most business still has that way of thinking, but unfortunately it is a dieing form of customer service.
FollowupID: 709864

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 12:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 12:27
Fred , one of the aspects of service departments that irk me is the lack of the actual service nowadays, an example , my 04 auto box diesel rodeo when at 140k the box started to slip and 'hunt', took vehicle to our nearest holden dealer [126klm away] and asked for them to 'service' the g/box , "oh says the 'service tech', we have never serviced a Rodeo auto box ", ,,,, then why oh why does the log book state the box needs a new filter and complete fluid drain every 45 thousand klm says I , oops , this dealers stamp in my log book stating full services at the specified klm since new ,,,,,, the other nearest holden dealer is 450klm away , asked them to post a filter+ gasket to me for the vehicle , yep ,they had to order it in as "never needed one before" DERRRRRR,
FollowupID: 709865

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:47

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:47
Hi Alloy c/t, if thats the case Id be asking for my next service for free as they have obviously charged you for 3 transmission services as per log book, and here he is saying they have never done yours yet it was stamped at the service ????? $$$$$$$$$$ Id be asking for a refund or free service to compensate for the non existant transmission x 3 services. Regards steve m
FollowupID: 709900

Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:01

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:01
A couple of weeks ago I was told by the owners of a local camping store, about one of the policies found at his competitors stores who I should not name, but also own a very large spare parts chain.
Apparently their policy is not to offer any customer service. If a customer approaches a salesperson, fair enough. But the sales people are not to go looking.
I remember when I worked at McEwans Hardware. It was drummed into us all the time about customer service. Then Bunnings took over.
Basically most shops today don't offer customer service.
If you want that in a business, go for a locally owned business
FollowupID: 710023

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:20

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:20
I will bet my left nut that SDG is referring to BCF and Super cheap auto.
FollowupID: 710029

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:32

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:32
I remember years ago when my new Maverick went into the Ford dealer's for its first service. I was charged for an oil filter (one, not two as supplied on the engine). But on inspection, it was still fitted with the original filters from the factory as indicated by the QC paint marks. When challenged why the filters were not changed, they said "oh, we didn't have the filters in stock, and we knew you wanted to pick up the vehicle that afternoon, so we didn't do it". Amazing! I asked them why they didn't keep such basic spares as oil filters, and their reply was that they were rectifying that supply problem and it wouldn't happen in future. I also asked them if they didn't change the filters, did they really change the oil. Oh, yes, definitely the oil. Crap! They offered free oil at the next service as some sort of compensation for being caught out. I never went back to them again. Actually, I did go back when they replaced (under Ford's orders) the stuffed aftermarket A/C with a proper factory A/C as stipulated on the original sales contract. What a second-rate dealer they were.
Gerry
FollowupID: 710046

Reply By: DOEY- Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 11:53

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 11:53
Jon

that washer should work, shouldnt it? it looks close enough... haha
thats pretty ordinary service. I am losing faith in a lot of mechanics and have learnt so much about my car in the last 12 months as ive decided to start doing my own repairs (where possible) with the help of mates when needed. And only taking it to a so called qualified mechanic when absolutely needed.
I remember i bought 4 new tyres or my ford maverick, i asked them when i dropped it off if they could just check the suspension, brakes and steering whilst it was up on the hoist," sure mate, we'll do in inspection and give you a written report" was his response. I thought, beauty, good stuff.
I went to pick it up later in the day and asked for the report, it was pretty much blank with no comments etc. So i asked what the brakes were like, he called the young apprentice over and asked his as he had done the work. The apprentice said the front were fine but didnt check the back as they were drum and would need to be booked in. I argued with him that they were discs on the back but he pretty much made me out to be an idiot, the boss was in earshot so I insisted he follow me to my car where the boss got down on his hands and knees to see my rear disc brakes. The apprentice had a very sheepish look on his face.
At the end of the day i just trusted this mob to fit 4 new tyres and do a quick inspection. Safety comes first- and i need to be assured im getting quality work done especially paying top price for it.
Another time i wanted to order a replacement serpentine belt for my 3.0l gu patrol from the local nissan dealer, The parts "interpreter" kept asking me which belt as he said there were 3 on the zd30 motor. I am still trying to find the other 2??? maybe thats why they keep blowing up- someone in the factory forgot to fit the other belts........

give em hell mate!
AnswerID: 438222

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 12:37

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 12:37
Hi Doey,
It seems to be Tyre and suspension places that have the bad raps.
Early last year I had a vibration at 80k's, so while in town I asked the local Tyrepower guys to check the wheel balance's, also asked could they check the uni's front & back. Paid $60 for the wheels to be balanced and was told the unis are fine. On the way home it shook even worse. Got home and climbed under the old girl to find the unis where shot.
Rang them up to question why they hadn't picked up on it, and was told that they were never asked to check them. Yet they told me they were fine when I picked it up.
Guess what? I don't buy tyres from them now.
FollowupID: 709866

Reply By: wato35 - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 14:04

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 14:04
Hairs

I was one of those with that put on a thread about wheels being out of balance after the dealership rotated them without me being asked.
I took it back Sat morning after a phone call to the head mechanic stating that I could not wait around for them to re-balance the tyres again.He said that they would be done promptly at 10 am. I arrived a 9.55 am, he then asked me what time I would come back for my Hilux. I said that I couldn't wait as per the phone call. " I'm on another car now" was his response. I saw RED, but I controlled my words, well most of them. Anyway he dropped the other job and re-balanced my wheels as I watched. They were out balance by a long way, I asked who did the balancing last time. The answer way that a fully qualified employee worked on my Hilux.
I lost 2 hours (including driving time to get there) plus the cost of diesel to get there. I know its not be much, but that's not the point. I pay the price because someone doesn't care enough about their work.

I'm finding a new mechanic.
I feel better now I have that off my chest.

Wato35
AnswerID: 438234

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 14:21

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 14:21
Hi Wato35,

I couldn't remember who had posted about it.
Geez, they must of been out of whack by heaps to cause you that much difference in the way she drove.
If a 'fully qualified employee' can screw up big time like that, what would an apprentice get up to unsupervised? as we know that they are at times left to their own devices.
You have lost two hours pay, I have often thought about billing Doctors, Dentists even council for having to wait when an appointment has been made, but I don't like my chances of being paid over it.

Good to hear that you got it sorted.
FollowupID: 709889

Reply By: Axle - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:26

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:26
Hey Mate!, When your standing there with the old part in ya hand and the dude in the black suit and red tie behind the counter , tells you, "your vehicle dosen't have one of them!!!!..... Thats what happened to me at a Holden dealer one time, Talk about ruffle feathers" , Know where your comming from..lol.

AnswerID: 438240

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:00

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:00
I've done some hunting today to find the leak, It is coming from the Dashpot screw at the back of the top half of the pump.
So I ring Toyota Grafton, spoke with the service department. I'm told the O rings perish in them, when they changed to ultra low sulfur diesel and mine being the age that she is, I've done well to of got this far without having to replace it yet.

It's not a bad leak ATM, so I guess it's a trip to the diesel mechanic to have him order one.

There you go it's true, The secret to life… replace one worry with another…
AnswerID: 438248