GPS..It had to happen.
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 23:59
Member - Doug T (NT)
After a lot of research between the Nuvi range I finally decided to get a Nuvi 1490T, it is far advanced over the Nuvi 765 , I also got the EcoRoute HD with it, trouble is my old Troopy don't have the connection for it.
As soon as it was out of the box I made the usual full back up copy of the memory , then deleted all the non English files gaining 296MB of space .
I particually like the extra size compared to the 765 , I did look hard at the Nuvi 3790T with voice recognition but 3 factors put me off that one, price , size, and the fact I didn't really need the voice feature, price because when one get old and goes onto the pension you keep an eye on the dollars, with the 765 keyboard I had troubles with the size of the letters, I kept hitting the wrong ones with my big fingers, a kid would have no worries. As you can see below the the 1490T letters are spaced a little bit further apart.
I did buy the Garmin Topo for the 765 and I know I can't install it into the 1490T so I'll probably sell it with the GPS when I get around to advertising it .
At the moment I have the Shonky Contours in it and that overlays Mapsource ,
Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 00:13
Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 00:13
Hi Doug,
you got it just in time for X'mas... now santa doesn't have to give you anything because you already have all the toys you need... lol...!
Merry X'mas mate.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 00:23
Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 00:23
Hi Fred
Yeh I been doing alright for new gadgets , new GPS and a new Iphone, plenty to keep me occupied ...for a while.
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 22:10
Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 22:10
now theres your problem, you bought an iphonerubbish.
the HTC is soooooo much bettttterrererererere
sorry Doug, just my 25 cents telstra flagfall.
lol
how have you being???
Reply By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 06:30
Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 06:30
Doug
I have a 760 and can't add any more Favourites as the memory is full.
Is your screenshot above from your computer? If so, is that how you deleted all those unnecessary files? Will that help my problem?
Follow Up By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 07:00
Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 07:00
You can find details on Doug's website
here.
Thereis lots of more good information on Nuvi's
here.
Neil
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 09:00
Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 09:00
Michael
Unfortunately the the 760 can only store 500 favorites, but you could make more and upload them as a POI using the POI uploader, that way you could have another couple of 1000.
Yes the screen shots are from the PC properties on the GPS drive.
Follow Up By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 14:38
Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 14:38
Thanks Doug!
I was adding them from Google Earth with POI Loader, then dragging them from POI's to Favourites so they were easier to get at. I think in future I'll just leave them in POI's...
Thanks for your help!
BTW does deleting all those non-English files make the room for Favourites any bigger?
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 14:56
Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 14:56
Michael
No, what it does is makes more room for mapping , ie T4A, (not the Garmin Topo) it's too big, and for 1000's of POI's. if you upload .gpx files the use more space, and also some extra .jpg files, I delete the stupid ones added by Garmin.
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 17:40
Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 17:40
Doug!!
By the look of your new Garmin, it seems to have lost its easy clip in feature for mounting it to the windscreen holder!! Is that correct??
Michael
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 17:46
Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 17:46
Doug, Why cant you add Topo? Do you have it on CD or memory card?? Does the new garmin have a card slot? Michael.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 18:47
Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 18:47
Michael
The new mount is totally different to that of the smaller Nuvi's , it clips in just as easily but the power line ayyaches to the unit instead of via the mount as in the 765, no great problem .
The reason I said the unit can't take the Garmin Topo is because there's 370 map tiles at 1833.8mb , we only saved 296 mb, thats why Garmin Topo has to go on an SD card.
Reply By: Member Dick (Int) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:33
Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:33
Hi Doug
Hope you are keeping
well.
Last year I purchased a Nuvi 1460 which is similar in size. Certainly easier on the eyes and the keyboard is a lot easier to use.
I have City Navigator and Shonky Maps on it and find it works very
well, certainly a nice improvement for the eyes.