Who negotiates at Caravan Parks?

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 21:15
ThreadID: 82968 Views:6390 Replies:15 FollowUps:14
I came across an article about a week ago that stated everyone should be negotiating the nightly rate when using caravan parks (I am unable to locate the source of the article to determine whether it's Oz or U.S. based).

How many of you would do this, or do you accept what the park owner/caretaker stipulates is the nightly rate? I understand peak/off peak seasons might be different, but just wondering whether it's common practice to do so.

One thing I've also noticed is that some of the accommodation books, even though they're current editions, aren't up to date with costs, ie book stipulates $26 per night for a powered site, but by the time we check in it's $29 per night (and off season). Have others experienced this?

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 21:31

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 21:31
probally worth a try to negotiate but do we really want to become a "third world" country where we haggle and negotiate every transaction ...... we all have the right to question if it seems high ..... but really ???
AnswerID: 438401

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 22:34

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 22:34
I reckon it's very Australian to haggle. I almost never pay full price for anything.... most places negotiate, no matter what they are selling. I guess some people don't need to though.
FollowupID: 710144

Reply By: fisho64 - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 21:38

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 21:38
I reckon those books will be just like the "Stayz" and other holiday rental websites where they put a lower price in with a tiny "from" somewhere in the vicinity.
Gets very frustrating when you try to book a house and the actual quote comes back as more than double.
Several I looked at recently wanted $30 a night extra for 2 yrs old and up, thats not luxury accom but a suburban holiday rental "character" house (probably fibro with creaky beds and furniture!).
This boosted the nightly rental (along with some other unmentioned charges) from $150 a night to $290.
4 days ago I replied saying sorry but out of our range and quite different what advertised. An hour ago I got a text offering it for $150.
AnswerID: 438402

Reply By: ross - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 23:15

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 23:15
"One thing I've also noticed is that some of the accommodation books, even though they're current editions, aren't up to date with costs, ie book stipulates $26 per night for a powered site, but by the time we check in it's $29 per night (and off season). Have others experienced this?"

The book is a guide not a binding contract. They cant print a new one every time some park puts its price up 50 cents.
It only takes a few minutes to confirm the prices on the phone.

Ill happily pay extra for a well cared for site with some privacy and spacious,clean facilities
AnswerID: 438414

Reply By: dublediff - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 23:18

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 23:18
I remember my dad haggling for everything from the meat at the butcher to school fees.....one day he had taken us kids to the beach while he played golf, he must have got a little embarrased about how long he stayed in the 19th hole, maybe it was just the "red suntan" we all had when he finally came to pick us up, but he offered to buy us a Mr Whippy icecream. We left when he started bargaining with the poor sod in the icecream van, dad did have the cones in his hand at the time.....so I guess he had the upper hand....he came back to the car...an ej holden, with a satisfied look on his face, unfortunately the icecreams looked a little withered and were rather soggy and sad after 15 minutes.... hate to see him in a caravan park haggling with the managers - god knows what site we would have been given....
AnswerID: 438417

Follow Up By: Liveit - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 23:40

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 23:40
That story was hilarious, thanks for the laugh. :-D
FollowupID: 710157

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 00:19

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 00:19
You all seem to forget the owner has to make a living too, the expenses are enormous, Rates, power, employees, insurances, tax, comodoties and theft are just some that come to mind, to provide you travellers with a decent and safe place to stay a night or 4 .We had a bloke come in here a few months ago , driving a big flash unit with a 5th wheeler tagging behind, when he was told the rate he let forth with some vile language stating it's the most expensive Caravan park he had come across at $26 a night for 2 adults , powered site, I thought ...mate wait until you get to Darwin, or Cairns, he'll have a heart attack.
I said to the owner if that was his attitude it's probably better if they don't stay,

AnswerID: 438425

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 06:53

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 06:53
I agree Doug, their oncosts are fairly high, some Caravan Parks will give you an extra night for free if you stay an extra night ect, the average self employed Tradie gets around $85 to $120 per hour, so $26 a night is chicken feed, you would want a full house every night to make a reasonable income.
FollowupID: 710167

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 09:26

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 09:26
Daza
I did forget to mention that, If one stays 3 nights here the 4th is free.
Ummmmm .........I been here since Jan' 2009, ..lol

FollowupID: 710181

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 09:52

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 09:52
Dont forget the ones who take 20 minute showers.

Cant stand that.

Totally inconsiderate in places where water is both scarce and expensive.

