The great off road caravan debate, plus, take the tinnie or not?

Hi all, we are only new to the site as a member but have been reading the forum for a while now and have taken some really good info from it. The family and I are preparing for the big "Around Oz Trek" planning to take about a year. Two adults and to kids 9 and 10. Just wondering if I can get some opinions from those that have either done, or are doing the trip with a big off road van, all opinions welcome, good, bad and indifferent. Have done factory tours of all the majors Bushtracker, Kedron and also a few new ones, Free Spirit and Spinifex. They're all about the same price but which is the best??? Also, I've never been much of a fisherman but love being on the water and would love to learn, am considering taking a tinnie on the trip but have been told by many its a waste of effort for the amount of times you'll use it, again all opinions of experience are greatly appreciated.

Hado

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 13:36

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 13:36
Don't forget Track Trailer Topaz or Australian Off Road Campers Quantum & Eclipse.
AnswerID: 438541

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 18:12

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 18:12
Couldn't remember this one earlier, also look at the Gunyah by ozzie offroad.
FollowupID: 710327

Follow Up By: makintraks - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:13

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:13
Thanks Shaker, I've found there's heaps of other brands, thats why I'm not sure about going with one of the less popular brands, my favorite so far is Spinifex, the owner used to work for Kedron and their design has much larger windows and an option for air bag suspension.
Hado
FollowupID: 710336

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 13:57

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 13:57
We did the big trip for 2 years. 2 Adults 2 kids 8 & 11 towing an off road camper trailer.

We like you could not decide whether to take a tinnie or not. Our friend talked us out of it & I am so glad they did. Would not have been worth the hassle of carrying it. We borrowed or rented a boat on the very odd occation that we needed one.

Either way you will have the time of your life. Enjoy your travels.
AnswerID: 438543

Follow Up By: makintraks - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:14

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:14
thanks Bushranger, thats the advice i've also had
FollowupID: 710337

Reply By: Ray - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:35

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:35
I always take plenty of tinnies as I like VB and in some places you can't buy it
AnswerID: 438548

Follow Up By: makintraks - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:16

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:16
good advice Ray, I'll make mine XXXX, I'd refer to them as cartons though not tinnies
FollowupID: 710338

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:53

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:53
Some idea of what you are going to pull it with may help.

AnswerID: 438553

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 17:45

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 17:45
Why ask him that?, He has already mentioned large off road vans, and asking advise as to which one in everybodys opinion is the best and probably why. What he is going to tow it with is another topic, at this stage it might be a mini minor. it dosen't matter, its the van thats the topic!!.

FollowupID: 710323

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 17:57

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 17:57
He has asked for ADVICE about vans and be able to ADVISE him it may be

advisable if he already has a tow vehicle, it would make sense to recommend a

van within its capabilities wouldn't it.

Or is that too simple.

FollowupID: 710325

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 18:04

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 18:04
HE Maybe well aware of what his vehicle is capable of towing if looking at large off road vans!!.....Simple.

FollowupID: 710326

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 18:14

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 18:14
Maybe but helps if he says so Its always easier to answer a question if all the info is give rather than some of it.

Like a lot of threads on here where a very general question is asked

On on this page a few days ago that said "What vehicle" Or in one case just "Vehicle".

FollowupID: 710329

Follow Up By: Witi Repartee - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:11

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:11
I agree with Graham.....it's best to know the full picture and capabilities of the entire rig, especially as children are involved. Lets get enough info to give prudent and relevant answers.
Gerard
FollowupID: 710335

Follow Up By: makintraks - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:19

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:19
hey Graham, the plan was to buy a second hand 200 series cruiser but after reading a post on this forum I am having second thoughts, sounds like they have a few oil usage problems.
FollowupID: 710339

Follow Up By: makintraks - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:25

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:25
If it helps get some suggestions on the vans, the tow vehicle we are looking at is a second hand 200 series V8 diesel with 2" lift, chip and exhaust upgrade, I'm sure that will comfortably tow a 3.5 tonne van. Stilll doing research on the apparent oil usage dramas.
FollowupID: 710341

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:25

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:25
Get on the Lcool forum for Toyotas Some have burned oil up to 30,000 some havent some still do

You have to join Lcool

Still can only tow 3500kg with a 200 so dont get too heavy a van

Unles you get a GVM upgrade so you will need long arms and short pockets LOL

FollowupID: 710342

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 22:09

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 22:09
I recently read the Lcool posts on the LC 200 burning oil. A lot of the posts are about vehicles that really are only using a slight to moderate amount of oil. Some good info on that forum but like all forums you have to sift the posts carefully to find the good stuff.

