Tyre Monitors

Submitted: Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 11:47
ThreadID: 83036 Views:7004 Replies:10 FollowUps:12
Tyre monitors. I am thinking of buying a tyre pressure/temp monitor for 6 - 8 wheels. I note some have external valve caps, others have an optional internal monitor that sits inside the tyre onto the rim. That says to me that theft of damage on caps could be an issue.

The other question is if the caps have a security rim how easy is it to remove and deflate for sand driving? Members experience with brands would be useful please? I am looking at TyreDog and Sensa brands. I notice another brand is Tyreguard.

Some have relays for the trailer signal, others don't. The prices jump high for more than 6 tyres though.

Anyone wish to share their experience?

Paul the nutfarmer.
Every perfectly good drought is spoiled by rain!

Reply By: B1B2 - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 12:38

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 12:38
G'day Paul,
I bought the tyreguard for my 4wd and tandem van. They sold me a booster for sending the signal to the van but i didn't need it so they took it back.
I was travelling with another van with tyredogs fitted and he blew a tyre, it was shredded, but he stopped intime to save his alloy rim. I also spoke to another caravan owner with them and he said he had plenty of flat tyres but always saved the rim.
I didn't use the anti theft device they supply as I only have the sensors on when on a trip.
I adjust my tyre pressures for road conditions and do not always reset the pressures, so you will have alarms that you need to accept, but it will still alarm for a catastrophic failure.
During normal travelling you will get pressure or temperature alarms, I don't mind this, interesting the side exposed to the sun sets off the temp rise alarm.
Tyreguard was a lot cheaper than Tyredog as well.
I haven't blown a tyre yet with Tyreguard ifitted, but i driven plenty of tracks where I needed to stop and look as I wasn't sure if i had a flat tyre.
I think they are worth fitting.

AnswerID: 438758

Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 13:47

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 13:47
Paul there have been a couple of threads on TPM in the recent past. Heres a link to one that will be of value to you.

80816 - Tyre Pressure Monitor

Also have a look at threads 69889 and 77509.

AnswerID: 438763

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 14:50

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 14:50
As a follow-up to Mick's post. I went through the same process some time ago, and the linked thread was the discussion I posted at the time.

I purchased the TPMS system, four for the vehicle and two for the TVAN. To-date the system has done what I have required and that is to effectively monitor tyre pressures and alarm if they go outside certain parameters.

I chose the TPMS system because it is a completely sealed unit, which is predicted to last around 3-4 years, and costs $50 for a replacement unit. In my research it was clear that some of the cheaper units had replaceable batteries and therefore because they are designed to be opened can possibly suffer from water ingression etc. Because the TPMS is a throw away unit after 3-4 years it is completely sealed, so hopefully this will avoid some of the issues the other units face – but only time will tell.

In terms of ease of use; no issue at all in terms of time taken to put it on/off and let’s face it if an extra minute or two here or there matters, than you are in too much of a hurry!

From a security perspective, the security ring should stop the casual unscrewing of the unit, but an Allen key will see it off in no time at all, but the risk of losing one through theft is far outweighed by the usefulness they provide in terms of tyre pressure monitoring and they are almost useless to anyone unless you have a monitor to go with them. I’m sure many of us have rigs that have far greater ‘theft’ temptations than a tyre pressure monitor.

I rate them as a good product.

Hope this helps,

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 710553

Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 15:53

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 15:53
G'day Paul

Each reply to your question about tyre pressure monitoring devices are all quite valid.

My personal experiences with tyre pressure/temperature monitoring systems covers both the internally mounted sealed for life Sensatire units and the valve stem ~ screw on Tyredog units.

You are quite correct in making mention of the "price jump" when purchacing more than the standard 4 tyre set up.

But if you look at whatever brand of sensor you choose to purchace as a gadjet that can possibly save one tyre from total destruction due to a slow air loss, it is money very well spent.

The internal units are a great idea when buying and fitting a new set of tyres, they are a hassle if you already have good rubber on rims ~ then you need to have a strip down of tyres, fit of sensor units, refit and reballance of tyres and finally a refit of wheels to the vehicle, all nice and good if you have the time and money. The set up and fine tuning of the Sensatire system is (was for me) a long involved process, the system is very accurate and if your personally set pressure/temperature parameters are set too finely, the system becomes alarmingly evident at the sightest change in pre set imputs.

