Camp oven cooking

Submitted: Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 18:18
ThreadID: 83278 Views:3997 Replies:1 FollowUps:7
Hi all and I hope your xmas day was good and your new year even better.

My question to all( for those using camp ovens) when ever i cook a roast in the camp oven my vegies always seem to steam not really roast so the question is does any one know of how to perfect vegies in camp oven

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 18:29

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 18:29
More heat less moisture!!

Pour out the excess juice once in awhile and once the meat is cooked and leave the vegies in and pour on the coals for a few minutes more to brown them.

AnswerID: 439941

Follow Up By: Sailinghampster - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 18:39

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 18:39
That just looks too good.

Heaven forbid should the computer people ever perfect virtual aroma.

FollowupID: 711805

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 18:45

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 18:45
Oh dear ... you don't already have perfect virtual aroma???? You must have an older system to mine. Smells terrific here.

: )

Jack

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 711806

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 18:49

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 18:49
It smelled fabulous and it tasted.......Even better!!!!
The veggies still had a little more browning to do but it wasn't that far off being ready.

FollowupID: 711807

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:16

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:16
Just a little trick that we do.....when the veggies are just about ready, lift the lid and place a small stick under it, this allows the moisture to escape and browns and crisps them.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 711811

Follow Up By: Member - Vern - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:25

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:25
Thanks john

Tried your idea out tonight however did not drain out much juice, just took meat out when cooked and bumped the heat up on veggies and they where sensational.
thanks for the reply
Cheers Vern
FollowupID: 711812

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:37

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:37
No worries mate, pleased it worked for you.
The fun of camp fire cooking is trying new things and playing around with new ideas.
Don't be afraid to try something different if it does not seem to be doing what you want.

If you do bump up the heat then just keep a close eye on whats going on so you don't turn them into charcoal, been there and done that once myself :-((

FollowupID: 711817

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:39

Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:39
Oh!!
Forgot to say, if your meat has been frozen then it will produce more moisture and require emptying a bit more often.
Just take your time and keep an eye on it. :-))

FollowupID: 711818