What are you getting for xmas?

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 21:32
ThreadID: 83136 Views:5047 Replies:21 FollowUps:26

What is everyone hoping to get off Santa this year. I'm pretty sure Ive got a new oz tent (cause I bought it , wrapped it and addressed it to my self ; ). The bride doesn't know how much it costs and its a good thing she doesn't go into BCF lol.

Cheers Wilko

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 21:39

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 21:39
Gday Wilko
Nothing for me this year, i had to buy my darling a car.
Murray

AnswerID: 439278

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 22:00

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 22:00
a bike ... spend to much time in the 4x4 (so santa says)
AnswerID: 439280

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 22:46

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 22:46
Vista RV Crossover, Santa came yesterday!
AnswerID: 439283

Follow Up By: PradoMad - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 10:23

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 10:23
I'm jealous
JS.
FollowupID: 711189

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 23:26

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 23:26
Santa (or the elf previously known as Princess Vikk) has provided me with the Department of the Interior 'T' roof console for the 79. She must of enjoyed the Kimberley trip then. Whose a lucky boy then?

Cheers Mick.

AnswerID: 439286

Reply By: PradoMad - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 01:07

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 01:07
Drifta Drawers!
JS.
AnswerID: 439289

Reply By: guzzi - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 06:32

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 06:32
Plasma cutter and a rod and bar bender :)
Ho Ho Ho
AnswerID: 439292

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:06

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:06
;)
How good is that?
No change of borrowing them for a week or two is there? ;)
FollowupID: 711170

Follow Up By: guzzi - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:51

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:51
Thats cheeky,
I havent even got the bugger out of the box yet!
FollowupID: 711175

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 08:59

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 08:59
There's harm in trying

FollowupID: 711282

Reply By: Member - Robert R1 (SA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 07:59

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 07:59
An Iridium 9505A Satellite phone. That should keep my kids happy when their old ,man goes wandering around the country on his own.
And he sees the vision splendid of the sunlit plains extended, And at night the wondrous glory of the everlasting stars. Clancy of the Overflow.

AnswerID: 439294

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:06

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:06
I have no idea, santa and the 2 little elves won't tell me. On my list was more fishing gear, more fishing gear and more fishing gear.

Josh
AnswerID: 439296

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:16

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:16
To be honest, I don't really care.
As long as I'm with family, mates and share a few laughs and a few beers, that would be cool.
It's all for the kids.
This is where Santa's sleigh pulled up and he got off.
The eldest is now 12 and I think she is starting to become a non-believer.
Oh Well.

AnswerID: 439298

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:49

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:49
GDAY
Tell her to believe , if she doesn't, nothing will happen. I have been a believer for many many years.
Murray

FollowupID: 711174

Follow Up By: guzzi - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 09:01

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 09:01
Classic effort on the sled marks and footprints, well done.

12 and female, 12 going on 30?

My 12 yr old has twigged and its taken the treat of NO presents to prevent him informing the 8 yr old of the "truth".

You are right it is all about the kids, friends and family, enjoy.
FollowupID: 711177

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 09:53

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 09:53
Love the "tyre" marks on the lawn. The big fellas was obviously in a hurry.
FollowupID: 711184

Follow Up By: DOEY- Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 12:24

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 12:24
hope he doesnt make that much mess when he stopped at my place!!

haha- love it!
FollowupID: 711205

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 17:50

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 17:50
One year we even when to the trouble of collecting rabbit poo and placing it on the ground in formation as if it were reindeer poo.
When we went to grandma's later in the day, The excitement in their voices as they told her that Santa had dropped by and the reindeer had pooed in the front lawn was priceless.
Hey guzzi,
'12 and female, 12 going on 30? ' Hmmm What can ya say? HEEELLLPP ;)

Fab72 ya going to love this, When I asked the young fella why Sanaa's Sleigh would leave burn marks in the lawn,
'The grass is burned Dad because it's from the friction of the sled skipping across all the roof tops, He has a lot of kids to visit, besides Dad, he can land on our roof because of the solar panel, thats why he stopped on the lawn'
Priceless ;)

DOEY,
It took weeks for the Flour to break down and hose off the veranda LOL

When they started school the next year, it was awesome to listen to them tell their mates that Santa had left those marks.

The magic of Christmas on Kids faces is priceless.
I reckon it isn't about what you buy your kids/wife or family, is about the spirit of Christmas, Surprise, Joy and sharing.
And if you receive something that you had asked for, well thats just a bonus.

I hope everyone has an awesome Christmas and a safe/happy New Years.
Cheers Guys.

Cheers Guys
FollowupID: 711229

Follow Up By: DOEY- Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 19:06

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 19:06
Jon
all i can say is it must be a great, fun time at your place this time of the year.

