Garmin Nuvi 1350 question
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 15:58
On Patrol & TONI
Do any of you use your Garmin 1350 in a 24v vehicle?
I have searched the Garmin site and all the hand books and all they say is plug it into a cig lighter socket, but no mention of voltage.
Please help me as I intend to use it tonight in my bus if it can handle 24v.
Cheers Colin.
Reply By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 16:55
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 16:55
Hello
Cant help with specific advice on the 1350 but the Garmin cig lighter power cord I have for my Oregon acepts input voltage of 10V to 30V. Output is 5V. I can only assume it would be the same for other Garmin cig power cables.
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:46
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:46
Thanks Greg.
I rang "hardly normal" re this and they opend a new unit and it was shown on the plug as Graham had suggested I look, however I have the traffic finder power cord and that has nothing shown on it.
So thanks to "hardly normal" problem solved.
For those that watched this post, the voltage range is 9v - 24v.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:34
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:34
Check whats written on the ciggy splug Usually has input and outputs on it
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:41
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:41
Wow why didnt I think of that???? LOL
Yes Graham that was the first thing I did mate, cheers Colin
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:48
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:48
Graham my follow up might have sounded a bit cynical, that was not my intention. Just a bit of fun mate, thanks Colin.
Follow Up By: itsdave - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 18:43
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 18:43
Just looked at my Garmin cig lighter plug for the 1350 and it says 10v-30v so should not be a problem to use.
cheers Dave
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 19:33
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 19:33
Amazing those who dont though and with my old eyes that need a magnifying glass to see is even harder.
As you didnt say you had looked I thought a reminder may help..
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 09:24
Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 09:24
Just checked my 1490T plug with a Magnifying glass, it has no info about voltage.
Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:20
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:20
Hi Colin
I am soon to receive a new GPS (Handheld). Do you know if there are sites on the net for all the GPS, where one can download the instructions.
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:37
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:37
Unit should come with "instructions" (in opaper form and maybe disc) but the Garmin website provides alternative option for user manual download etc.
Garmin Australia
There are a few other GPS specific forums if you want to fast track your knowledge though obviously no shortage of expertise on the Exploroz
forum.
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:38
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:38
"(in opaper form and maybe disc)"
WT? - (in paper form....
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:47
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:47
Thanks Greg
I will not be asking questions here, I will go back through the threads if required. I am a complete novice for GPS and such.
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:50
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:50
No worries
None of my business but what gps have you ordered?
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 22:11
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 22:11
Hi again Greg
I am not sure iof it is a Garmin, but it is a GPSMAP60SCX, if that means anything.
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 22:54
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 22:54
Yes a Garmin.
Good unit.
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 23:00
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 23:00
Hi Greg
The bloke I bought it from is actually a mate who owns a communications
shop and business, and he highly recommended the unit, so thankyou for the verification.
Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 01:00
Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 01:00
G'day Marc
I own one of those units, a top bit of gear. Assuming it's new, it will come with a complete instruction manual.
The menu system can take some time to get used to, but you will get the hang of it, I'm sure. I bought Oztopo topographical maps for it as the basemap that comes standard with it is pretty 'ordinary'. I have since changed to Natmaps 2008.
There is also a book available in the
shop here, called 'GPS Vehicle Navigation in Australia' by a bloke called Robert Pepper. It gives great info on using gps units for navigation, from the very basic uses to advanced functions. You may find this helpful, I did!
Cheers, Dave
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 01:48
Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 01:48
Hi Dave
Your assumption is correct, it will be a new unit. Thankyou very much for the information on the book, I will actually go to the
shop (EO
Shop I hope you mean), and order a copy of the book.
Thankyou very much.
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 02:03
Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 02:03
Hi again Dave
Thanks for the recommendation, I have just ordered that book, and a couple of others, may as
well get the free freight when I can.
Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 17:22
Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 17:22
Marc
Try these websites:
One of the best GPS sites on the net:
gpsreview.net
Excellent rundown on the GPSMAP60SCX:
gpsinformation.net
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 09:19
Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 09:19
I wanted to use my Nuvi 765 in the Isuzu truck I was driving last year, I contacted Garmin and the answer was NO, 12v only.
Yes many of the hand helds will run on 24v , my advice would be DO NOT CONNECT it to a 24v power outlet.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 11:05
Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 11:05
Thanks for the input Doug but the problem was last night and I solved it then mate.
Apparently the Nuvi series has a voltage range from 9v - 30V.
It makes sense really as there are millions of truck & bus drivers out there and I could not see a company the like of Garmin ignoring that huge potential market.
The unit worked fine in the bus last night.
Thanks Doug, I will now go and read your History post.
Cheers Colin.
PS: are you still up at
Adelaide River, I will be going through there in April or May 2011.
PPS: the units with the bonus traffic warning cable do not have the voltage listed on the plug for some obscure reason, and the Garmin web site only says to plug it into a cig lighter plug but states no voltage requirement????
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 11:43
Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 11:43
Colin
Yes still here at Mt Bundy, you will be made very welcome to our world.