sleeping under hilux

Submitted: Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 02:53
ThreadID: 83149 Views:8084 Replies:16 FollowUps:10
Hello all. I have a question, which is a serious one, although if i get ridiculed for it i would completely understand.
Do people, when theyre out in the bush, camping, wherever, actually sleep under their 4wd?. My reason for asking this is because I have a 97 twin cab hilux, which has a fair bit of clearance. It seems to me that, in a pinch, it could be a viable place to sleep, ground cover down, maybe some skirting for wind protection. Generally I would assume that most people would actually want to sleep under the stars, but if there is a possibilty of rain, that sort of thing, maybe it is an option. Obviously there are a number of potential safety issues involved with this practice.
Can anyone shed some light on this for me please, thanks

Reply By: Mrbrush - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 05:14

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 05:14
By the time you stuff around with your skirting and groung sheet why not just set aup a small dome tent . Then yo don`t have to worry about hitting your head on the gearbox.
AnswerID: 439367

Reply By: Rock Ape - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 07:15

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 07:15
Mate,
you don't want to have a tyre go down while you are asleep or it could get a bit squishy under there.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 439372

Reply By: ptnuske - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 07:23

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 07:23
Hey There Grunta,

We have a 76 series cruiser with 2" of lift and a Gunyah awning mounted on the roof rack. We sleep in a double swag with our feet underneath the car and our heads under the Gunyah awning. So.....kinda like sleeping under the car. Works well for us when it's raining.

Pete and Tracey
AnswerID: 439373

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 08:27

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 08:27
I reckon there's few mechanics out there that do exactly that daily.

Seriously though, I think you nailed it, Safety is and should always be the over riding priority.

As mentioned, tyres can go down and trap you under there. The car could roll away unexpectadly, fuel leaks, inability to make a quick get away from unwanted animals who often seek shelter under vehicles at night, theft, fire, dried mud dropping down on you as you sleep... there's countless reasons NOT to.

Each to their own and it may be one of those things that boils down to personal opinion, but personally, I wouldn't.

BTW.... I think it's a very valid question.Well thought up.

Fab.

AnswerID: 439376

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 08:29

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 08:29
Hi Grunta
There is no reason in the world that you would want to sleep under your vehicle. We in the lucky country of Australia have no wild animals to worry about and in times of very bad weather, we usually have a tent as back up. One thing that we have softened up with over the years is an awning and it is great. Keeps the frost and dew off of the sway and in times when wet, you can drop it right down and it is very cosy. This is what it is like.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
Who has been here

AnswerID: 439377

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 14:21

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 14:21
Hi Grunta & Hi Stephen,
Grunta ! I think many of the reasons given not to sleep under your car are very valid.
However Stephen,
I usually agree with your posts but not this one....LOL. No wild animals in Aust.?
Snakes to start with, scorpions, centipedes. Yes, I know that they aren't animals but one of them comes to bed with you, you need to leave your bed asap slowly and cautiously if you can!.
With a snake sometimes people light a fire as close to where he is to cook him out of your swag if you can't get out without avoiding being bitten. Not a good idea under a car.LOL.
Then there are the rats which come along and chew on your toes. Bang goes your head( Yes Hubby saw the rats chewing on Aboriginal stock man's toes in stock camp they have very tough feet.)
Also Grunta.
Then there are those humans who like to steal cars!
There are many scenarios which make sleeping under your car risky.Stephens set up is a good one but I wouldn't have my feet under the car either.
Warmest wishes of the season & every good wish for the coming new Year.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Ma.
FollowupID: 711309

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 19:22

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 19:22
Hi Ma
When we head bush, it is during the winter months and we have never seen snakes in any on the remote placed that we travel to. As we all know, snakes are cold blooded and on those cold crisp desert nights, the snakes are snug in bed, either down their burrow, under or in a hollow log or somewhere else where they are out of natures elements. The same could not be said during the warmer months. One example was 5 years ago when we did the Hay River run and where we had our sway out at Batton Hill. Lindsay said that there is no way he would put a swag down where we had ours during the summer, as he said it would be crawling with snakes.. LOL

If you notice from our pictures above, we never unroll the swag until we are ready to get into it. As for scorpions and centipedes, they do not each much and there have been a number of times when we have rolled up the swag in the morning, only to find the small desert scorpions under the swag and between the ground sheet. I would never put our feet under the vehicle, but as you can see, we uses a small piece of shade cloth along the bottom of the running board. This stops pillows and anything else from getting under the vehicle.

Where we go, the last thing that would happen is have our vehicle stolen. The great thing about being in remote desert locations, the car is never locked, key is left in the ignition for the simple reason is that there is no one where we go. If feels like you are in the big smoke when you get to a Caravan Park even in remote places like Ilkurlka when you have to lock up because there are other people around.

All the Best to you both Ma and Pa for the Festive Season and see you out bush sleeping out in the swag where there are no wild animals...LOL

Who has been here

FollowupID: 711337

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 14:28

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 14:28
Hi Stephen,
I was away yesterday, so got your message today.
We get our hols in Sept and always head back into the desert we love for our Hols.
I love the sea as well but I hate to say it, remember SWMBO, well just turn the S into an H although he sometimes lets me have my choice of place to go.
We know of one occasion when the day had been hot & the night could and the snake crawled in with the bloke to cuddle up & get warm. He was an Aboriginal and a decent bloke. His mate built a fire next to where the snake was & it crawled back out cos it got too hot! Not LOL!
No, we only go into C.P's to have a good cleanup of ourselves, the clothes and the mess in the back of the vehicle and a day's break from driving.

