in what sequence do parts fail on a 4.2 diesel 91 maverick?

Submitted: Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 12:31
ThreadID: 83267 Views:4674 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
G'day all, i just picked up a used 91 ford maverick TD42 lwb 4.2 diesel (with no modifications except a 2inch suspension lift) which looks to be in amazing shape inside and out, i don't think it has ever been off road. however the previous owner apparently had nothing go wrong on it in the time he's owned it and doesn't know what work has been done before he bought it. all i know is that all fluids and filters were changed at the appropriate intervals and he's been using quality oil "caltex delo 400".
Now i know there are countless variables but lets guess that this truck had a fairly easy life asides from being from Sydney, so probably a lot of stop and go stuff and shorter distances traveled.
So my question is this.. on average what parts tend to die first and what can i assume has already been replaced since it has 240,000k's ?

also on a side note, is replacing things like water pump, fuel pump a big job on these things? or can it be easily done at home with limited facilities?

i thank you for taking the time to read all this and look forward to any helpful replies!

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 13:09

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 13:09
Sounds like you got a good'un ;-)

At 240000km, if it has been well maintained, the TD42 engine has it's life ahead of it...

If nothing else, these engines have earned themselves an enviable reputation for being ultra-reliable...

At nearly 20 years of age, I'd probably keep an eye on the radiator, but then again, as long as it's always had the correct coolant (& changed regularly), it's probably quite OK..

Replacing the water pump would be straight forward, the fuel pump would be a bit more "involved", as the timing cover (and crankshaft pulley) has to come off to get at the drive gear...

A simple compression test would be the first step in determining the overall health of the engine, but my bet is that it'll be fine;-))

Enjoy!

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 439906

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 13:21

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 13:21
Edit....

Disregard my previous statement re fuel pump, as there is a separate cover plate to access the drive gear, so maybe not such a big job after all ;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 711781

Reply By: Big Al. Gold Coast - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 16:23

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 16:23
We had a 92 SWB first to go was the alternator then water pump and last was the radiator. sold it at 300.000 still going strong I.believe

A temp warning buzzer would have saved the head gasket.
AnswerID: 439922

Follow Up By: horsefly4 - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 22:34

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 22:34
yeah Big Al absolutely, most cars make some sort of warning sound when you leave the lights on or keys in the ignition even a sound when you open the door but when it comes to the most important gauge in your car you get the silent treatment..(one more to add to the cars are like women thing)
these things should be standard factory fitted on every vehicle

FollowupID: 711839

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 17:53

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 17:53
I had an 89 GU which had been heavily modified.

The first thing I had problems with was the alternator. I had an overheating problem which I chased for a while. I replaced the radiator and reconditioned the head but it turned out to be fuel system. I would get that looked at by someone who knows what they are doing as a matter of priority.

At 240,000 I would be thinking about a clutch before I did any big trips.Mine went at about 245k and while they are in there get the rear main seal replaced.

The other area of concern is the tappets. Not expensive but need to be looked at.

The engine is pretty bullet-proof but some other things that may cause problems include;

Steering - the drag link can fail at the ball joint on the front of the left wheel. When this happens you lose steering, mine went at 280k.

Check all the bushes in the suspension.Mine developed a severe shudder when the bush in the panhard (spelling??) rod failed. It took a while to track down and some of the things we looked at along the way cost me a lot of money.

I love the old GU they are so solid. I sold mine with 385k on the clock and the motor was going strong. It was still a comfortable car to travel in and was seen by a mate working hard on a club outing in the Wauchope area about 2 years after I parted company with it.

I think you will be very happy for a long time to come.

AnswerID: 439935

Follow Up By: horsefly4 - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 23:57

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 23:57
say Duncs, that's an interesting problem how did the fuel system cause the engine to overheat? I'd think the car would have stalling or extremely rough idle but to overheat I never heard of that before
FollowupID: 711916

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 23:31

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 23:31
The fuel system on a diesel is a mysterious thing. Tuning them has been described as a 'black art'.

I have two people I believe and trust when it comes to the finer points of diesel engine management and maintenance. Both have told me that over-fuelling will cause overheating. I am not sure why.

Both of the people who have told me this back it up from years of experience. One of them proved it by fixing my GQ. On the way to the workshop for an 8 am start the car would not do much more than about 120kph. When I picked it up on a warm spring afternoon at about 4pm I gave it a bootfull. It happily sat on 150 for as long as I dared without showing any signs of overheating. The proof was right there under my right foot.

FollowupID: 712040

Reply By: get outmore - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:49

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:49
definitly the battery, tyres, cooling system and brakes (including rotors) probablly followed by steering joints and rubbers

AnswerID: 439971

Reply By: Member - Brenton - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 23:56

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 23:56
Definitely change the radiator before your next trip, alternator and clutch as said above could be next. Whilst on the electrics, you might want to consider an overhaul on the starter motor at least the important bits in it. My GQ (1995, 200 000km) has been well looked after but worked hard when we go off road touring etc. Keep up the maintenance all round and they last forever.. Best of luck..
There's only 5 billlion years left for our sun.. make every day count.

AnswerID: 439984

Reply By: horsefly4 - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 10:23

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 10:23
thanks for all the replies!
having no history on a car leaves a lot of guess work but at least i get an idea what to look for. anyone reckon the pumps on these can last more than 240k? from what i seen on most passenger cars water pump goes at about 150-200k not sure about fuel pump though
AnswerID: 440003

Reply By: kiwicol - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:09

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:09
From experience, any thing to do with cooling issues always use genuine, you wont get rid of the rattles in the doors with the windows down. Apart from that keep to the service schedules and you should have a great run with the old girl.

Mines a 92 400,000ks on the clock and still going strong.

Cheers Col
AnswerID: 440049