Should one or more of the internal sensors fail (Yes they do fail) you know the
routine to replace the dud sensor, its the reversal of the previous paragraph.

The externally mounted valve cap Tyredog type units are also pricey to buy if you choose a set up with more than the standard 4 sensor kit.

These sensor units are prone to being swiped by kids in car parks, but the simple locking ring supplied with the kit, will stop the ratbags taking the sensors easily, it won't stop a Stanely knife slicing the valve stem off though.

The Tyredog type sensors are very accurate readers of pressure/temperature and even an all thumbs person like myself can easily set the system up to provide the desired settings for alarm parameters.

Sadly though, these external sensors need to be removed and the system reset, if you are one of those who think its paramount to air up or air down tyres at the first sight of sand or gravel.

If you intend travelling long distances at a fairly steady road speed towing anything with what might be a reasonable load ~ any well set up tyre monitoring sensor kit will add to the driving pleasure, simply by you not having the stress of thinking you might have a tyre problem. The sensor display panel will be showing you real time information and then scare the living daylights out of you "if it senses a change in settings"

Simply~ buy what you think is good for your situation.
AnswerID: 438768

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 16:30

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 16:30
Joe, do you have Tyredog?

I have a landcruiser and tandem axle van and I am looking at the 8 tyre job.

Was it easy to instal and set up?

Where did you put the relay/repeater module?

Thanks in advance.
FollowupID: 710558

Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 19:43

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 19:43
G'day Redbakk

I actually use the Tyredog monitor system(s) and have not had any problems with the product at all ~ apart from the fact that I did spring a young ratbag of a kid and his mate investigating the finer points of the anti-theft locking rings. But I guess thats what happens in the city in a Bunnings carpark !!

The Tyredog system on the Cruiser is a 6 wheel unit, the caravan unit is a totally seperate 4 sensor set up with no signal booster used at all.
It just means I have two monitor screens.

Batteries are no drama if you buy a box of the things from Dick Smith electronics or even the 12volt shop ~ but they have to "get them in" ~ possibly from Dick Smiths !!
FollowupID: 710580

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 20:26

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 20:26
Thanks very much Joe.
FollowupID: 710589

Follow Up By: Member - Paul M (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:26

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:26
Joe you have covered a lot of good territory. Any idea on how long the batteries last on the internal sensors?

Paul M
FollowupID: 710644

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 16:21

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 16:21
Well Paul, I checking them out too and between the 3 of them pricing seems as follows:-

Tyreguard 400 monitor/booster/extra 4 caps approx $605

Tyredog monitor/booster/8 caps approx $899

TPMS/AUS monitor/booster/8 caps approx $724

As tyredog already comes with the booster/transfer module anyway I have added the booster to the other two but as already stated you may not need it.

There would other things to probably consider anyway when purchasing a unit.

.http://www.daviescraig.com.au/TyreGuard__TPMS-TYREGUARD_400_KIT__PART_No__1015-details.aspx

.http://tpmsaustralia.myshopify.com/collections/trailer-units

Perhaps others would like to add to this.
AnswerID: 438772

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 16:34

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 16:34
Sorry...here's the other one.

.http://www.tyredog.com.au/store/8-wheel-wtpms/8-wheel-tyre-pressure-monitor-0-to-180-psi.html

FollowupID: 710559

Follow Up By: Member - Paul M (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:28

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:28
Redbakk there is a lot of help there. Thanks for the ground work.

Paul M.
FollowupID: 710645

Reply By: Member - Wayne D (NSW) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 18:23

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 18:23
I have tyredog on my 4WD and have had 2 sensors stolen at a replacement cost of $99 each. I did not have the locking device on because it is a a pain to get off to air up and down. On a recent trip to Darwin (2 weeks ago) both the rear sensors stopped transmitting, replaced batteries (which are also difficult to find) but still no difference. Ended up blowing a rear tyre.

Whatever you decide maybe if you do a group buy you could save some good money. We did that for our Tyredog via another forum and saved about 20%
AnswerID: 438787

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 19:24

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 19:24
OH well here goes

I have had a Securtire unit for 2 years now and have had no trouble at all.

