DPCHIP for EFI Diesel Engines

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 13:34
ThreadID: 82993 Views:6051 Replies:13 FollowUps:6
G'Day Troops,
I was wondering if any of our members have used a DPCHIP and ,if so, what is your recommendations

If considered appropriate I plan to install the CHIP in a NP Pajero.

The other issue I have on my plate at the moment is whether to replace my tyres with either Coopers ATR's or Toyo for a trip along the Canning next year,any suggestions as I have not had much joy with BFG's

Look forward to you input.

Thanks Guys, have a Merry Xmas

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:35

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:35
hi richard p
have a look at www.chipit .com au
they also have one for the the paj and is a bit cheaper with good references
i have no connection with the company just advising of another alternative

i have had 2 set of coopers and found them to have problems and they did'nt last any longer than other brands one set the tread lugs broke up that was on the csr trip and the other set the casing separated and coopers did'nt want to know about it in both instances
if you could delve and get the honest truth you would find that most of the tour blokes that are pushing coopers are on kick backs in the back pocket

coopers saturate the market with tv adds and and in magazines and that gets everyone
brainwashed and believing you cant go anywhere unless you have coopers on your vehicle
same as the stratorgies that toyota push into peoples heads and yes its seems to be working for both companies
i have had 2 sets of bfg's with good results and would never buy coopers again
i have also worn out at least 3 sets of bridgestones in the past
tread did'nt last that long but had no casing problems had a set of dunlops sp once they were crap
i will have sturd a can of worms now with my comments but
i like everyone on here is entitile to have a say and pass a genuine opinion from my personal experiences over many years
AnswerID: 438547

Reply By: Member - Matt L (WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:35

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:35
Hi Richard P, mate i have to tell you if your BFG'S have failed you there is absolutely no hope for any other tyre you fit for your trip along the Canning . Toyo are good but i call Coopers THE KILLER TYRES as i have had three people i knew that have died as a result of Cooper tyres failing and one of the wife's in a wheel chair for the rest of her life. I use BFG'S and have never had a problem and havn't heard of an accident by BFG failures , but no doubt there has been a problem somewhere.
AnswerID: 438549

Reply By: Injected - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:49

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:49
Sorry cant comment on the chip.
But can comment on the Crappers tyres. Currently have the Cooper ATR and cant get them to grip in the rain and as im living in the tropics, rain is what i get. I have taken them back to Coopers dealer and he told me that cos living in tropics the roads are hotter so the tyres warm up more and reduces the road footprint. He said to drop the pressure down. now running at 26-28 psi and still wont grip in the rain, and now chopping out with heal/ toe wearing of the lugs. Lucky the ABS unit works in the 4X4, and im no hoon.
Im always weary of companies that do a lot of advertising, Coopers, McDonalds.
Regards Angus
AnswerID: 438550

Follow Up By: Member - Matt L (WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:57

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 14:57
Mate get them tyres off pronto , as running around on 26psi is probably not the thing to do on the road.
FollowupID: 710310

Follow Up By: Injected - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 10:51

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 10:51
Matt
Yeah i know but im looking at selling the vehicle soon, if not i will probably take them off and use them as trailer tyres.
FollowupID: 710426

Reply By: Member - peter K (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:37

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:37
Hi Richard can't help with the chip but i have found toyo tyrer are the go have done all the deserts and part of the canning and lens roads and never found them troublesome.Got chopped up abit from the hard terrain but never let me down. Yours PJK
AnswerID: 438552

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:58

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 15:58
I have a Safari chip in my 100 plus a 3" mandrel bent exhaust and it goes really well

However the exhaust probably is better than the chip.

I have BFG's and have just completed a trip round the block.

The tyres have done 60,000k and are no where near worn out.

Havent even had a puncture yet..

Were a damn sight cheaper than Coopers as well.

AnswerID: 438554

Reply By: Madfisher - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 16:27

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 16:27
If you where not happy with bfg s you sure as hell will not be happy with the atr crap. Still have two on the back of swmbos Nullarbor, but never again.I have had a good run out odf bridgees and more importent they are very good in the wet. Wear is OK.
AnswerID: 438556

Reply By: OREJAP - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 16:41

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 16:41
G'day Richard, I have to agree with the advice given by Mazcan...it's spot on. Out of interest, I had two sets of BFG's on my NP & never a drama. I would say the best tyre on the market IMHO & no, I do not sell or work for them. I had a two inch lift on the Paj & had all 4 wheels balanced & aligned (which must be done after a suspension upgrade on Pajero) Regarding a "chip" I do not have one however I would look seriously at the companies offering good warranty.service & customer recommendations. Happy Xmas & be safe
AnswerID: 438559

Reply By: Racey - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 16:44

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 16:44
I think enough has been said about the tyres. Have a look at the Steinbauer chip. In a recent comparison in 4WD Action it got the nod. I have one fitted to my Rexton after a lot of research. It is the only chip I know which monitors the throttle position.

