what is this? i saw it being pulled through Katherine, big sucker!

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:00
ThreadID: 83090 Views:5433 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
Howdy

I just wondering if anyone could shed some light as to what the heck this thing is?

i saw it being pulled through Katherine earlier this year. It definitely got the attention of the public.
To me it looks like a massive engine, possibly off a ship or some mine machinery.

FYI it was heading south.

Can anyone offer an opinion or do they know exactly what it is?

Reply By: TLC 001 - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:06

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:06
Hello DOEY,

I was there and saw that as well, seems it was a new engine for power generation at Alice Springs. It was big and had 3 prime movers, 2 pulling and 1 pushing.

Marcus
AnswerID: 439034

Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:31

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:31
Hi marcus
it was an awesome sight. I was just as interested in the trailer it was on, havent seen anything like it.

I wonder if anyone knows the specs of these things, size\capacity\power etc.

FollowupID: 710863

Reply By: MyGreenCruiser - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:24

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:24
Thank god you found it, thought the truck driver was lost with the new engine for my Zook.
AnswerID: 439036

Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:28

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:28
haha, stop worrying, its on its way! i saw 2 smaller trucks follow with shipping containers on them, im guessing they are your new diff-locks?
FollowupID: 710862

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 22:17

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 22:17
You're gonna need bigger springs!!

FollowupID: 710945

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:33

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:33
Maybethis?

Or this?

AnswerID: 439037

Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:40

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:40
Allan,

i think your spot on here. It was the 4th of July when we were in Katherine. It must have been the 3rd one delivered.

Thanks for the links and your knowledge.

Have a good day mate.
FollowupID: 710864

Reply By: rooster350 - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:42

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 10:42
I was there and saw it ...was told that it was for a mine at Alice Springs....we were at the next corner up, and it sure was a big piece of machinery...it was back in June , but I do believe that there is often large bits of machinery like this being delivered to the mines..comes in by ship to Darwin then freighted down...cheers
AnswerID: 439038

Reply By: swampy460 - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 11:01

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 11:01
Its a diesel engine for a power station. I have worked on these both in Tennant creek (Warrego) and at Newman in WA. Although both are now on the grid so I suspect it would be for a fairly remote mine site.

Swampy
AnswerID: 439039

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 11:56

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 11:56
Nissan won't be happy !!

It's their new diesel engine for the new Patrol.

They had to do something really radical to counter the mighty 200 series Cruiser.....

AnswerID: 439041

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 12:29

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 12:29
Nah GB it's to small lol.
FollowupID: 710868

Follow Up By: howesy - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 22:22

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 22:22
Not a nissan its still in one piece and hasn't grenaded yet.
FollowupID: 710946

Reply By: Member - Bill S (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 13:39

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 13:39
Hi DOEY,

Looks like a big diesel motor, V configuration, to be hooked up to a generating set for power.

The trailers for big loads like this are usually custom made depending on the expected weights to be hauled. As well as having dozens of tyres these trailers have hydraulic suspension so the operator can lift some of the axles when empty to save tearing up the road when cornering. They can also keep the trailer and load level if the ground is a little uneven and some of the front and rear axles can steer to help get through the tighter spots. The operator can plug in a remote control to the trailer and adjust things when necessary.

The prime movers pulling and pushing are weighed down with several tonnes of ballast so they get the traction necessary to get rolling.

A big haul like this may take months to plan, even to the extent of building suitable roads for travel. Running the tyres onto a soft shoulder of the road would be disastrous!

Bill S.
AnswerID: 439048

Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 14:08

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 14:08
hi bill

it sure was a sight going through the main street of Katherine.
AllanB put a link up a few posts ago, i reckon it was headed to Alice springs as the dates we saw it matched up with the media release in the link. Apparently its one of three that made there way to Alice.
Would love to know how many cyls, power and capacity of this baby.
I did see 2 blokes at the controls of the trailer, pressing buttons, levers etc. looked like a fun job. But the logistics of planning such a voyage would be a nightmare.

have a good day mate, and thanks for your input.
FollowupID: 710881

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 18:52

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 18:52
The MAN 51/60DF engine
For power-generation applications, the 51/60DF is available in a nine-cylinder, inline version and in vee-configuration versions with 12, 14 and 18 cylinders. The engines have mechanical ratings of 1,000 kW per cylinder for 60-Hz power generation (514 rpm) and 975 kW for 50-Hz applications (500 rpm). These give an overall generator-set rating range of 8,560 to 17,550 kWe.

With its fuel flexibility and low emissions, the MAN 51/60DF engine targets applications where operation on a back-up fuel is either essential or desirable. The engine’s fuel flexibility centres on the capability to operate on either gaseous or liquid fuel, and to switch between them seamlessly at full-rated output. In the gaseous-fuel mode, an air-gas mixture is ignited by injection of distillate diesel fuel. On the 51/60DF, the liquid fuel micro-pilot amounts to 1% of the quantity of liquid fuel needed to achieve full-rated output.

It is injected via a common-rail system that allows flexible setting of injection timing, duration and pressure for each cylinder. This flexibility allows the engine to achieve low emissions and to respond rapidly to combustion knock signals on a cylinder-by-cylinder basis. In back-up, liquid-fuel mode, the 51/60DF engine operates as a normal diesel engine injecting distillate or heavy fuel oil (HFO) through a separate, normally dimensioned injector in a camshaft actuated, pump-line-nozzle system. At 500 mg/mn3 at 5% O2 on gaseous fuel, the 51/60DF readily achieves emissions of oxides of nitrogen (NOx) in compliance with both Germany’s TA Luft clean-air regulations and the World Bank Pollution Prevention and Abatement Handbook.

FollowupID: 710910

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 15:46

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 15:46
DOEY, here are some more links you may find interesting.

Link 1

Link 2

AnswerID: 439061

Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:03

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:03

That is exactly the info i wanted. Thank you very much.
Myself and a few mates were scratching our heads trying to work out exactly what it was. A few suggestions were a ship engine??? a Winch for a mine to pull trucks out???? and a few other very left-field ideas.

Again, you are a wealth of knowledge and your input very appreciated.

Out of interest, were you involved somehow with the project? you just seemed to know the right places to find the info.
FollowupID: 710892

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:14

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:14
No worries DOEY. Big brute isn't it?

I do have a link to the project but was not directly involved.

FollowupID: 710897

Reply By: Evakool - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:01

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:01

Here is some more details on the trip and the pictures of the load.

Pictures

Trip Route

AnswerID: 439065

Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:07

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:07
a big thank you to you also. links were great!
FollowupID: 710893

Reply By: Member - Russler - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 17:51

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 17:51
I saw one of those once when I was a kid, but it had IR on the side
AnswerID: 439075

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 19:35

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 19:35
IR Ingersol Rand air compressor people
Murray

FollowupID: 710917

Follow Up By: Member - Anthony W Adelaide - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 22:09

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 22:09
Hi there, was it International Rescue Thunderbird 14?

FAB
Wooly VKS-737 Mobile 0058

FollowupID: 710943

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 12:06

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 12:06
The trailer is called a Platform, this one has 18 rows of 8 , and is self steering.
Platforms can be lengthened by joining 2 together, of course the bigger the object to move they can be joined

LIKE THIS

AnswerID: 439147