Garmin EcoRoute HD

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 13:52
ThreadID: 83254 Views:4271 Replies:2 FollowUps:4
Don't buy this accessory if you plan to use it on a late model Landcruiser that has the 1HZ motor, I believe from sources that it will not work. I got one with my new 1490T GPS and new that a 1994 model has no computer,that didn't worry me, It will work on the V8 Cruisers, no problems, My information comes from another member that owns a Cruiser Wagon, mid 2000's model, I have not as yet checked it out but the member has made enquiries and was told no it won't work.
It is suppose to work on all vehicles after 1996....I will be doing some more reseach into the problem, and will make a post if I find any positive news.

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 14:29

Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 14:29

The Garmin Website states that EcoRoute will work on MOST vehicles after 1996 not ALL vehicles...the comment only relates to the US however - different countries introduced/enforced the required OBD II specifications at different times so 1996 may not be relevant to Australia (?). A list of for Australia would be handy as there doesnt appear to be one available - there is a list for the US.

AnswerID: 439850

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 15:00

Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 15:00
Doug and Greg,
Apparently the 1HZ OBD is an OBD 1 as the 1HZ motor doesn't have the required electronics, this is probably why they are such a reliable motor. It won't work in my 2004 1HZ landcruiser wagon but will work when I plug it into the V8, which has the OBD 2 plug.
Maybe this is why they are throwing them in with the GPS at no charge. I would love someone to prove this wrong!

Noel K.
FollowupID: 711719

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 21:21

Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 21:21
They dont work on a 1HD-FTE 100 ser TD as they dont run OBDII

So you cant fit a Scangauge for instance

Here is a list of vehicles they work on

http://www.scangauge.com.au/support/CompatibleVehicles.shtml

Hope that helps

FollowupID: 711739

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 22:59

Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 22:59
Thanks Graham,
I didn't want to hear that, but that is basically what I heard.
The unit itself is brilliant as well as the EcoRoute, as I stated previously it runs perfectly in the V8 ute we have. We are not out of pocket as they include it in the deal, which I think is a good deal.

Noel K.
FollowupID: 711746

Reply By: maf - Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 19:49

Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 19:49
Hi Doug, On your recommendation from a couple weeks ago, I bought myself a 1490t with the eco hd from johnny appleseed for chrissy.
I fitted it to pur 200 series today and am very happy with the digital gauges and the fuel consumption figures. It has heaps of features to play with.
Happy so far, thanks for the advice, mick.
AnswerID: 439861

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 22:10

Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 22:10
Mick

Glad you like it, and good the HD works ok on your vehicle, here's a little hint.

Next time your using it touch the part I circled, then the down arrows .

FollowupID: 711742