The most significant thing I picked up from the Lcool posts on the LC 200 was that oil can start to loose its viscosity at around 5,000 k. I change my oil at that in my 79 as do other owners around the area.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 710373

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 00:26

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 00:26
Yeah, the 200 oil beat-up is mostly that, a beatup. Apart from the fact that CRD diesels use more oil, the typical 200 owner use ~1L per 10,000kms, may be high by old mechanical diesel technology but now thats what these new engines do. But, also note that the earlier ones (mine included) had the vacuum pump modified by Toyota to reduce oil consumption. It was not a recall so very possible there are many 200's out there without this mod.

There are a few that do use noteably more, but bear in mind that this a big V8 diesel with a huge amount of power. Unless they are occasionally driven hard, they can be glazed up if puttered around the burbs too much. Remedy is to take it for a good hard run occasionally - now thats a chore :)

Check out LCOOL and you will see that the vast majority of owners do not have an issue. Also you will see that there are several owners who are already onto their second 200 (been out over 3 years now). That wouldn't happen if they didn't think it was a great vehicle.

FollowupID: 710386

Follow Up By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 08:08

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 08:08
FollowUp: The great off road caravan debate, plus, take the tinnie or not?
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 11:57
makintraks
Taking a tinne on the roof of your vehicle will cost you money in fuel at least 20% more than with out. in 2009 I travelled some 40,000 ks round the block wit a roof rack and it cost heaps so when I got home I took the roof rack off
Terry
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

FollowupID: 710393

Follow Up By: makintraks - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 11:54

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 11:54
hey thanks for the tip on the Lcool website, definately what i needed to check out. Terry I think you're right about the tinnie, I actuallly like the look of Captians set up with a couple of canoes on the roof instead. Funny thing about the extra fuel though, I actually thought it would be more fuel efficent because the tinnie would act perfectly as a wind deflector for the van?
FollowupID: 710429

Reply By: Wilko - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 16:41

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 16:41
Hi Hado,

I would personally take a tinny as I would make sure I used it 100's of time during a trip around Oz. I would design my itinerary and route around the usage of the boat.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 438558

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 18:08

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 18:08
Hi Hado

We (travelling without children) chose a Bushtracker to be certain we got out of the deserts in one piece. We have a wonderful country to see, and much of the inland is long and corrugated dirt roads. This is where we wanted to travel. To do this, we had to upgrade from our Patrol which could pull the van OK, but a fully laden van for the big lap would not have been legal. Hence we purchased an F250 before taking long trips.

I am not mad keen of fishing, and most of our travel is inland and through dry areas anyway. I reason that with the money saved (including extra fuel) we can go on a charter every now and then. Whats more, they know the waters, and know just where to catch fish. A much better idea in my opinion.

If you would like a bit more detail about choosing a rig, email me

@ westnet .com .au

AnswerID: 438566

Follow Up By: makintraks - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:29

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:29
thanks motherhen, I'm leaning that way, would really like to hear from a few people who have done the trip with a tinnie and find out how often they used it, still deciding on the rig, was a bit concerned with the big Fords in case of break down and spare parts?
FollowupID: 710343

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:15

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:15
Hi Hado

We have had no problems with parts. We buy filters from any Ford dealer for regular servicing (and can buy cheaper brands from eBay). The only part we needed that broke was a specific bolt, and that was available from Ford in Melbourne. We purchased a few spares to carry with us from USA (CPU and radiator hoses which we haven't used); cheaper and quicker delivery.