Hope you and your family have a happy and safe christmas and hope santa is good to you!

Anth

FollowupID: 711246

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 20:58

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 20:58
When I was about 9, I met Santa late one Christmas eve. My father had got dressed up as Santa for the school Christmas Fate, us kids came home early with mum, Dad had to stay and help with the packing up. He came home still dressed as Santa, he thought it would be pretty cool to go into each of us three kids rooms and place the presents in the pillow cases still dressed up.
Well, I got up to go to the loo, and I came back to find Santa putting presents in my pillow case, I startled him, he sat on my bed and patted it and ask me to sit with him, he told me he was early this year because he had soo many more kids to drop of presents to. He said he enjoyed the cookie and milk we had put out for him and then said he had to go. He left, I didn't hear him leave, but in the morning there were burn marks in the lawn and my brother and sister freaked out because they heard me talking to him.
Ya gotta keep the dream alive.

Thank you Anth, I hope you and all the EO family have an awesome Chrissy, a memorable New Years and a safe Holiday season

Life is good.

FollowupID: 711255

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 00:06

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 00:06
Love it Hairs and Fysh...and thanks for the great tips.

I have a M15 and a F13 that love getting involved in "keeping the dream alive" for our F5. It's now a bit of a competition as to who can come up with the best set up.

The cotton wool beard droppings, reindeer poop and biccy crumbs have been done to death, so I'm very thankful for the skid mark idea, and others.

Your kids are very switched on... friction off the roof tops. That's brilliant.

Thanks so much for your post.

Fab.
FollowupID: 711273

Follow Up By: SDG - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:56

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:56
Leading up to Christmas a friends father could never be bothered cutting the long grass that grew around the legs of the swing set. Unless you physically move the swing set. it never looks right.
Any way, each year it grew enough that Santas reindeer was able to get a feed while he was visiting.
FollowupID: 711332

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 06:51

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 06:51
Cheers Fab,
Yep, It doesn't matter what we do to keep the younger kids believing.
I like the way my eldest has an idea that just maybe there is something fishy about Santa, but just can't put Two & Two together yet about it, and she's not saying anything to the younger pair either because they are believers.

SDG,
It doesn't matter what it is that keeps the kids thinking 'Just maybe he is real" LOL.

And dads, don't forget to leave out a drink for Santa( Preferably Beer) and a couple of Carrots for his reindeer.
I hope this has given you a couple of ideas, the kids love it.
And to all you grown up Kids, that are getting really cool toys,
Your a bunch of dirty, dirty Luck y Buggers, Good onya's.
Have fun, travel safely and

FollowupID: 711356

Follow Up By: SDG - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 10:58

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 10:58
Beer is apparently a no no now a days. I tried that last year, and the year before. Apparently it encourages drink driving. I tried to tell them Santa does not drive. it's the reindeer that do all the driving. Santa just steers. Kids turn around and told me I don't drive either. I just steer. The car does the rest. I wish.
FollowupID: 711363

Follow Up By: DOEY- Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 13:13

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 13:13
Hi Jon

i think you have inspired me to make some footprints of my own!

We are spending christmas in a caravan park and have decorated the large pine tree next to our tent where the young bloke (3) can leave his stocking. i might just make some foot prints leading up to it from the road. he'll think its great.

thanks for the idea.

and once again, enjoy your christmas!

Anth
FollowupID: 711617

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 13:26

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 13:26
Mate,
A couple of years ago, At Evens Head, Silver Sands C/P a few of the parents made rabbit's paw marks all around the C/Park like a trail going from one camp site to the next. It was magic to see the kids follow these prints for hours on Easter Sunday. Even on the Monday the kids were still in groups walking around following them and chatting to themselves.

Good luck with it all, it is only limited by your imagination.
Have fun with it.
Have a safe one and enjoy it.
FollowupID: 711618

Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 10:03

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 10:03
Hi All!
Merry Christmas and blessings for this special season.
Hopefully dry weather and the Clarence river that isnt up so we can go camping with the family and the next door neighbours.
Barb
AnswerID: 439306

Reply By: Member - Ann D (WA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 10:45

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 10:45

A bit of rain for the west,would be nice.

Hope you All get whats on your wish list.

Safe travels for all,over the season.

Ann
AnswerID: 439315

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 13:14

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 13:14
Santa has spoiled me.

100 watt solar panel

16" Digital TV & DVD

Booster TV Arial

New dentures!!!!!!!!!

Hope to use all three while camping on the West coast after Xmas.

P.S. The dentures cost more than the other three put together, so the fishing had better be good lol.

