millars falls gennies

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 04, 2003 at 05:27
ThreadID: 8294 Views:1452 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
Have been reading the posts about the pros and cons of millar falls gennies and finally decided to try one as i am only charging up our trailer batts and not attempting to power up a small town.Unpacked the gennie and found that the handle screw holes missed out by 8mm and then found the 12v dc charging pin was 3mm wider than the female socket .Bit off a worry if such elementary fittings should be so out of whack, makes you wonder about piston ring clearance,maybe a couple of mm is close enough.
ITS GOING BACK TO REPCO ASAP.

Rolling bones

Reply By: Russell [Pajero] - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2003 at 07:17

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2003 at 07:17
I had one for 12months, 11 months in workshop for warranty repairs. Got me muni back eventually.

Nice unit, nice size. Pity it didn't work and the service agents ho[eless.

AnswerID: 36141

Follow Up By: Brett - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2003 at 19:16

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2003 at 19:16
I thought all generators needed to comply with AS2790 or a recognised standard. These appear not to comply.
FollowupID: 26101

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2003 at 20:13

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2003 at 20:13
gday bob and judy.
just got back from 5 days camping with the millars falls gennie.
went for hour after hour without missing a beat.back by popular demand
:-)
AnswerID: 36221

Follow Up By: bob@judy - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2003 at 07:09

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2003 at 07:09
Diamond i think you must either flog this junk or have had an especially good piece of luck in your purchase. After reading your reply i decided to give the millar falls another go and took the faulty one back to repco who exchanged it for another no questions asked, all the bits were there this time and everything fitted only trouble was took nearly 10 mins to get going( first had to clean up iron shavings around filler cap) After letting the unit run for 5 mins or so plugged in an electric drill to check output only to find I could have stuck my tongue in the socket and not worried about getting a shock (yes checked the reset switch).Its going back for good this time..
Think I will make my own.

Rolling Bones
FollowupID: 26614

Follow Up By: diamond(bendigo) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2003 at 13:18

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2003 at 13:18
gday bob&judy.
thats a shame to hear that again it was rubish.
i guess i must be lucky.
shame about yours there a great little genny(if you get a good one)back by popular demand
:-)
FollowupID: 26635

Reply By: David N. - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2003 at 10:17

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2003 at 10:17
Have heard numerous reports about these duds.
A mate tried three!!! and finally gave up in disgust and got himself a new Yamaha inverter- beeautifulll. He said he doesn't know why he ever tried the cheap garbage- but I guess that trying to save a dollar most of us (me included) do stupid things....
AnswerID: 36819