Mh

FollowupID: 710356

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 08:36

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 08:36
If you are going to look at everything that comes along Haydo I would not take a boat. There is alot of equipment, additional weight & increased fuel usage when carting one & if you are just going to put it in every so often is alot of trouble. IMHO you'd be better just to hire or take a fishing charter.
If your main aim is to go fishing there are obviously many great locations to base camp from & makes carting one 20,000km worth the effort.
We carted a boat up the Canning so we could fish the Kimberly. It all took up so much valuable space & overloaded the car & all for 3 days fishing. Great fishing but for me now we will either be touring or taking the boat not both.
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 438630

Follow Up By: makintraks - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 11:57

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 11:57
Thanks Craig, this has been great coz the majority are suggesting the same. Will save me time, money and now means that I can throw a tent and other stuff on the roof.
FollowupID: 710430

Reply By: Stevesub1 - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 11:31

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 11:31
We have not done the Big lap but have done plenty of QLD, NSW, VIC and SA over the years on various trips - did we take our tinney, yes, on 2 trips where we specifically wanted to go fishing. What did we do in other places, surfcast, hired boats or did fishing charters.

We are in the early stages of planning to do the Big lap in 5 or 6 years time when we retire and the boat does NOT feature in our plans.

If you really really want to take a boat, get a Porta Boat and a 5hp motor. A lot less drag, smaller motor to find a home for, etc.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 438658

Follow Up By: makintraks - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 12:00

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 12:00
YEh good suggestion mate, have considered this also, am also considering a couple of canoes instead, maybe help the paddle of a few of the beers I will no doubt drink on the way around..........
FollowupID: 710431

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 11:53

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 11:53
6 months and 23,000 klm , took the tinny [3.6mt-12ft with 10hp mariner] on top of the landcruiser towing our c/t , used boat 2x , once at Innaminka and then on the Daly river in the NT, 12ft boat -16ft crocs ,,, save your fuel costs [at least 1-3klm per lt] and put it towards renting or charter ,,, give the kids a real thrill like helecopter fishing at ElQuestro.
AnswerID: 438659

Follow Up By: makintraks - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 12:05

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 12:05
yeah thanks Alloy, the response has been great, pretty much unanimous, leave the boat at home, sounds like anywhere that is a decent fishing place has the option to hire a boat or go on a charter anyway, I'm sure this would be better coz they will know the best spots, like the idea of heli fishing too...........
FollowupID: 710432

Reply By: Searay - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 13:54

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 13:54
Hi Makintraks,

We are travelling oz now (me,wife and 4 four year old) and had a 23ft van with a 100 series cruiser. although the van is none of the brands you mentioned, we still went on dirt roads etc. We are half way around and have had a change of hearts. We have now bought a jayco expanda (waiting for the critisim), and a diesel hilux. We have dropped a tonne in weight with towing the van and the hilux economy kills the 100 series.

We were finding that the big van was to big or to high to fit under trees or up tight tracks, to get to camps we wanted to go. Yes the expanda is not as well made as the brands you mention but at a third of the price i dont care. I am modifying the jayco to go on dirt roads now and i dont think it matters what you take as long as you drive to suit the conditions, that generally means slowing down and take your time.

We have more room in the expanda than in the big van but there are trade offs with both models. Also we have found all the things we wanted in a van have changed so much as you really only sleep inside it, most of the time is spent outside doing stuff. Really consider the difference in size of the vans and tow vehicles needed, the fuel bills add up after a while, we now try to keep the weight down as muchas possible.

Good luck Troy
AnswerID: 438670

Reply By: BrownyGU - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 22:54

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 22:54
Hado, (we need ya back opening for the Aussies....)

Mate, I reckon your probably sorted for answers about the Tinnie, but I might as well way in.

Unless your a mad keen fisho and you are planning your trip around fishing destinations, then don't worry, also if you are relativly inexperianced in relation to boating, then launching a Tinnie and traversing unknown waters is a recipe for disaster I reckon.

I've got a friend just getting towards the end of 'The Big Lap' with his family (wife and two young boys) and he reckons his biggest regret was not having a Tinnie along!!! But he is a pretty keen fisho, so it's Horses for Courses I reckon.

Cheers.........Browny
AnswerID: 438724

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 08:52

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 08:52
The question as to whether to take a Tinnie or not often comes up, or is often thought about by those doing the ‘big lap’. Personally I think the reality is that there are those who fish all the time and would not be without their tinnie, and there are those who ask the question whether it is worth taking a tinnie or not.

And I think therein lies the distinction, if you are asking is it worth taking one you probably are not a mad keen fisherman and it probably isn’t worth the hassle....if you know what I mean.

But enjoy your trip!

Cheers, The Landy

AnswerID: 438745