Wiring a Camper Trailers electric brakes.

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 17:16
ThreadID: 83214 Views:3805 Replies:2 FollowUps:5
Good evening all

I thought I would get an auto electrician to finish getting the brakes in working order on the Camper Trailer.

Unfortunately it's the wrong time of the year to try and get a tradeperson as they are taking a break over Christmas like many of us do,, if you get the chance. He won't be back until late January.

So,,,,,I have done a bit of a look on the net and think I can do it myself.

From what I have read I need to have a 6mm blue wire coming from the #5 pin in a flat 7 pin connector. This goes to the axle and is then split to go to both positive terminals on the back of the brakes.

A White wire goes from the negative to a good earth on the trailer, or back to the earth pin on the connector.

Ok, is there anything I am missing?

Reply By: arofs1 - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 18:54

Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 18:54
Your research is correct. All you need is a circuit from pin 5 through the magnets, back to the battery, either direct or via ground as you stated.

If you have difficulty the camper trailer forum site has come good information. If you are not a member of this forum then I suggest you join up. Here is the trouble shooter page if you have any difficulty:

http://www.campertrailers.org/elect_brake_troubleshooter.htm

Brian DJ
AnswerID: 439672

Follow Up By: arofs1 - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 19:00

Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 19:00
Just another thought: When I installed electric brakes in our camper, I encased the wires in tubing and zip tied it to the rear of the axle, which I thought was protected and adequate, but when we went to the cape the stones cut the zip ties and the wires hung down a bit on one end and a stick broke the connection to the right brake.

I temporarily repaired it for the remainder of the trip and when I came home I looked at our caravan and saw that they welded a small piece of angle iron on the rear of the axle and passed the wireing through that, which is a great idea and then you only have to be a bit innovative in covering/securing the short pieced from the axle to the brake hub.

Happy camping!!

Brian DJ
FollowupID: 711553

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 20:00

Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 20:00
Actually the BLUE wire goes to the BLUE WIRE on the CONTROLLER

THEN FROM THE CONTROLLER

The BLACK WIRE goes to the BATTERY

THE WHITE wire is EARTH

The RED wire goes to the BRAKELIGHT CIRCUIT

If you wire the blue wire to the battery THE BRAKES WILL BE LOCKED ON.

Trust me we got a short between wires on the A frame and the brakes were locked on HARD

FollowupID: 711557

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 19:44

Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 19:44
I will ask the obvious You do have a brake controller in the car???

Just checking as you dont say.

Your earth is best going back to the car and in the same size wire as the positive

AnswerID: 439682

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 21:08

Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 21:08
G'day Graham

This is the third time I have tried to reply to your reply.

Either the site has a problem or I do.

Anyway yes I have a prodigy controller.

Thanks to the replies I have received I am now confident I can do the wiring my self, and yes I will run the earth back the pin.

Thanks again for or help gentlemen.

FollowupID: 711567

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 21:23

Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 21:23
No worries thought it seemed like a prev thread.

Read the wiring notes I replied to above as they are the correct ones.

I ran the red wire to the cold side of the switch on the brake pedal but is a bit of a pain getting to it.
Easier to find a rear brake light wire in the footwell or somewhere.

FollowupID: 711570

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 04:30

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 04:30
BooBoo

Do yourself a favor mate !
Run 50 amp multi core wire, all the way from your controller, to the "juice" side of the magnets. (from memory solder onto the blue wire at the rear of the controller, but I could be wrong)
Then run another 50 amp multi core wire, back to the same battery your controller is hooked up to. I used green, annd heaps of cable ties, and run it along the fuel lines, all the way into the engine bay.

By doing this, you are assured that there is virtually no current drop, and you will have a brilliant earth.

Hope this makes sence, still waking up

FollowupID: 711589