HZJ105 Bad Fuel, injector pump issues or something else?
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 12:07
drowned_rat
Travelling back from SA, I filled up with diesel fuel at the Shell servo just south of Pt
Augusta. After I started getting through the main
tank I noticed the car was missing periodically, particularly under acceleration, this progressively got worse as I got to the bottom of the
tank. In the end I was experiencing periods of deceleration of a second or two accompanied by visible clouds of white smoke out of the exhaust, even at a steady 100km/h.
Clearly the engine was misfiring on more than one cylinder.
Once the
tank was empty I switched over to the sub
tank which I had only filled with about 20% of this fuel and had no further problems.
I refilled the main
tank and it ran fine back to
Melbourne.
I checked the fuel filter and there was no
water in the fuel. The fuel filter and air cleaner had been replaced less than 10,000 km's ago. Engine has done 90,000kms.
Can you get this sort of behaviour with fuel problems or am I looking at something more sinister like the injector pump?
Reply By: Wokwon - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 12:18
Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 12:18
I have had something similar in my diesel (VW Jetta) from bad fuel. I got rough idle and occasional coughs until I refilled the
tank somewhere else. I though it was a problem with the car but as it went away next
tank I can only assume it was the fuel.
The car didn't log any codes during the bad
tank.
Reply By: Bazooka - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 12:41
Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 12:41
Almost certainly bad fuel DR. Never experienced that with my diesel Patrol but I was running a duel filter system on that vehicle. Had a similar problem (missing, intermittent flat acceleration) with my petrol Jackaroo after filling at a Caltex/Woolworths servo in
Seymour last year. Fortunately only put about 20l in the
tank and after I filled at Albury the problem disappeared completely.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 13:33
Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 13:33
Had a similar problem last year coming out of
Tom Price Filled up at the Servo out of town and when we got to Nanaturra roadhouse van was black Also a frame and rear of car.
After filling up at
Exmouth and from then on no more black.
Reckon was a bad lot of fuel.
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 14:06
Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 14:06
Hi drowned_rat,
Get hold of some Chemtec Diesel additive.
The mix is normally 1ml to a 1 liter, I'd probably triple that ratio for one
tank at lest.
I picked up Diesel Algae on my way back from
St George last year, I had caught it before it had got to the pump on my old girl 1HD-T, the filter was near blocked.
I use Chemtec in every fill up now.
If you think it has cleared, it still wont hurt to run some through her, it also breaks
water down to a point were it can pass through the injectors.
Hope you sort it.
Reply By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 14:18
Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 14:18
I filled up with some dodgy diesel in NSW some years back. Heaps of black smoke under load. Funnily enough I did notice that the fuel smelled slightly different when I filled up. It was at one of those discount fuel servo's. Cleared up when I filled up again at another servo a few days later. I will only fill up at the big name servo's these days.
As someone already mentioned the Chemtech is good stuff too.
Stu
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 13:27
Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 13:27
That servo had a similar problem a couple of years back, which is why I use the BP on the other side of the highway.
Follow Up By: drowned_rat - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 16:15
Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 16:15
Probably why the fuel wa 5c per litre cheaper than the BP.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 15:18
Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 15:18
I got a bad
tank of juice from a
norseman station before crossing the Nullabor afew years ago. started affecting the (patrol 3.0tdi) at the time badly after about 100k's. Pulled the filter off and it was gloged with crap. I couldn't empty the tanks at the time so diluted it along the way best I could and changed the filter of course. No more probs.
Follow Up By: garny - Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 19:13
Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 19:13
hi it must be rembered a slight sucking of air will cause loss off power and blow white smoke
cheers garny
Reply By: ross - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 12:34
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 12:34
It could be the fuel pick up in the
tank.There is a piece of fine gauze over the pick up and it can be covered in sludge.(Im assuming it is the same as other models)
Easy to check by removing the inspection plate under the carpet(again Im assuming its like other Landcruisers)
Sometimes they can also get a partial blockage in the switch solenoids for the tanks.
Injector pumps like these usually die slowly. First signs are gradual loss power at the top end as the engine/pump gets warmer.
90000klm is a bit
young for one of these,more like 250000-300000klms