Now, these wild animals! Some do come into camp to rummage through your camp, you jump up to chase them away. Under the car & you're startled, I agree with another post . Wear a stack hat to bed!!!? LOL.
Now we come down to the subject hubby & I always get into a debate over is.
I wouldn't call evil people animals, but.......
They haven't found Peter Falconio yet!!!!
I like this new Live tracking idea but I grow a few feathers( chicken) in the dark out in the dongers. I get to thinking. What if some luny is following us.
Now I've opened myself up for some jokes but I really could do with a good laugh at the moment so don't get too mean.

I've been bitten by a big blue centipede No, he didn't eat much but he hurt much even though he didn't get a good grip.
I've already wished you the warmest wishes of the season & every good wish for the coming new year.
Bye for now & safe travels.Ma.
FollowupID: 711472

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 19:41

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 19:41
Stephen - Ha Ha - What about Crocodiles :-)

What about the guy that got ripped out of his tent 50 m from the beach up in Lakefield :-)

What about the baby that got taken from a tent :-)

We have wild animals and poisonous creatures

Rooftop tent is the way to go :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 711484

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 19:47

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 19:47
Check this out

Crocidile Mick link

Discussion on Croc Attack
FollowupID: 711485

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 21:18

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 21:18
Hi Tonyfish
You have not read my post, as I only refer to "the deserts", and I am not referring to the tropics where there are large bodies of water and those big crocs just waiting for their next feed, that is a very different kettle of fish.

As for the baby from the tent, I have my personal views of that and they differ from what was claimed to have happened. There have been many times out in the desert where dingos have walked over the bottom of our ground sheets and left paw prints as proof.

I refer to "wild animals" as bears, tigers, lions, hyenas etc. Yes we have the top 10 deadliest snakes in the world. Almost all snake bites can be prevented and usually involve the snake either being cornered or trying to be captured. Snakes feeling our vibrations will try and get as far away from us as we of them.

Yes we live in the lucky country where our deserts are free of wild animals and I never feel safer that out there, hundreds of kilometres from anywhere and a millions stars to gave up to at night.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 711490

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 08:35

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 08:35
Hey Grunta being a Hilux you would probably end up covered in oil…get a swag mate.

Cozzie
AnswerID: 439378

Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 08:52

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 08:52
Years ago there were two Army guys who decided to sleep under an APC due to the poor weather. During the night & the soft ground plus the weight of the APC both soldiers died due to suffocation.
AnswerID: 439379

Follow Up By: Member - Matt L (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 12:37

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 12:37
And mate this is a true story, i know there has been many case's of Tank Crews over the years being killed this way, I am ex Army and an ex APC, TANK V.M. 106 fdwksp.
FollowupID: 711303

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 09:22

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 09:22
A cheaper version of Steven Ls set is you could use a tarp tied to the car or a couple of trees.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 439381

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 09:24

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 09:24
Sorry Stephen for wrong spelling.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 711285

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 10:58

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 10:58
In a pinch I'd probably rather sleep on the back seat if it's a dual cab, otherwise a tarp over the tray, or just carry a swag and set it up wherever you like.
AnswerID: 439388

Reply By: Busy Bee - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 11:20

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 11:20
I reckon the biggest danger would be sitting up suddenly in the night, forgetting where you were. You'd need to wear a crash hat to bed.
My son thought he was being clever putting an extra mattress on a double bunk bed. He gave it up after he had sat up and hit his head for the third time.
AnswerID: 439390

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 14:29

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 14:29
Hi Busy Bee,
That's a good one I needed a laugh today! A crash hat to bed!
With best wishes of the season & every good wish for the coming New Year.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Pa & Ma.
FollowupID: 711310

Reply By: sweetwill - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 16:38

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 16:38
hi there grunta.
i am now the proud owner of a hilux and i must say it is bad enough getting under the thing to service it without trying to sleep under it cheers for now bill.
AnswerID: 439414

Reply By: mrcv8 - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 17:45

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 17:45
Always be carefull sleeping under vehicles. There are lots of cases during the various wars where soldiers though it was good to sleep under tanks and other trucks etc only to be crushed in the night when the vehicles sunk in the soft ground due to overnight rain.
AnswerID: 439421

Follow Up By: mrcv8 - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:03

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 18:03
http://www.thetimecapsule.org.uk/TimeCapsule/1940s_Jinx_Tank.htm

One extreme example if you read about half way down
FollowupID: 711326

Reply By: garrycol - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 19:35

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 19:35
Wasn't there an incident about a year ago where two teenagers who were sleeping under a ute were killed when the owner went to move the vehicle - no yahooing, drink or drugs involved - a genuine accident as the owner did not know they were under the ute.

Not a good idea to sleep under vehicles I would have thought.

Garry
AnswerID: 439431

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 20:09

Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 20:09
Gday Grunta
What I would like to ask is, how many vehicles has anyone seen sink into the wet ground overnight ? i have been around for many years and never seen a car sink into the ground overnight . I suppose that if you parked in a bog , may be but think about it. We don't drive tanks or APC's that weigh10 or 40 or more tons .
Murray

AnswerID: 439434

Reply By: Charlie - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 17:01

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 17:01
Probably more chance of being killed by falling tree branches than by the forbie being swallowed up by the ground overnight, I've spent quite a few nights in my swag and under the boat on its trailer, obviously with the car in gear and wheel chocked.
AnswerID: 439525

Reply By: grunta1970 - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 19:57

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 19:57
Thanks for all the replies. Im not saying that I was really going to do it, I was more so just wondering if it was viable, or if anyone had done it. Interesting replies.
AnswerID: 439541