Member - Joe F (WA)
Image Could Not Be Found G'day Folks
I had reason(s) to travel from the
Pilbara to
Perth ~ by vehicle over the last couple of days solo, actually the Ipod and I.
The changes that visually took place can only be summed up as amaizing.
I headed south out of
Newman at 03:00 on Wednesday the 15th, choosing to travel in the early hours mainly to enjoy the relative coolness of the dark as opposed to the
bright sunshine and the 40 + day time temperatures.
The twist in the story was the weather ~ a severe tropical low forming off the WA coast ~ a possible Cyclone ?
Did I do enough at home to prevent major damage? would my wife be able to handle a catastrophe should one happen, would I be able to stand eating just one more can of Heinz beans in ham sauce if I was marooned ~ all unknown and weighing heavily on my mind ;0)
At around 35ks out of town I came across the remains of a not so ~ prime mover.
I'm not sure how or why ~ yet. Even the much maligned UHF channel 40 people were saying next to nothing about the incident?
All was fairly uneventful until
well into the morning and close to the little town of
Cue (Queen of the Murchison) once upon a long time ago! ~ a nice "Willy~ Willy" was shifting the dust and dirt out on the near bone dry lake bed thats called Lake
Nallan, not unusual for this time of year and it has been drought conditions for a very long while but a mere 36 hours it had all changed from dust bowel to brim full and most people say we live in a boring place !
Don't be bored ~ observe history taking place as you drive.
Have a safe and peaceful Christmas.
Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 16:42
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 16:42
Hi Joe
What is that display on the left hand side of the bottom photo ?
Extremely curious having never seen a display like that.
Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:51
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 20:51
G'day Marc
The display screen is that of Garmin Nuvi ~ satnav system.
I run a Hema ~ desert map SD card in it and this covers all of my wandering region very nicely.
It works a treat not only in calculating and storing relative information ie: time and distance elapsed ~ speed and direction etc, it is possibly just like all the other gadjets and gismos out there, handy but gimmicky, like 15 different languages and locations of Synagogues etc not overly useful in the bush, but I guess maps and contour features are not big in the requirements of people going somewhere to repent their sins ;0)
The maximum speed readout saved my bacon one particular time in
Newman, because a "smart alec plod " ~ estimated my speed at close to 60 km/ph in the towns 50 km/ph speed zone, luck had it that the GPS was up and running, so when I pointed out that his estimation was wrong and that the GPS had logged a maximum speed of just 48 km/ph ~ he simply went away.
Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 21:58
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 21:58
on that i have to "share" this ..................
We brought a GPS and fitted it up to the car, used it in and around
Doomadgee and it actually has all the streets in it, we went to
Mount Isa for a weekend and we turned it on and we worked out how to set it up to navigate us to a spot ...............
hit the button and about to turn around the corner and this ""VOICE"" comes out of the dashboard and scared the bleep of us, the "thing" talks to us .......
"at the next set of lights turn left" ................ the kids went quite, i nearly ran off the road and we all looked at each other .............
Ok, ..... maybe we have been in the bush to long but man that was cool ..
:-)
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 22:14
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 22:14
Hi Joe
Thanks for the information. I speak multipler languages, but I guarantee that other than English, none of the languages I speak will be on a GPS.
Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 23:08
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 23:08
.... :-) ......
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 03:12
Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 03:12
Hi Joe, Mel & the kids, Love the story ROTHFL.
D
Follow Up By: Rod W - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 15:25
Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 15:25
Why are the engine revs on 1400rpm's and the speedo zero?
Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:51
Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:51
G'day Rod W
Observant individual you are, yes mate revs up tad, speedo reading zip and the GPS compass reads south west ~ but I was on my way home to
Newman which is to the North of where I was actually stopped.
The answer ~ tacho revs reading up courtesy of the hand throttle wound up a tad to keep the air con fan speed constant, to help stop the windscreen fogging up.
Speedo reading zero ~ I was stopped when I snapped the image ~ no flash ~ you didn't notice that !!
Compass reading South West and not North ~ missed that too ! ~ I had to turn the Cruiser South(ish) so when I stood on the side step to take a much needed leak ~ I didn't get too wet from the rain belting down from the east, which was to my right side ~ heading North to
Newman + the ground was very muddy, but you couldn't see that.
I almost forgot to mention "Garth Brooks" was belting out his version of ~ the thunder rolls ~ on the IPOD induced stereo,which is tuned in to a vacant FM signal on 90:10 ~ that's the small read out on the very bottom lhs in the image.
Thanks for asking ;0)Image Could Not Be Found
This image was taken on the same trip.
Follow Up By: Rod W - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 09:59
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 09:59
Thats information overload Joe (LoL).
Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 14:17
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 14:17
G'day Rod
I appreciate your observations regarding the tacho and speedo readings ~ I just hope you didn't mind my reply, my answers were without malice ;0)
Follow Up By: Rod W - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 14:46
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 14:46
Quite ok Joe, don't worry about it.
Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:04
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:04
Wow. We suffered a deluge in the Great Sandy a couple of days north of Dragon Tree this year. I think they got a premium amount of
water at
Marble Bar at that time. It's amazing to see the place with so much
water about but I'll bet you were glad to be driving on the black-top.
I'm keeping my fingers crossed for some extra heavy falls about Rudall this year. The place would be amazing with all those waterholes full.
Cheers Joe.
Mick
Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 21:12
Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 21:12
G'day Mick
Nice to hear from you, yes mate the region certainly needed the rain and as you
well know if and when the rains come it can get fair dinkum.
The run down to
Perth was actaully bone dry ~ the Gascoyne River was drier than lake
Nallan and oddly enough still no
water in the Gascoyne on the return run ~ I guess it will take time to drain the interior reaches to show any effect on such a big river system.
I'm not sure as to how much rain if any has fallen in the Rudall, no doubt once people start venturing about, news will spread.
The North West coastal highway was closed at Whim
Creek and I have heard the Great Northern Highway is closed to north bound traffic at
Mount Magnet, but that was just the truckies version of events.
None the less it's quite wet and very welcome although the miners are back praying for drought conditions to continue.
Stay safe and have a peaceful Christmas