Racey
AnswerID: 438560

Follow Up By: DOEY- Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 16:59

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 16:59
Thats interesting, i thought they all monitored the TP??
I am dissapointed i missed out on the issue where they did the chip comparo.
You say steinbauer chip got the nod, was that all round or was there a better one for non crd motors?
Looking at doing the same upgrade on my rodeo, my biggest problem is auto lag, motor seems to want to give but tranny says "hang on a minute". So im not really sure if its worth me doing it. Automatic trans mechanic says the box is in good nick and has been serviced regularly, its just the way they are (apparently).

Regarding tyres, i reckon everyone has their opinion etc etc, I just want to say im very happy with my maxxis bravo's, a simple cheaper tyre but handles well in the wet and the dry, not an aggressive tread so is great on the sand and best of all are not noisy. I have done 40,000kms doing the lap so far and i reckon i still have plenty left. They havent been thrashed but have done the GRR, and the road to cape leveque as well as many dirt\gravel tracks towing a camper trailer. I will be buying another set when the need to be replaced.
FollowupID: 710320

Follow Up By: Racey - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 09:36

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 09:36
Hi Doey,

I belive they were all CRD's. For non CRD motors the fuel pump must be eclectronically controlled to fit a chip. Check out the Steinbauer site. The gearbox issue is a serious concideration.

Racey
FollowupID: 710408

Reply By: Dirk T (WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:35

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:35
Hello Richard,
Well you certainly stirred up a bit of a hornets nest with the tyre subject.
For what its worth I have a DP Chip fitted to my 200 Landcruiser and can't speak highly enough of it. I looked the Steinbauer system, but at approx $3k fitted the DP Chip was better value for money, it cost me $1450 and took me 5 minutes to fit it, once I worked out what they meant with the pictures they used for reference points. It is fully adjustable and I have it set on 7 (out of 1 to 10) and find the power increase is phenomenal. I get about 120 to 150 kms more out of the 138 litre tanks.
The other interesting thing that I liked about the DP Chip is if you have a problem with your vehicle whilst still under new car warranty, DP Chip will pay for any repairs if the vehicle manufacturer finds that the Chip caused the problem.
As for the BFG's, I wouldn't have any other tyre. I had them on my GU 4 Patrol and they did 98000 kms and the dealer sold that vehicle with those very tyres on it as they were still in good condition and had adequate tread depth on them.

Kind Regards,
Dirk T
When all else fails!..............Have a beer, or 2 or 3 or 4!!!!

AnswerID: 438586

Reply By: Member - Richard P (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 08:13

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 08:13
Hi Guys,

Thank you all for you informative input, they give me more to consider.

AnswerID: 438624

Reply By: Member - Ronald G C (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 12:25

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 12:25
Hi Richard
I have a 2007 R51 deisel Pathfinder in which I have extensively toured Aust on and off-road and bad roads. It has been fitted with a DP chip since new and the biggest improvement, especially for towing is a smoother transition into the torque curve and the extra torque/power - was well worth the expense.

On my experience I am now fitted with BFG's. I had several bad experiences with Coopers ie losing tread blocks, sidewall blowout, difficult to bag in sand. Would never use them again especially from my observation with friends ATR's - CRAP,

Ron
AnswerID: 438661

Reply By: Member - Kent M (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 14:33

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 14:33
Hi Guys,
I'm a new member and thought I'd throw in my two bobs worth on the Cooper ATR's.
I had them fitted to my 79 Series RV Cruiser and got 30K out of the two that did not blow out. I'm definately not a hoon and most driving was on bitumen. Coopers - NEVER AGAIN!!
AnswerID: 438674

Follow Up By: Member - Matt L (WA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 16:02

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 16:02
They just have to sing us once there job is done.
FollowupID: 710461

Follow Up By: Member - Matt L (WA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 20:22

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 20:22
that should be sting not sing us
FollowupID: 710484

Reply By: Butch58 - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 19:07

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 19:07
HI Richard, fitted a DP chip to my D22 Navara , didn't think it made a difference so took it for a dyno test.

The dyno showed it only increased by 2 kws and the guy that did the test tried it on all of the settings , on the higher setting the exhaust gas sensor showed it was getting far too much fuel .

Personally I think chips are like Cooper tyres, people hear so much crap about how good they are that they believe it.
Spend your money on a better exhaust and you will get the same result , cheers Butch
AnswerID: 438790