FollowupID: 710184

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 10:13

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 10:13
They should have coin operated showers & reduce the fees slightly.

I agree with Doug T about the astronomical overheads some park operators have to cope with.
People are already whinging about parks closing to make way for development, so this will become an even more attractive proposition for the park operators if mean travellers start trying to negotiate.
FollowupID: 710188

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:38

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:38
G/day Doug

It makes me laugh when I see some one having a bitch about $26 per night for powered site, in Darwin you can get a 6 bed dorm room at a backpackers for $25, perhaps these people should stay there instead.

Cooinda at peek season charge $45 per night, to me $26 is probably the cheapest I would have paid on any site I have used in the last 4 years.

The trouble is most people who do have a whinge have never run their own business therefore don,t know the break down of the cost involved.

A few examples: Public Liability, workers comp and all other associated insurances involved in running a business, can run into tens of thousands per year, wages + supper, advertising can be tens of thousands, then there is the up keep of amenities, grounds and infrastructure that is used buy the people staying at the park and abused because it is not theirs to worry about.

Try running your own business before saying something cost to much.
FollowupID: 710315

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:39

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:39
PS that dorm room was $25 per person.
FollowupID: 710316

Reply By: farouk - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 09:46

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 09:46
Doug and Daza,
Yes you are right when you say they have high expenses BUT tell me how a caravan park just outside Rockhampton was charging $135 a week this year and a caravan park at Yepoon was charging $280 a week and then when the peak holiday periods come up some of the prices charged are ridiculous, no relation whatsoever to a fair profit margin but more to do with "how much can I screw out of the families like as in $10 per night for a 5 year old.
Farouk
AnswerID: 438455

Reply By: Ray - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 09:55

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 09:55
Going onto costs. Have you noticed how many retailers have sales these days. Once you only had sales in the new year but now you have them all the time. I often wonder if a sale really is a sale or are they selling goods at the price they should have been in the first place???? Same as "specials"
Was in W......w...ths the other day and they were selling raffle ticket to help our hard hit farmers. I told them that if they didn't rip the farmers off in the first place that there would not be any need for a raffle
AnswerID: 438457

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 10:39

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 10:39
Yep ,you just gotta love 'sales' ,10%-75% off says to me 1 of 3 things , A: the item was grossly overpriced to begin with, B: profit margin was set to high C: the item is superceded or just about out of date.
FollowupID: 710197

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:18

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:18
I will tell you why retailers are having a sales more often, it is because more and more people are staying at home and shopping on line.

Retailers can,t compete with on line sales, so they have to off load stock at a reduced price just to pay the bills.
FollowupID: 710312

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 11:08

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 11:08
Along the lines of discounts in stores I was buying a new set of home theatre speakers recently RRP $1649.

In one of our large retailer stores Bargained it down to $1249.

They didnt have the model receiver I wanted so went to a different branch.

They had it so haggling started again Speakers ended up at $1049 and receiver had $400 of RRP as well

Conclusion Discounts are built in to ORP and if you dont ask you are paying too much.
Same with cars Wanted a specific Award winning model for wife. Went around traps $26888 RRP and more in some cases

Broker price $24600

Haggled at a dealer $24000 for delivery in a month and if I paid cash on the day $23500.

Same at van parks that offer the club discounts

Its all built in and if we are staying for a week or more I always ask at non member parks.

Usually a 10% is forthcoming. They can always say no I dont get offended if they do.

AnswerID: 438466

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 16:03

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 16:03
We have just finished a four state trip (in two months) and our overnight stops included free camps (e.g. @ yellow bus) up to Brisbane at $41 for a powered site. We had all our own amenities - just needed power and location and were prepared to pay the price - only used their power and water. Outback NSW ~$18 to $25. At Moree I haggled a bit at $29 and was told the other park was $25 but it cost $6 for the hot spa (which I wasn't interested in). The attitude of the guy turned me off so I decided to go to the other park which was $25 and FREE HOT SPA !! The guy was just telling me a porky. (btw I still didn't use the spa).