They come with covers to stop theft but really arent that noticeable and I have given up with the covers.

When I let the tyres down it is relatively easy to recalibrate the screen to allow for that.

The temp part seems to work OK as well The sunny side tyres run approx 3deg hotter than the shady ones.

Are fairly accurate and apart from having to replace batteries have had no complaints.
Blew two van tyres and while it didnt save the tyres it saved the van.
Dunlop tyres never again.

Also showed me about temps when I had a full width stone guard on the back of the car.

Rear tyres got up to over 65dg one day fronts were at about 40.

Took stone guard off and temps went back to 45 which is acceptable.

Pressures showed that tyres rose 6 lb from cold to hot and stayed that way all day.
I think the 4lb rule is a bit off for 4lbed tyres as I could never get them to come up less than the 6lb MY setup with 10 sensors and a booster relay for the van cost $520 direct from China.

http://www.made-in-china.com/showroom/kysonix/product-detailfqtEsQTGTzck/China-Real-Time-Tire-Pressure-and-Temperature-Monitoring.html

I got it set up for 8 wheels with two spares which you can make them "learn"

Email me if interested and will give you contact name etc.

AnswerID: 438793

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 23:00

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 23:00
Graham, roughly how much were they?
thanks in advance.
FollowupID: 710614

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:40

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:40
From above

MY setup with 10 sensors and a booster relay for the van cost $520 direct from China.

FollowupID: 710648

Reply By: RobAck - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 19:25

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 19:25
The discusson is rather interesting so let me add our experience to the debate. We run a Schraeder sytem in one set of tyres and rims and a Sensa Tyre 14 rim system for serious off-road tyres and when using our Ultimate XTtak. Both work incredibly well and over nearly ten years of off road operations.

Whilst the larger systems are expensive consider purchasing two of the Schraeder systems and use one for your vehicle and the other one for the camper trailer. You may need a booster but not sure you need to tallk to a retailer who generally don't know too much about these things. Two units will cost you a lot less than one big one and is a much simpler solution as you only need to worry about the head unit(s) when you add the camper trailer

RobA
AnswerID: 438794

Follow Up By: Member - Paul M (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:23

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:23
Rob where did you get your Schraeders from? It sounds like they are cheaper if you are recommending two systems for vehicle and trailer? Any costs available?

Paul M.
FollowupID: 710643

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 21:15

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 21:15
I run Sensatyres and am very happy with the concept, being that the transmitters are clamped on the rims so are totally protected. Downside is the cost of fitting them at the tyrefitters.

My first set were faulty and intermittently false alarmed. However the principal at Hannibal Safari, Peter Spowart, could not have been more helpful; even coming out to my premises with a new set while on a trip to Perth to show me how to programme them myself. The replacements have been faultless and give very accurate readings.

I've had lots of good aftermarket service since outfitting the Cruiser but this was up with the best. No questions asked either when I presented the tyrefitter bill.

AnswerID: 438813

Follow Up By: Member - Paul M (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:31

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:31
Hi John. You say you have the units clamped to the rim. I take it they are internally clamped.

Any idea on how long the batteries will last? Did you consider using them for a trailer or van also?

Paul M.
FollowupID: 710646

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 12:28

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 12:28
That's right Paul; they are clamped into the base od the rim via a worm drive metal 'strip' (not sure what the correct term is).

FollowupID: 710664

Reply By: Member - Paul M (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:16

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 09:16
I am getting some useful l information thanks to you guys. It would seem some have a good run with a brand others have problems. I have read of more brands again, including imported ones. Some guys use one or two boosters others don't seem to need them.

Thanks for all the info. I could say I am totally confused with all the conflicting evidence, but I think I will see what else comes in before deciding on my purchase.

I think I lean to the internal sensors for security and piece of mind although I think one reply had had some trouble with them also. Maybe internal sensors with boosters would give me the best reliability.

What do you think?

Paul the nutfarmer
AnswerID: 438856

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 22:41

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 22:41
You only need a booster with certain vans I needed one for my Roadstar 21ft Yet dont need one for my Coromal 25ft.

Maybe the alloy is thinner LOL

AnswerID: 438923