Season greeting to all.
AnswerID: 439329

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 13:20

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 13:20
Wilko,

Santa has been good and bought us a house so we can finally get out of the rental grind LOL
We get the keys on Wednesday so it is kind of an early Christmas present, but at least the kids can set the Christmas tree up in the new place. We are planning on moving in on the 27th (our wedding anniversary)

AnswerID: 439330

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 14:43

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 14:43
Hi There Sir Kev. Congrats on the new House. You will all now be able to make it a Home. Hope you all have a great Christmas, A Safe and Prosperous New Year. I have to Celebrate Christmas Day along with Three Birthdays at the same time.

FollowupID: 711218

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 15:33

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 15:33
Steve,

We are looking forward to finally getting our own place :)

Hope you have a safe and enjoyable Christmas and New Year as well.

FollowupID: 711220

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 18:00

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 18:00
That's good stuff Kev,
The kids will love putting up THEIR tree in their OWN place.
It's been a long time coming for you guys.
We Done Mate.

FollowupID: 711235

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 18:02

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 18:02
Hairs,

With a large park located behind the new place there will be plenty of room for campers hehehe

FollowupID: 711236

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 21:01

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 21:01
So are you hosting the 2013 National Gathering at your place Kev?
Sweet, put us down as attending :)

FollowupID: 711256

Follow Up By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 21:11

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 21:11
Hi Kev, Sam and girls

Congrats on the new home - I trust all have a wonderful and joyous Christmas and a Happy New Year.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 711257

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:31

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:31
Same from Leigh & I Kev, nothing like your own dung hill to enjoy your family & all the joy they bring.
All the best for 2011, it should be a great year, in fact will be a great year as the magic Maroon spell is about to be broken.
Take care & the very best of wishes to you & family.
FollowupID: 711329

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:56

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:56
Thanks John and Barry :)

I doubt the MIGHTY MAROONS will lose the footy next year Barry hehehehe

FollowupID: 711333

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 13:27

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 13:27
Hey Kev,
I believe in miracles, they do come true sometimes
FollowupID: 711619

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 18:06

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 18:06
Santa will hopefully deliver my 2009 V8 79 series a couple of days early( due next wednesday)
I have passed big hints to the kids about accessories but dont think they will spring to either a canopy or a new winch.
already scored some $ for my birthday last week in lieu as they know I have a big shopping list.That will allow the second battery to go in.

Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 439347

Reply By: petengail - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 07:25

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 07:25
What I always threatened to do was to get some horse poo and a bit of old rope, tie the rope on the fence and drop the horse poo beside it. On xmas morning you can say to the kids, ah well Santa left you a pony but he broke the rope and run away...lol notice i say "threatened"
AnswerID: 439374

Reply By: The roadrunner - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:11

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:11
Santa came early new tents, fridge for camping, new camping gear, brought all form bcf, and also new 6x4 trailer
AnswerID: 439426

Reply By: SDG - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 19:00

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 19:00
Is buying my son a kayak. Problem is you can't let a young kid out on their own until they know what they are doing so he had to buy me one to.
Soon find out if i'm as fit as I use to be.
AnswerID: 439430

Reply By: the redbacks - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 19:39

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 19:39
Hmmm,
Thats a worry Wilko,
remindes me of "Mr Bean" writing a birthday card and sending to himself !!!!!!!!
still, enjoy your present on christmas morning, what have i got, buggered if i know, i sent it to myself a week ago, & it hasn't arrived yet, so iv'e forgotten what it was. Bloody old age for ya eh !!!!!!1
AnswerID: 439432

Reply By: Liveit - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 00:10

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 00:10
Santa came early for me too ;-)) I got a xterra705 minelab metal detector and a 75 liter combi engel.

Merry Christmas to all.
AnswerID: 439457

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 06:12

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 06:12
Merry Christmas Wilko,

I am getting the new 'Camping around Australia' book and also two months with the old man in Tassie, sailing in January with the van, so we can test out the information in it. (I know this because I also organised and paid for it).

It is a combined Christmas, wedding anniversary (39 yrs in January) and my 60th birthday (in March) present.

Ohh...and I did happen to buy some merino clothing which has also been wrapped and placed under the Christmas tree. It looks so small that it couldnt be expensive.(lol)

Hubby is getting a very useful (also expensive) waterproof goretex type jacket and a PFD (strappy non bulky type) to wear in the tinny so he is very lucky too.

Heather

Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 439460

Reply By: 3GoBush - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 07:57

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 07:57
Unfortunately my son is getting a brand new Motorbike, the unfortunate thing is this was unplanned until someone stole his other one he got for his birthday 2 nights ago, I mean how do you tell an 8 year old some low life pinched his new bike.
AnswerID: 439466