Which is Better on your trailer, caravan?, long Drawbar or short?
Submitted: Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:42
Axle
Was having a wander around a yard to-day and spotted a new tandem axle,
Roma caravan, beautiful unit but i don't think iv'e ever seen such a long draw bar, and tandem axles set back so far!!, near right at the end of the van.How would you ever control the weight up front, theres no where else to put anything, bad enough when axles are more or less centred!, Is this the new design for the latest vans?..could cause some dramas!.But then they must know what their doing.?
By the way
How do you stop over indulging at Xmas Time?
I'm overloaded!!!..lol.
Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:50
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 19:50
Longer is better IMO.
And narrow at the front to allow at least 90 degree + jack knifing without a "crunch".
OKA196 Motorhome
Reply By: Gobumpy - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 20:03
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 20:03
Hey Axle
Definatly longer mate i lengthened the one one our camper only a single axle but made the world of difference i only lenghtened it for more room for a box spare and stone guard but it traveled so much better alot straighter more stable easier to reverse and slightly lighter ball wieght
Scott n Lara
Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 20:24
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 20:24
Short is much better in the High Country or in dunes!
Follow Up By: Axle - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 20:35
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 20:35
Well i'm a bit confused..lol, have had a few vans all with short drawbars, have been heavy up front but seemed to have handled very
well, and reversing ,
well very quick reaction thats for sure but i liked that!
Cheers Axle
Reply By: Farquo - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 20:52
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 20:52
Two different issues (with some overlap)
Length of draw bar, or rather the length between hitch and axle - longer makes for greater stability and easier reversing. Shorter has the greater manoeuvrability in tight country as stated.
Other issue is where the weight is distributed between the hitch and axle - the greater the proportion of weight behind the axle, the less weight on the draw bar. Your vehicle will have specs for draw bar weight to keep within.
Happy new year
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 20:52
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 20:52
Caravans are usually Ok but its trailers here that have me beat.
Made with far too short a drawbar.
To control a trailer when reversing the ideal measurement is that the distance from the ball to the wheels is more than the tow vehicles wheelbase.
Thats whay they turn inside you and you cant correct it.
Longer than the car and you can.
Follow Up By: Axle - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:13
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:13
Can see your point there Graham!, Jeeez! i'm agreeing,...LOL.
Cheers Axle
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:28
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:28
Had to get one eventually I guess
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:07
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:07
My 6X4 work trailer is a mongrel of a thing to reverse.
The Horse float is better, but the Swan with it's custom built A Frame is a treat.
'How do you stop over indulging at Xmas Time?
I'm overloaded!!!..lol. "
We don't have the will power at Chrissy time mate. Your not alone
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:39
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:39
Thats cos if you measure it it will be shorter between the ball and the wheels than your cars wheelbase or shorter between rear car wheels and trailer wheels.
That allows trailer to turn inside the cars radius and you cant turn hard enough to correct it Lengthen it to more than the cars wheelbase and problem solved.
Reply By: Rockape - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:46
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:46
Axle,
a mate of
mine had a not so legal system on his dog, he had a twin steer overnighter and he would shorten the draw bar up on for the highway (and I mean short) then when he was close to his destination he would lengthen it.
Short to bring the pan right up close and reduce wind resistance then long for manoeuvring.
Axle, hope your not overweight from to much xmas cheer as that could cause drawbar problems.
Follow Up By: Axle - Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:58
Monday, Dec 27, 2010 at 21:58
Yer Rock Ape!! Gunna be a short draw bar over the next few days me thinks!...Lol
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 09:16
Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 09:16
Longer A-Frame , tandem set back from center means NO SWAY.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 10:49
Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 10:49
Gday Axle,
I know nothin about caravans (might be another 10-20 years before I go that soft :-))) but our Tvan makes an interesting comparison because the Tvan comes with the choice of short or long (+400mm) drawbar and the rest of the trailer is identical.
The short drawbar is the preferred option for those who do serious offroading because
#1 it tracks better when turning and takes tight corners better. Also less likely that the trailer will hit trees on tight tracks.
#2 the short drawbar has a better rampover angle - the long drawbar models easily scrape and bottom out when driving over drainage humps on high country tracks and peaked dunes in desert country
But the long drawbar actually has a 10kg lighter towball weight - all to do with the angles - maybe some caravans have long drawbars for the same reason? Also the long drawbar is preferred by people who tow with vehicles with a big back door (eg Prado) because on the long drawbar models they can actually open their back doors!
Follow Up By: Axle - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 13:10
Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 13:10
That all makes sense Phil,( Except the soft stuff!!..LOL) I think you would have to be careful loading up some of the long drawbar models if a lot of the weight is forward of the axles.
cheers Axle..
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:54
Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:54
Yes that's right - have to avoid the temptation of loading up the drawbar!
New Tvan has a bit more storage on the drawbar - its something that TrackTailer didn't really want to do, but the consumers want it.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 19:41
Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 19:41
Track have always had a longer drawbar option.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:32
Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:32
Yes I know -
mine is a 2003 with long drawbar. But they have just released a new Murranji that has a new storage arrangement on drawbar. Looks like this:
Reply By: Ruffy-Dan - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 18:13
Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 18:13
We have a 6x4 camper trailer which used to have a standard length draw bar. I extended it by roughly 4 feet to allow for the spare tyre to lay flat, a larger storage box and to allow for a 90 degree jack knife without contact. Trailer tows considerably better, as mentioned earlier, because the wheelbase of the vehicle is now shorter than the rear wheel to trailer axle wheel base. Ramp over is obviously affected but for a typical high country track or little/big dessert trip it is fine.
Dan