Mal

living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 438488

Reply By: the_fitzroys - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 18:58

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 18:58
I think that reference to negotiating rates might have been in a thread about hiring motorhomes in the US.
We don't use parks but if we did, I'd never haggle over a nightly fee. Maybe if I was staying 3 or 4 nights in the off season I might ask for a lower rate. But Jeez, these guys have to make a living too. If they said no, I'd weigh my options and either cop the rate or go somewhere else. Free market. Their choice and yours.
For the person who said haggling is very Australian, I disagree. I think most Australians (being careful here), most Australians of British/Celtic origin, find haggling embarrassing. I think some of the European/Jewish cultures enjoy it far more as a form of sport and would never consider paying full price.
Lou

AnswerID: 438502

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:35

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:35
i am glad someone agrees ....... haggling is not us at all, i have found without a doubt that those that haggle the most are the the one that can well afford it and are not happy unless they haggle like an old women, i have had some bragging about a $2 discount ....... it is actually a culture for some countrys to do it .....
If you go on a holiday and set your program on having to haggle everything you buy and do then how the hell can you call it a holiday and why did you save up in the first place, for what you save you could just work one week extra and save everyone the hassle, anyone that steps in our shop and starts to "haggle" saying it is australian will get a better price, better for us as we raise it according to the level of "@ss pain" that we get ..... we get complaints about the price of fuel, we train or staff to ignore it and suggest they go to the next stop if they dont like it, we have refused people service due to abuse about not "haggling" as it is degrading, imature and NOT AUSTRALIAN ..... like it or not :-) :-)
Cheers, JOE FROM THE DOOMADGEE ROADHOUSE ... just so you dont bother to come here ....
FollowupID: 710344

Follow Up By: the_fitzroys - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:49

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:49
Exactly, Joe. I'd be ashamed to haggle with the businesses we deal with when we travel.
And it could so easily backfire. Eg. We were in Tibooburra recently. Bought ice, diesel, some supplies and ate breakfast in the the Corner Country Store. Later in the day, while we were still in town, we found that a leaf spring on our trailer had come loose. We were directed back to the Corner Country Store and the proprietor who is, I gather, a competent if not full-time mechanic. He took us to his home, emptied out loads of jars of bits and pieces until he found a suitable part, then fixed it at a ridiculously reasonable price. I can only imagine that, had we spent our morning in vigourous pursuit of saving a few dollars, it could have all turned out so differently.
Lou
FollowupID: 710346

Reply By: Outback Bob - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 22:16

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 22:16
I cant believe you lot are complaining about 20-30 bucks for a CP site. That's dirt cheap and if you dont like it you can always camp for free near towns and find a shower somewhere.
OB
AnswerID: 438515

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 11:19

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 11:19
We are booked into a park for 2 weeks at Xmas in Botany Bay - paying $45/night.
I enquired with another in Byron Bay for the New Year - wanted $65/night.
I normally stay away from major towns and being used to approx $30 this is a bit of culture shock to me.
Regards Dennis
FollowupID: 710293

Reply By: i'machocoholic - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 11:56

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 11:56
It was interesting reading for me hearing everyone's views - it seems that some do, some don't. Personally I haven't unless staying longer than a couple of days.

I appreciate everyone taking the time to respond.
AnswerID: 438536

Reply By: snapper49 - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 08:21

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 08:21
Well we usually travel in a convoy of 5 or more vans and our leader does haggle
and yes we usually get a discount especially when we book in advance
and over any trip we do those savings certainly mount up
AnswerID: 438626

Reply By: scoots68 - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 22:12

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 22:12
I know I'm a bit late in commenting but my family of 2 adults & 4 children (10 - 5) were quoted $150 a night for a powered site at a caravan park on the Bellarine Pennisula for the Melbourne Cup weekend. When I complained about the cost I was told I could come in winter at $80 a night. I would expect brekky in bed & the kids babysat for that sort of price! We went to the lovely Barwon Heads Caravan Park at about $30 a night and had a great time.
AnswerID: 439103

Follow Up By: i'machocoholic - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 21:19

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 21:19
What the.....$150??? That's ludicrous....you could have stayed in an apartment for that!

We've just stayed in Echuca and it was the best place we've stayed on our 7 week trip. Stay 3, pay for 2.....it worked out really cheap.

I guess that's one benefit of travelling in the off season as you mentioned.

We're heading to Barwin Heads in February so I'll make sure we drop into the caravan park you stayed at. Thanks for the tip!
FollowupID: 711027

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 23:37

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 23:37
I always had a ready reply when someone asked..... "Is that the best price you can do?" I replied.... "Oh no, I can go much higher than that".

Honestly, no-one ever came back at me....... just accepted the reasonable price I had nominated.

I often wonder about Hagglers ......... what their reaction would be if their employer were to begin negotiation on each payday?

AnswerID: 439195